TRU Library Book Displays

Assigned as required or recommended reading at law schools throughout the country, 1L of a Ride provides a candid, comprehensive roadmap to both academic and emotional success in law school's crucial first year. Told in an accessible first-person voice, covered topics in the revised and updated third edition include pre-planning, top student fears, first-year curriculum, the Socratic and case methods of teaching, effective class participation, top habits of successful students, essential study techniques, legal research and writing, exam strategies, maintaining well-being, and much more.

If students wish to survive and excel in law school, they must approach it correctly. Students also need to understand what professors expect of them, or they will be left behind. Hard-Nosed Advice from a Cranky Professor explains some of the correct ways to approach law school and provides insight into professor expectations. This book is designed for new law students who would like to improve their chances of doing well in law school. Written from the perspective of a cranky, cantankerous professor, the book side-steps pleasantries to provide no-nonsense, sometimes hard-nosed advice that is intended to instruct students on what they must do to succeed. While blunt, the practical advice is provided in a light-hearted, humorous way. The book''s aim is to give concise answers to questions that most students have when they begin law school.

Combining her own observations and experiences with the results of her study and the latest sociological research on law schools, Young teaches students how to approach law school on their own terms: how to tune out the drumbeat of oppressive expectations and conventional wisdom to create a new breed of law school experience altogether.   Young provides readers with practical tools for finding focus, happiness, and a sense of purpose while facing the seemingly endless onslaught of problems law school presents daily. This book is an indispensable companion for today's law students, prospective law students, and anyone who cares about making law students' lives better. How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School equips law students with much-needed wisdom for thriving during those three crucial years.

Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win offers techniques for maximizing scores on several types of essay questions, as well as on multiple-choice and other questions. Students get help in reducing anxiety to a productive level by learning how to place exams into proper perspective. Stress-management techniques are introduced, including stretching, meditation, and listening to motivational music.

Take the first step toward building a productive, successful, and perhaps even pleasant law school experience--read this book! Written by students, for students, Law School Confidential has been the "must-have" guide for anyone thinking about, applying to, or attending law school for more than a decade. Robert H. Miller has assembled a blue-ribbon panel of recent graduates from across the country to offer realistic and informative firsthand advice about what law school is really like. This updated edition contains the very latest information and strategies for thriving and surviving in law school--from navigating the admissions process and securing financial aid, choosing classes, studying and exam strategies, and securing a seat on the law review to getting a judicial clerkship and a job, passing the bar exam, and much, much more.

Law School Success in a Nutshell answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.

This book presents the fundamentals of formal legal study by introducing the reader to legal problem solving and providing an understanding of the language of law. It also surveys the structure of the legal system in Canada, the sources of our laws and the distinction between public and private law. This new edition has been brought fully up to date to take account of changes in the court structure and in the administration of the profession. The author addresses developing issues such as specialization in the legal profession and contingent fees. References are also included to recent judicial decisions and to recent academic writing.

Cracking the Case Method, 2d ed. provides concise and down-to-earth information on how to succeed in law school. This book provides an in-depth examination of these critical topics: The Case Method and its relationship to Socratic-style questioning and effective legal analysis. Semester-long strategies for learning how to "think like a lawyer". How to read cases with a focus on legal issues and legal principles. How to prepare case briefs and use them to prepare for class. Using class discussions as opportunities to practice legal analysis. Preparing for exams by outlining course materials and practicing exam-taking skills. This book provides indispensable information to anybody who is preparing for their 1L year, or who currently is in law school.

Law School Fast Track is unique in its format: short, fast, and easy-to-read. It is written to help law students starting on day one with one thousand pages of assigned cases. Its immediate suggestions, examples, and tips are invaluable. Law School Fast Track is also unique in that it focuses simply on the first week of law school--emphasizing the importance of establishing and maintaining good habits. Most habits in law school are formed before and during the first week. For example, during the first week a student will decide where to study, how long to study, how to brief a law case, what to do with class notes, how to outline, and when to start outlining, among many other demands. In focusing on the first week of law school, this book emphasizes the importance of establishing and maintaining good habits, thus giving the readers an early advantage.

Law school, particularly the first year, can be a rather intimidating and challenging experience for many students. This book is designed to give students the tools they need to successfully navigate their way through it. It introduces students to the fundamentals of legal analysis and writing and teaches them how to read and brief cases, outline, study, master law school exams, and care for their physical and emotional well-being. In short, it prepares students for every aspect of their journey through law school.

This book answers the most-asked questions of first, second, and third year law school students. Exam Preparation: How long should my outline be? What should I include in my outline? What secondary sources should I use? Are study groups effective? Should I swap outlines with other students? How do I prepare for open and closed book exams? And much more Writing the Exam: What is the best way to read the exam questions? How do I schedule my time? How do I organize my answer? When do I need to assume facts? How do I impress the professor? And much more

The Zen of Law School Success offers a comprehensive approach to succeeding in law school. Zen is about simplicity, balance, knowing your universe, knowing yourself, and staying focused on the path to enlightenment. Similarly, these principles should be the foundation for success in law school, and this book details how to put these principles into practice in order to maximize your ability to have a successful law school career. Like the Zen path to enlightenment, law school success is about balance, knowing your universe, knowing yourself, and staying focused on your path. In addition to offering a comprehensive approach to succeeding in law school, the book also offers practical advice for doing well in the classroom, navigating the law school environment, managing law school stress, and getting a job after graduation.

Law School Essays That Made a Difference, 6th Edition includes: 70 real essays written by 63 unique law students attending top law schools, along with each applicant's test scores, GPA, and admissions profile, An overview of law school admissions and tips for prepping your applications, Insider advice, and Interviews with admissions pros at 17 top law schools.