The Council of Europe, of which all European States are members, plays a pivotal role in the promotion and protection of human rights, democracy, and the rule of law in Europe. Bringing together specialist scholars and practitioners, The Council of Europe: Its Laws and Policies offersprofound insights into the functioning of the organization. The organization's primary and secondary law, its institutional structure, and its far-reaching fields of activities are comprehensively and systematically analysed. This volume investigates the impact of the Council's activities within the national legal systems of the Member States and the dense web of relationships between the Council of Europe and other international organisations.
This Casebook deals with the horizontal effects of EU law, which is to say its effects on relationships between individuals. To a large extent, these effects have been created by the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) on the basis of the European Treaties. The main focus of the Casebook is on the developments relating to primary EU law and their influence on national private law. It studies instances where EU primary law has already directly or indirectly influenced the case law in the Member States, or where it is expected to do so soon.
Research Handbook on EU Institutional Law offers a critical look into the European Union: its legal foundations, competences and institutions. It provides an analysis of the EU legal system, its application at the national level and the prevalent role of the Court of Justice. Throughout the course of the Handbook the expert contributors discuss whether the European Union is well equipped for the 21st century and the numerous crises it has to handle. They revisit the call for an EU reform made in the Laeken Conclusions in 2001 to verify if its objectives have been achieved by the Treaty of Lisbon and in daily practice of the EU institutions.
Featuring contributions from renowned scholars, A Companion to European Union Law and International Law presents a comprehensive and authoritative collection of essays that addresses all of the most important topics on European Union and international law. Integrates the fields of European Union law and international law, revealing both the similarities and differences Features contributions from renowned scholars in the fields of EU law and international law Covers a broad range of topical issues, including trade, institutional decision-making, the European Court of Justice, democracy, human rights, criminal law, the EMU, and many others
European Union Law is written for students on LLB and GDL courses and aims to reflect developments in legal education. The book fully explores the core areas of European Union law while also setting them in a contextual and practical framework. The writing style is accessible to all. Key cases are summarized and explained in discrete boxes while the law is abundantly illustrated with diagrams, tables, and other visual aids. To show how the law applies in reality, cases are presented and examined in separate boxes.
Written with exceptional clarity, European Union Law constitutes a classic textbook for students and practitioners of European law. Using a clear structural framework, it guides readers through all the core constitutional and substantive topics of EU law, and provides in-depth coverage of the most important internal and external policy areas of the European Union. Extracts from classic case law are complemented with extensive and critical discussion of the theoretical and practical aspects of the European Union and its law, leading students to a deep understanding of the subject.
Provides detailed coverage of the four freedoms and explains the central importance of these principles to the development of EU law and the future of the Union.
Offers critical analysis and insightful commentary on some of the key debates which surround and shape EU law and sets key principles within their political and social context.
Written by an expert in the field with extensive teaching and writing experience, Catherine Barnard has an exceptionally clear and engaging writing style and provides thorough discussion without overwhelming the reader.
EUR-Lex provides free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to: the authentic Official Journal of the European Union; EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.); preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.); EU case-law (judgments, orders, etc.); international agreements; EFTA documents; summaries of EU legislation, which put legal acts into a policy context, explained in plain language; other public documents.
The European e-Justice Portal is conceived as a future electronic one-stop-shop in the area of justice.
As a first step it strives to make your life easier by providing information on justice systems and improving access to justice throughout the EU, in 23 languages.