Sport Policy in Canada provides the first and most comprehensive analysis of the new Canadian Sport Policy adopted in 2012. In light of this new policy, the authors, top scholars in the field, provide detailed accounts of the most salient sport policies and programs, while also discussing issues and challenges facing policy makers. In Canada and around the world, the last decades have known a sharp increase in state intervention and public funding in pursuit of medals on the international stage and in support of a more active lifestyle. Governments at all levels have made substantial investments in hope of hosting major sporting events to benefit from the economic impact and gain international prestige.
Introduction to Sport Law With Case Studies in Sport Law, Second Edition, provides students with comprehensive information on the fundamental legal issues in sport and sport management using a jargon-free approach that is accessible to readers with little or no legal background. The content covers legal and management matters most commonly found in sport management, including liability issues, protecting the legal rights of athletes and employees, and managing legal risk.
The Olympic Games is unquestionably the largest and most important sporting event in the world. Yet who exactly is accountable for its successes and failures? This book examines the legitimacy and accountability of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). This non-governmental organisation wields extraordinary power, but there is no democratic basis for its authority. This study questions the supremacy of the IOC, arguing that there is a significant accountability deficit. Investigating the conduct of the IOC from an international legal perspective, the book moves beyond a critique of the IOC to explore potential avenues for reform, means of improving democratic procedures and increasing accountability.
This book addresses all aspects of sport, recreation, and event liability in Canada. It covers in depth the bases for potential liability of those involved in the sports and recreation field (including, but not limited to, amateur teams, participants, sports leagues, non-profit organizations, facility owner/operators, for-profit teams and organizations, owner/operators of attractions, employers, risk managers, and event planners/sponsors and hosts). The book also addresses numerous issues that impact directly upon such liability issues. These include issues of insurance coverage for both named and “additional” insureds, defences, waivers, contributory negligence, and voluntary assumption of risk.
Sports and the Courts endeavors to convey to the reader not only the legal implications of sports issues but a portrait of the conditions of modern society as sports litigation reveals it. It presents a selection of recent court cases, dealing with a variety of sports-related issues that are brought before the bar for judicial remedy, while also concentrating on the many ways sport has changed in our society today. A significant feature of the second edition is the discussion of topics not covered in the first edition, such as Social Media, Bullying and Hazing, Drug Testing, Internships, Cheerleading, and the all-important Management of Risk in Sport.
The fourth edition of Sports Law and Regulation: Cases, Materials, and Problems explores both amateur and professional sports as well as issues common to both industries. A comprehensive collection of cases and materials provides balanced perspective and flexible coverage, while the organization provides instructors the flexibility to cover selected sections or chapters for a separate course in either Amateur Sports Law or Professional Sports Law. The fourth edition includes recent landmark sports precedents, an updated Olympic and international sports law chapter, and the addition of youth sports materials to the high school sports chapter.
Sports and the Law: Examining the Legal Evolution of America's Three "Major Leagues", 3rd Edition, represents the most up-to-date legal analysis of a wide variety of cutting-edge sports law issues that have impacted the "Three Major Leagues" since the last edition was published. In particular, each chapter's updates, which are linked to an Appendix containing companion study guides, comprehensively analyze the most significant sports law developments over the past several years.
The Entertainment and Sports Law Journal is a refereed online journal. It is located within a dynamic and rapidly expanding area of legal theory and practice. Whilst focused within legal study, the areas it encompasses are necessarily interdisciplinary. Entertainment Law, Media Law, Sports Law, IP Law, Licensing Law – these are all subjects that are taught at undergraduate and postgraduate level at increasing numbers of Law Schools in the UK and beyond. Areas that are of interest to the Journal include the ways in which the law and regulatory frameworks operate in the following industries: music, sport, film, theatre and literature, art, gaming, the night time economy and the Internet and social media.
Established in 2005 by the Centre for Commercial Law, the Sports Law eJournal (Bond) is an electronic journal on sports law. The eJournal has an international and comparative law focus and contributors will discuss and analyse all aspects of sports law and regulation.
Sports Litigation Alert helps attorneys and other legal professionals stay abreast of sports law developments with the industry's only bi-weekly newsletter devoted exclusively to the field. Sports Litigation Alert tracks legal developments as they occur in amateur and professional athletics as well as legislative issues that impact legal professionals. Sports Litigation Alert also includes an archive of past issues that's available to current subscribers.