For physical legal dictionaries, see the law library, section KE 183.
BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)
British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
Legislation.gov.uk is the official place of publication for newly enacted legislation. All legislation from 1988 – present day is available on this site. Most pre-1988 primary legislation is available on this site.
The TRU Library does not have a subscription for this database, but there are still over 45,000 titles relating to United Kingdom law available without a subscription.
Date of publication ranges from 1600-1939.
Search tip: Start with a subject search for law and use the limiters on the left menu to refine your search.
British History Online
Earlier British Legislation can be found here.
Contains more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable image-based format. folder. Provides online full-text access to over 900 Canadian and international law reviews and legal journals, 550 legal classics titles, the U.S. Federal Register, U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1754, and notable collections of U.S. international treaties, agreements, protocols and conventions. Includes both searchable OCR full-text and PDF images of documents.
Law Reports & Case Reports Online from the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales. The Law Reports are the official series of Reports cited in the High Court, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court.
WestlawNext Canadas link opens in a new wi
Law students have individual passwords for WestlawNext Canada and WestlawNext. Cases and consolidations of statutes and regulations, citator (note up) tool, annotations, legal texts and other commentary. Material in US, UK and other jurisdictions available in WestlawNext.
UK Legal Research Guides
An alphabetical list of law reporters with abbreviations according to McGill's style guide. Links to their location are included where possible.
** denotes Official Reporter
* denotes that Reporter is preferred by McGill Guide
Hint: Use Ctrl+F to search by abbreviation
٠ All England Law Reports (All ER)
Find "Law" under the Subjects tab of the TRU Course Reserves page to see if your professor requested reserve items for your course. The reserves shelf is located by the reference desk in the law library.