TRU Library Book Displays

Cap In Hand asks: what if the four major North American pro sports move beyond the restrictive covenants of the franchise model? The product sold to fans today is a pale copy of what it might be if the market could guide the best players to the best teams, whose ingenuity and innovation would inspire everyone to do better and put on a better show.

The book explores the development of alternative dispute resolutions in sports. It also examines in detail the legal frameworks within which sports arbitration systems operate. This book is important reading for students, researchers and practitioners working in sports law, sports management and administration, sports politics, sports ethics, and international organization.

This book contains analysis of the legal impact of doping regulation by eminent and well known experts in the legal fields of sports doping regulation and diverse legal fields. These are thoughtful extended reflections by experts on theory and policy and how they interact with law in the context of doping in sport. This book covers doping regulation from a legal perspective such as tort, corporate governance, employment law, human rights law, or a scientific area. It is vital reading for anyone interested in the law, regulation and governance of sport.

Football is the biggest game in the world and the richest. This has contributed to the growth of legal issues and disputes in football and to an increasingly specialised legal services market in football. Since 2002, approximately half of all sports disputes before the Court of Arbitration in Sport (CAS) have been in football. Football and the Law provided the first comprehensive review of the law relating to all aspects of football in the world, including all the main regulatory and commercial aspects of the sport. With contributions from 67 of the leading experts in the field, it is a valuable resource to lawyers and others active in the football industry, as well as a vital source of material to students, and legal practitioners.

In Game-Day Gangsters, Fogel argues for a review of the systems by which Canadian football is governed and analyzes the reforms proposed by football leagues and by players. Juxtaposing material from interviews with football players and administrators and from media files and legal cases, he explores the discrepancies between the players' own experiences and the institutional handling of disciplinary matters in junior, university, and professional football leagues across the country.

The Olympic Games is unquestionably the largest and most important sporting event in the world. Yet who exactly is accountable for its successes and failures? This book examines the legitimacy and accountability of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). This non-governmental organisation wields extraordinary power, but there is no democratic basis for its authority. This study questions the supremacy of the IOC, arguing that there is a significant accountability deficit. Investigating the conduct of the IOC from an international legal perspective, the book moves beyond a critique of the IOC to explore potential avenues for reform, means of improving democratic procedures and increasing accountability.

Sports and the Law: Examining the Legal Evolution of America's Three "Major Leagues", 3rd Edition, represents the most up-to-date legal analysis of a wide variety of cutting-edge sports law issues that have impacted the "Three Major Leagues" since the last edition was published. In particular, each chapter's updates, which are linked to an Appendix containing companion study guides, comprehensively analyze the most significant sports law developments over the past several years.

Sports and the Courts endeavors to convey to the reader not only the legal implications of sports issues but a portrait of the conditions of modern society as sports litigation reveals it. It presents a selection of recent court cases, dealing with a variety of sports-related issues that are brought before the bar for judicial remedy, while also concentrating on the many ways sport has changed in our society today. A significant feature of the second edition is the discussion of topics not covered in the first edition, such as Social Media, Bullying and Hazing, Drug Testing, Internships, Cheerleading, and the all-important Management of Risk in Sport.

This volume provides a comprehensive examination of public policy aspects of the economics of professional sports. The book offers a unique focus on public policy, covering regulation and competition in the sports industry and its labour markets, governance issues including unethical behavior (corruption, doping, etc.), and public spending on stadiums and mega-events. It also offers an original combination of economic analysis and well-known international examples. The book also analyses the globalization of many sports, the role of international governing bodies, and the difficulties in pursuing effective public policies in this context. This book is a significant contribution to research in sports economics aimed at students and academics interested in both the economics of professional sports and public policy.

Law, Ethics, and Integrity in the Sports Industry is an essential reference source that discusses the legitimacy and integrity of sports institutions by focusing on the social, economic, and political influence of sports. Featuring research on topics such as global sports governance, legal and ethical implications, and the validity of e-sports, this book is ideally designed for scholars interested in institutional aspects of sports and ethics, academicians, researchers, advanced-level students, and officials with a broad interest in sports seeking coverage on the institutional aspects of sports and ethics.

Sports Law examines the various areas of law, including tort, criminal liability, contract, intellectual property, marketing, trade and competition, and explores the role they play in the world of Australian sport.The third edition looks at recent controversies and common interest stories in both Australian and international sport, and help students understand how the law operates in practice through the use of discussion questions and hypothetical scenarios.Clear and engaging for a broad audience with backgrounds in law, business and sports management, Sports Law offers a comprehensive and accessible analysis of the legal pitfalls faced by players, managers, administrators and supporters on and off the sporting field.

This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the ways in which the law has impacted on how sport is played, administered and consumed. The author writes in a clear and engaging manner, tracing the origins and sources of this rapidly evolving subject and drawing examples from a wide range of professional and amateur sports to illustrate the important current debates and topics of interest. The book covers a wide-range of topics from participant and non-participant liability, fighting sports and their legality, and liability for stadium safety and disasters. The final section of the book takes in the very latest developments in mass-event sport and the growing but fundamental area of sports commercialisation. New to this Edition: - Fully updated and includes analyses of the Pechstein and Sharapova decisions - Includes details on the state aid rulings on financial support for Spanish and Dutch football clubs - The author includes a review of the Rio 2016 Olympics Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/sports-law-second-edition-by-mark-james-2. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.