Video - 30 min.
Using clear language, this film explains that the Constitution is made up of laws, court decisions and conventions. Together, they guide our legislatures and Parliament, delineating federal and provincial jurisdictions, and protecting citizens from abusive legislation. Our Constitution - The Law of the Land touches on key moments in the Constitution's history, from the 1867 British North America Act (Constitution Act), to the 1982 repatriation of the Constitution and the Charter of Rights, to continued efforts at constitutional change.
In this volume marking the Sesquicentennial of Confederation in Canada, leading scholars and jurists discuss the evolution of the Canadian Constitution since the British North America Act 1867; the role of the Supreme Court in interpreting the Constitution as a 'living tree' capable of application to new legal issues; and the growing influence of both the Constitution, with its entrenched Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and the decisions of the Court on other constitutional courts dealing with a wide range of issues pertaining to human rights and democratic government.
The fifth edition of Canadian Constitutional Law is a significant update to a leading authority on the state of Canadian constitutional law. This text remains true to the structure and purposes of previous editions, especially with regard to the editors’ commitment to the idea that understanding constitutional history is critical to comprehending the present and future of Canadian constitutional law.
The Laws of Government is a comprehensive legal treatise on the law of Canadian democracy. This book is a one-stop-shop for an area of law and policy that is emerging quickly. Almost every year, Parliament has had to deal with controversies involving electoral reform, political fundraising rules, ethics and conflict of interest, access to information, judicial appointments, parliamentary reform, and minority governments, to name a few. The book grapples with these contemporary issues.
Canada's Constitutional Law in a Nutshell, Fourth Edition continues to offer a succinct overview of the basic principles of Canada's constitutional structures and institutions. It will help with identifying constitutional issues, statutory interpretation, and analyzing and arguing constitutional issues.
Peter W. Hogg's Constitutional Law of Canada remains the classic text in its field, and the one to which practitioners turn for authoritative guidance on the complex issues and concepts which comprise Canadian constitutional law. The 2017 Student Edition is an abridged version of the looseleaf two-volume, 5th Edition Supplemented, which was extensively revised in 2007, along with chapter reorganizations, to better reflect the doctrine recently developed by the Supreme Court.
Peter W. Hogg's Constitutional Law of Canada remains the classic text in its field, and the one to which practitioners turn for authoritative guidance on the complex issues and concepts which comprise Canadian constitutional law. The 2018 Student Edition is an abridged version of the looseleaf two-volume, 5th Edition Supplemented, which was extensively revised in 2007, along with chapter reorganizations, to better reflect the doctrine recently developed by the Supreme Court. The Student Edition contains 35 of the 60 chapters found in the loose-leaf that the author has deemed most likely to be useful to students.
The fifth edition of Constitutional Law represents a significant update of the fourth edition, published in 2013. During this period, the Supreme Court of Canada has continued to develop the jurisprudence in all areas of constitutional law, including freedom of association, equality rights, Indigenous title, and inter-jurisdictional immunity. This book includes the complete text of the Canadian Constitution, including explanatory footnotes as consolidated by the federal Department of Justice.
The Oxford Handbook of the Canadian Constitution provides an ideal first stop for Canadians and non-Canadians seeking a clear, concise, and authoritative account of Canadian constitutional law. The Handbook is divided into six parts: Constitutional History, Institutions and Constitutional Change, Aboriginal Peoples and the Canadian Constitution, Federalism, Rights and Freedoms, and Constitutional Theory.
Canada's Charter of Rights and Freedoms has transformed Canadian life since it was adopted as part of the Canadian constitution in 1982. The Charter requires judges to make decisions on a wide range of issues that affect all Canadians. In doing so, the courts play a major role in citizens' lives. Because of the Charter: - The law against prostitution was struck down. - The Harper government"s treatment of child soldier Omar Khadr was found to violate his rights. - Vancouver's Insite safe injection site was kept open, overriding a federal government decision requiring it to shut down. Ian Greene is a political scientist, and his focus in this book is to highlight the many significant ways the Charter shapes Canadian life.
Written by two of Canada’s leading constitutional scholars, no other Canadian book provides such an accessible yet thorough and objective account of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The authors survey the manner in which Canadian courts have come to terms with a constitutionally entrenched bill of rights, focusing on the decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada. The purpose is to explain the Charter, its interpretation by the courts, and its practical application.
The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms guarantees the rights and freedoms set out in it subject only to such reasonable limits prescribed by law as can be demonstrably justified in a free and democratic society.
Charterpedia provides legal information about the Charter and contains information about the purpose of each section of the Charter, the analysis or test developed through case law in respect of the section, and any particular considerations related to it. Each Charterpedia entry cites relevant case law, and citations to Supreme Court of Canada decisions are hyperlinked whenever possible.