TRU Library Book Displays

Elements of Indigenous Style provides guidelines to help writers, editors, and publishers produce material that reflects Indigenous people in an appropriate and respectful manner. Elements of Indigenous Style evolved from the house style guide Gregory developed at Theytus in order to ensure content was consistent and respectful. This guide contains: A historical overview of the portrayal of Indigenous peoples in literature; Common errors and how to avoid them when writing about Indigenous peoples; Guidance on working in a culturally sensitive way; A discussion of problematic and preferred terminology; Suggestions for editorial guidelines.

The Style Guide, published in September 2014, is designed to be used by all Canadian legal writers, including academics, practitioners and students. It has helped students with their legal writing by having them consider matters of style early on and providing them with the tools to make their law school work the best it can be. The authors hope that this gives students a leg up in their academic and professional careers by helping them write clearly, efficiently and consistently. This guide will help ensure clarity, in addition to increasing the consistency and speed of legal writing. Writers should save time as they are able to quickly search and find answers to their stylistic questions in the relevant context.

Now in its 10th edition, the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation provides a straightforward, uniform approach to the citation of case law, legislation, periodicals, monographs, government documents, online sources, and other secondary materials across all jurisdictions. This guide has been officially adopted by courts and major law reviews across the country, establishing itself as an important tool for legal research and writing. The McGill Guide is a bilingual and bijuridical guide to the citation of legal materials.

Like the law, language and styles of writing evolve over time to meet the needs of new generations. One such shift is towards language that reflects a modern understanding of gender and gender identity. Inclusivity can no longer be limited to masculine and feminine but must be extended to include people who identify as non-binary, agender, two spirited, or genderqueer. To meet these needs, the British Columbia Law Institute created this guide to support all legal writers in this goal--from long-term practitioners seeking to learn a new way of writing, to new lawyers beginning their careers with best practices.

This new edition of the popular text teaches the foundational principles of critical reading, analysis, and writing in a clear and accessible way. By putting the reader in the place of a first-year attorney, the text shows law students how to succeed in law school and in the practice of law. Using graphics and contrasting effective and weak examples to illustrate concepts, the book demonstrates best practices in both traditional and electronic environments. Speaking to its readers in a straightforward manner, A Lawyer Writes communicates essential skills and theories so that they will be retained for a lifetime of legal practice.

The author provides readers with practical commentary on effective legal research in the context of the complete legal problem solving process, and offer a structured framework to efficiently navigate paper-based resources and online databases. This bestseller has been widely adopted by Canadian colleges and universities, and used by Canadian law schools for more than 20 years. The author provides readers with practical commentary on effective legal research in the context of the complete legal problem solving process, and offers a structured framework to efficiently navigate paper-based resources and online databases. This text introduced the well-recognized FILAC structure to legal writing adopted by professors and lawyers across Canada.

This book provides a ten-step guide to clear, precise, and effective legal writing and analysis for both law students and experienced lawyers. It gives the keys to writing legal memoranda and briefs, organizing analysis, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. The book describes a method for analyzing and improving individual writing style includes a sample analysis. It also includes new material on using plain English and new legal documents to illustrate effective writing techniques.

With Point Made, legal writing expert, Ross Guberman, throws a life preserver to attorneys, who are under more pressure than ever to produce compelling prose. The author takes an empirical approach, drawing heavily on the writings of the nation's 50 most influential lawyers. Each chapter of Point Made focuses on a typically tough challenge, providing a strategic roadmap and practical tips along with annotated examples of how prominent attorneys have resolved that challenge in varied trial and appellate briefs. In addition to all-new examples from the original 50 advocates, this Second Edition introduces eight new superstar lawyers. The book concludes with an all-new set of 50 writing challenges corresponding to the 50 techniques.

In Point Taken, Ross Guberman delves into the work of the best judicial opinion-writers and offers a step-by-step method based on practical and provocative examples. Featuring numerous cases and opinions from 34 esteemed judges, Point Taken explores what it takes to turn "great judicial writing" into "great writing". Guberman provides a system for crafting effective and efficient openings to set the stage, covering the pros and cons of whether to resolve legal issues up front and whether to sacrifice taut syllogistic openings in the name of richness and nuance. Guberman offers strategies for pruning clutter, adding background, emphasizing key points, adopting a narrative voice, and guiding the reader through visual cues.

After over two decades as a law professor and lawyer, Peter Sankoff has encountered many common writing challenges faced by nearly all writers--from students to seasoned lawyers. Peter's years of practice have underscored the fact that strong written argument is indispensable to zealous advocacy. Writing challenges impede the effectiveness of otherwise strong arguments, causing much to be lost in translation. Designed with busy students and lawyers in mind, the book is filled with practical guidance, examples, and checklists to ensure tips can be easily understood and applied by readers.

The third edition of Scholarly Writing: Ideas, Examples, and Execution offers a lifeline to students, guiding them through the process of constructing their legal research papers from start to finish. With over 10 years combined experience teaching scholarly writing, the authors identify common roadblocks for student writers, and offer advice and techniques for how to successfully overcome these roadblocks. Scholarly Writing: Ideas, Examples, and Execution covers 10 areas of law, aiming to reach students with varied interests. Topics include: constitutional law, ethics and technology, patent law, art law, immigration, property rights, arbitration agreements and employment, debt law, juries and verdicts, and government contract law.

Synthesis: Legal Reading, Reasoning, and Writing in Canada, is an effective legal writing tool designed for students entering the legal profession, and for practitioners looking to refresh their legal writing skills. This practical text is a comprehensive and reliable legal reading, reasoning, and writing guide which will help readers to: Learn how to use primary and secondary legal resources in making legal arguments; Develop skills in legal reading, reasoning, and research using examples, exercises, charts, and diagrams; and Write clear and effective legal memos, opinion letters, briefs, arguments, and pleadings.

This resource directs you step-by-step through any legal problem – from identifying keywords to conducting electronic searches. Also included are brief descriptions of each of the various sources and research aids – from secondary materials and commentaries to statutes and regulations. No researcher should be without this handy yet critical tool. Features include: An author team which brings a wealth of knowledge of legal research and problem solving; Simple checklist to ensure all aspects of legal research are explored and addressed; Expert commentary on making an efficient and effective research plan; and Addresses how to approach and navigate legal commentaries, cases and legislation

Presents a new way of thinking about the relationship between law and language Are the general and the particular separated in legal rhetorics? What is the function of singular events, facts, names in legal argumentation and what is their relationship to legal normativity? Bringing together an international range of legal scholars, this collection takes a diachronic approach and addresses these questions from the perspective of contemporary legal discourse. The book explores the changes in legal form and transmission that have been generated both by globalisation and by common law's irreversible encounter with the civilian methods of European law. It explores how, in the contemporary legal discourse, exemplarity - and all rhetoric processes based on the general-particular dichotomy more generally - regained relevance.