Research Guides: Open Education Resources (OERs): Find Images, Videos, and More

Live Help

CC Search

CC Search
CC Search tool automatically filters your search to find Creative Commons licensed resources that you can share, use, and remix.

Which Creative Commons licence is right for me?
Flowchart developed by CC Australia to help you decide which CC licence is right
for you, or if a CC licence is appropriate for your work. (CC BY 2.5 Australia)

Attribution Builders

Open Attribution Builder
Open Attribute
Browser plugin
Flickr CC Attribution Helper
Bookmark tool

Find Existing Resources

Contact the Open Education Librarian, Brenda Smith, for help on finding what OER resources are currently available in your field.

NOTE: Open Access vs. Open Education Resource

You can find many open resources on the mega sites listed below. Please note that varying degrees of "open" exist between, and even within these sites. Remember to assess each individual resource for its appropriateness, accessibility, and level of openness.

Open Images

"Quiver Trees" by Alastair Rae is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0

Search these sources for openly licenced and public domain images.

Flickr
Largest photo sharing site. Be sure to use advanced search and select for Creative Commons licensed images.
Google Advanced Image Search
Filter results by usage rights i.e. "free to use or share"
Creative Commons Search
Search a variety of media.
Wikimedia Commons
Freely usable media files (images, audio, video). Check the image summary for details on permitted use.
Pexels
Free images available with a CC0 (public domain - available to use freely for any legal purpose)
Pixabay
Free high-resolution stock photos with a CC0 (public domain) depicting a wide variety of subjects
Unsplash
Free high-resolution stock photos with a CC0 (public domain) depicting a wide variety of subjects.
Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
Stock photo library that features images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. Aims to provide better representation of members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives. All images released under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence.
University of Kentucky Human Development Institute
Diverse collection of stock photos that highlight disability representation. All photos are CC0
Indigenous Peoples in Education: A Stock Photo Collection
Collection of stock photos of Indigenous students to allow educators to represent Indigenous peoples in OER so that Indigenous students can see themselves reflected in their learning materials.

Open Video

Search these resources to find openly licenced or public domain images.

Al Jazeera
Select video is available for free to be downloaded, shared, and remixed.
BCcampus Open Online Courses
Includes open course materials relevant to B.C. post-secondary course credits, with a focus on those with high enrolment and transferability in the B.C. post-secondary system.
Critical Commons
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Khan Academy
Find videos or short lectures on math, biology, chemistry, physics, humanities, finance and history.
TED
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
videolectures.net
An open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by scholars and scientists at events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Vimeo
Vimeo allows content creators to add a creative commons licence to their videos. These videos can be searched for using the advanced search filter.
YouTube Education
YouTube allows content creators to add a creative commons licence to their videos.

Open Courses and Learning Materials

There is a growing number of free courses available online for students to explore. As well, open educational resources can provide students with supplemental materials for their courses.

Coursera
An education platform that partners with top universities and organizations worldwide to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free.
edX
Offers interactive online classes and MOOCs from some of the world's top universities, including MITx, HarvardX, BerkeleyX, and UTx.
Khan Academy
Interactive exercises, videos, and assessments in math and sciences, primarily k-12 but useful as review tools for undergrads. Donor supported, not-for-profit.
Open Yale
Free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Open web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content.
Open Course Library
Collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs.
TRU OpenCourses
TRU's openly licensed courses that are available via Moodle.

Open Repositories

Creative Commons Search
Search a variety of media.
HippoCampus
Free academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content -- videos, animations, and simulations -- on general education subjects from middle-school to college level.
Learning Activities @ TRU
Collection of learning activities that can be adapted.
MERLOT - Education resources
The MERLOT system provides access to curated free and open online teaching and learning support materials and content creation tools, used by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
NCLOR: North Carolina Learning Objects Repository
Collects and shares learning resources (e.g., documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, and assessments) for North Carolina teachers from elementary school to college. Provides a guest login. As guests, you only have access to the items in the collection that have been made available to the public.
National Science Digital Library
Access to teaching and learning materials in the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering and mathematics). Search by level, resource type, and subject.
OER Commons
Worldwide learning network of shared teaching and learning materials.
Open Professionals Education Network: Find OER
Resource to find openly licensed media elements (i.e, images, video, audio) to use in your courses.
PhET Interactive Simulations
Free interactive, research-based math and science simulations to engage students by learning through exploration and discovery via an intuitive, game-like environment.
SOL*R
Repository service to free online learning resources provided by BCcampus to facilitate sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by BC post-secondary educators from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources include open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, and full programs.
WISC-ONLINE
Small, high quality digital library of web-based learning resources.

Attribution

"Open Education Resources (OERs)" by TRU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0).

Based on a work at http://open.bccampus.ca/bcoer-librarians/bcoer-guides/.