TRU Library Book Displays

"Advocacy skills, which are learnt in the moot court, are essential for those seeking a career in law. The skills associated with successful mooting, cover the entire range of the domains of human activity: intellectual, physical and emotional. This informative book examines the theories relevant to the development of skills necessary for effective participation in competition moots. The Art of Mooting distils the theories and principles that support successful moot performances, grounding these in practical examples of how a mooter's skills may be developed and improved. It is an essential guide for moot coaches, law and advocacy students and academics seeking to improve their skills, and new and existing practitioners"-- Provided by publisher.

How to Moot is essential reading for student mooters at all levels. Written by lecturers with many years' experience of supporting students and judging at internal and national mooting competitions, you can be sure that this book contains everything you need to know about preparing for and participating in moots, plus numerous tips to help you stand out from the crowd. The book is written in a uniquely user-friendly style: it is divided into 100 Q&As and structured in short, accessible chapters, so you can find what you need quickly and easily. Chapter summaries allow you to check you have covered the key points in each area, and diagrams clearly set out the procedural aspects of mooting.

How to Please the Court: A Moot Court Handbook is a resource designed for students and teachers to prepare for and participate in undergraduate appellate court simulations. This text focuses on helping undergraduate students try their hand at appellate advocacy. The authors help students prepare for competition by taking them step by step through the work needed before a tournament and what to expect at a tournament. How to Please the Court speaks to students who have not started law school and may not have access to the materials that a law school provides. This text would be a valuable addition to classes like American Government, Constitutional Law, Communication and Advocacy, Judicial Politics, and of course Moot Court.

The ideal guide for the first-time mooter, Preparing to Moot provides an accessible, systematic and pragmatic approach which demystifies the mooting process. It focuses on analysis, research and argument construction as the foundations for successful advocacy and provides students with a working guide to use alongside moot problems in five popular topic areas: criminal law, contract law, tort law, human rights and the law of equity. Through careful use of annotated examples generated by real students, and expert tips and advice from the authors, the book shows students how to individually analyse, research and construct arguments for various advocate positions.

As Canadian law schools continue to expand their mooting programs and increase the emphasis on moot participation, "The Essential Guide to Mooting: A Handbook for Law Students" will undoubtedly be of great value to their students.
Mooting is an important step in the development of one's advocacy and communication skills. This thorough how-to guide provides students with a road-map to crafting a successful career as a mooter and future advocate in many different arenas. Using this book as a guide, students will be better prepared to step into their courtrooms and present credible and persuasive arguments in a manner corresponding to the finest of advocacy skills.

The Legal Writing Institute's Moot Court Advisor's Handbook is designed to be a resource of sound advice and best practices for running moot court and other legal skills competitions. With chapters on administering a moot court program, running an internal moot court competition, coaching teams at external moot court competitions, and running your own external moot court competition, this handbook also includes several model documents that you can use to create your own competition rules, program bylaws, judge training materials, competition scoring rubrics, and more.

Participation in mooting can lead to improved academic performance, enhancing your knowledge and your ability to handle complex legal materials as well as improving the power of your persuasive argument and vital skills, which will enhance your profile for prospective employers. In this book, Eric Baskind provides a seamless and comprehensive examination of the various areas involved in mooting and advocacy, combining both theoretical and practical aspects as well as the organisation of and participation in mooting competitions. This definitive guide will equip you with a complete grasp of mooting from the initial preparatory stages through to advocacy in the moot itself.

Mooting and Advocacy Skills is a complete guide to participating in and organising mooting competitions, preparing new law students for their first taste of advocacy. Logically structured in 3 parts – Preparing; Appearing; and Organising - this practical text covers all aspects of mooting from constructing persuasive arguments to courtroom etiquette and answering questions from the judge. Includes worked examples and exercises to help build students' ability and illustrate common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Provides 10 original moot problems covering 6 core subjects on the LLB.

A Practical Guide to Mooting provides direction on how to prepare for, and participate in compulsory and competitive appellate moots. It is a concise, insightful and well-written book that offers a wealth of useful advice about the mooting process. It is strongly recommended to first-year students participating in compulsory moots, students preparing for their first competitive moot, novice moot-team coaches and instructors of compulsory mooting programs. The book advises on the four phases of the mooting process: (1) researching the factum; (2) writing the factum; (3) preparing the oral presentation; and (4) delivering the oral presentation.

The ideal introduction to legal argument for new law students and competitive mooters. Guiding you through the process of legal argument, this book will teach you all you need to know about how to research and structure your moot, the use of legal authority, honing your presentation skills and addressing the court. To show you how it's done, Hammond provides a worked example applying the two-stage method to creating a legal argument in a moot court. Competitive mooters will find details of internal, national and international competitions and guidelines for event judges and clerks.

Persuasive, engaging oral argument is breathtaking. Envision a self-assured attorney leading the court through the salient points of the case, deftly addressing questions from the bench, and steering those questions to the next relevant topic. It's like watching a magician at work.  Think that magic is beyond you? Think again. You can learn to be a persuasive oral advocate with the tips and advice in Point Well Made: Persuasive Oral Advocacy. Whether you are a first-year law student prepping for your Moot Court presentation, a public defender managing mountains of motions, an appellant or respondent on appeal before a panel, or a seasoned lawyer arguing in front of the US Supreme Court, you need Point Well Made.

In 100 concise, practical, easy-to-use sections, Bryan A. Garner goes step by step through the art of effective legal writing. He covers it all - from the rules for planning and organizing a brief to openers that can capture a judge's attention from the first few words. He gives masterly advice on building sound paragraphs, drafting crisp sentences, choosing the best words, quoting authority and citing sources. The Winning Brief is an invaluable resource for attorneys, law clerks, judges, paralegals, and law students and their teachers.

Effective Written Advocacy brings together the wisdom of Canada's top practitioners, writing experts and judges to guide you on how to write powerfully and persuasively for your audience. Practical tips and illustrations are included. Commentary and annotations identify problems and provide solutions to make your written arguments clear and persuasive.

In their professional lives, courtroom lawyers must do these two things well: speak persuasively and write persuasively. In this noteworthy book, two noted legal writers systematically present every important idea about judicial persuasion in a fresh, entertaining way. The book covers the essentials of sound legal reasoning, including how to develop the syllogism that underlies any argument. From there the authors explain the art of brief writing, especially what to include and what to omit, so that you can induce the judge to focus closely on your arguments. Finally, they show what it takes to succeed in oral argument.

Trying Cases: Promise, Prove, Persuade is a book for lawyers who want to understand the dynamic relationship between a lawyer and all the other people involved in a trial. Trial lawyers must do many things during a trial, and they must do them very well. Trial practice is more complex than other types of legal service because it happens like a live broadcast, in the moment. Clients exercise their right to trial when other methods of dispute resolution have failed. Lawyers prepare for trial when no other option will work. Preparation is essential, but there is never a true blueprint for a trial. Each trial is unique.

With Point Made, legal writing expert, Ross Guberman, throws a life preserver to attorneys, who are under more pressure than ever to produce compelling prose. The author takes an empirical approach, drawing heavily on the writings of the nation's 50 most influential lawyers. Each chapter of Point Made focuses on a typically tough challenge, providing a strategic roadmap and practical tips along with annotated examples of how prominent attorneys have resolved that challenge in varied trial and appellate briefs. In addition to all-new examples from the original 50 advocates, this Second Edition introduces eight new superstar lawyers. The book concludes with an all-new set of 50 writing challenges corresponding to the 50 techniques.

The Persuasive Edge lays out the case for making meaningful choices at each stage in trial preparation and at trial. This book is a must for every trial lawyer, teacher and student of law or communication, and anyone else whose practice or profession depends on human persuasion.This straight-forward discussion combines the best academic conclusions from the psychology of human persuasion and decision-making with the practical knowledge acquired from litigation throughout the United States, to offer you a more purposeful and practical approach to improving your influence and advocacy.

Persuasive questioning and argument in our courts and tribunals need skills in case preparation and techniques of presentation. Those skills and techniques are gained by a combination of understanding and practice.This book explains the 'what', the 'why' and the 'how' of basic skills and techniques. Knowing the needs and wants of the audience, identifying the links among legal concepts, facts and witnesses, are at the heart of case preparation. Advocacy is a skill that can always be improved, whether the practitioner is renowned or a novice. This is a book for the new comer, an explanation and illustration of the essential first steps along the road to renown.