New Books in the TRU Law Library

This volume tells the story of the interaction between Christianity and law-historically and today, in the traditional heartlands of Christianity and around the globe. Sixty new chapters by leading scholars provide authoritative and accessible accounts of foundational Christian teachings on law and legal thought over the past two millennia; the current interaction and contestation of law and Christianity on all continents; how Christianity shaped and was shaped by core public, private, penal, and procedural laws; various old and new forms of Christian canon law, natural law theory, and religious freedom norms; and Christian teachings on fundamental principles of law and legal order.

This ground-breaking book sets out a comprehensive governance framework to raise the welfare of animals across EU agriculture and the agri-food chain. Diane Ryland argues that a global response is needed to promote animal wellbeing in agriculture, focusing on the importance of the relations between standard-setting bodies. Through a comparative analysis of major animal welfare standards, this book develops a transnational soft law hybrid governance model for animal welfare in agriculture. It examines, critically, animal welfare standards in the public and private spheres, investigating the links between the two and how they can be advanced. Drawing on extensive case studies, chapters explore animal welfare comprehensively for specific species and at various stages, in EU agriculture and the food supply chain.

In this timely book, Alexandra Harrington examines the legal and policy terms contained in transitional justice mechanisms through the lenses of intergenerational equity and justice, and the impact on current and future generations. Based on these findings, she offers a new definition of transitional justice that focuses on generational incorporation to ensure a durable, equitable and just peace. Proposing a more nuanced definition of transitional justice in the setting of internal armed conflict, chapters address both the histories and the analyses of different conflicts. Harrington reviews the core findings and their potential impacts for crafting transitional justice mechanisms that are inclusive of the needs of children and youth, current and future generations, intergenerational equity and intergenerational justice.

This comprehensive Research Handbook explores the wide variety of work conducted in legal semiotics, providing a thorough understanding of how the law works through signs and symbols. Demonstrating that the law is a strategical system of fluctuating signs, contributors critically analyse the ever-evolving conceptualisations of law and legal discourse. Bringing together leading international experts, this Research Handbook focuses on the material, everyday forms of law comprised by non-verbal legal semiotics. Contributors conduct culturally nuanced semiotic analyses of the modern world, covering topics from COVID-19, religion, and human rights, to comic books and music.

This pioneering Research Handbook provides a comprehensive and in-depth scholarly overview of the field of soft law, exploring the scope of current thinking in the field as well as proposing future pathways for soft law research. Organized into four broad themes, the Research Handbook offers important and unique insights into the dynamic and complex nature of soft law. The first section delves into the conceptual history and development of soft law. Second, the Handbook explores the disciplinary understandings of soft law, examining how scholars from different fields investigate the topic. The third theme focuses on the public and private actors and institutions involved in soft law-making, providing a detailed analysis of the complex relationships that shape soft law.

This Research Handbook is a multi-faceted, comparative analysis of how law and political systems interact around the world. Chapters include analyses of judicial deference, congressional support, democratic representation, politicization of courts, public support, and judicialization across multiple jurisdictions in the United States and abroad. Chapters also investigate transnational courts and the linkages between international and domestic law and politics. Addressing these relationships from a comparative perspective, the Handbook illustrates how different political contexts lead to different uses of law and how courts respond to divergent political environments.

This invaluable and timely book provides a comprehensive "Conflict Prevention and Friction Analysis (CPFA) Model" for researching comparative law in our increasingly technology-led legal and economic order. It provides an in-depth examination of practical case studies, showcasing the real-world application of quantitative methods and theoretical approaches for analysing legal issues. Over the course of this insightful book, Pier Giuseppe Monateri and Mauro Balestrieri thoroughly investigate the theory that the intention of law is not just to resolve conflicts, but to prevent their occurrence. Chapters critically analyse the historical and contemporary issues in quantitative methods, examine the main themes and approaches involved in quantitative and comparative law discussions, and present original research to illustrate key ideas.

Adopting a critical multijurisdictional approach to charity law, this thought-provoking book provides a comprehensive analysis of the challenges facing charitable organisations. Exploring the contrasting approaches to charity governance and regulation in both common law and civil law jurisdictions, the book imparts practical guidance for a vast array of stakeholders in the charity law field. Rosemary Teele Langford brings together unique perspectives from a diverse range of eminent scholars across the globe, presenting invaluable insights on charity governance and regulation from multiple jurisdictions such as England and Wales, Australia, Germany, Korea and Japan. Using a comparative methodology, the book delves deeply into a number of important issues relating to charity governance and regulation that transcend national boundaries.

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in each area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. This timely Research Agenda explores key dynamics and cutting-edge developments within corporate law. Bringing together a diverse range of scholars hailing from different jurisdictions, ideological perspectives, and methodological backgrounds, it provides a roadmap for future research in the field. Through the investigation of different doctrinal and normative issues, leading scholars consider how evolving conceptual foundations, capital markets, social and cultural contexts, and technologies may impact corporate law and governance research.

Dealing extensively with domain name dispute case law, rules and procedures, this book provides practical information for protecting trademarks against registration and use of abusive third-party domain names as well as defending UDRP complaints. Leading intellectual property lawyer Daniel Bereskin presents an invaluable how-to guide for the effective execution of complaints concerning uniform domain names while considering responses to such complaints. The book also offers detailed advice on the evidence needed to support complaints and responses. This accessible and well-organized book will be a key resource for both trademark owners faced with abusive third-party domain name registrations and domain name owners who believe they registered their domain names in good faith, as well as lawyers.

Constitutional law is a 'semi-autonomous' discipline, where texts and doctrines are completely and complexly intertwined with the political systems within which constitutional law is found. This timely Research Handbook develops the idea that understanding constitutional law means understanding constitutional politics as well. Using both comparative and political analysis, this forward-looking reference work deals with the politics of constitutional law around the world, delivering global treatment of the politics of constitutional law across issues, regions and legal systems. The chapters are meticulously organised around 'foundations', 'structures', 'rights' and 'futures', providing a well-rounded overview of the topic and noting the key recent developments in the field.

Human dignity recognizes and reflects the equal worth of each and every member of the human family, regardless of gender, race, social or political status, talents, merit, or any other differentiator. But it is also right that can be claimed, an interest that can be protected, like liberty or equality or shelter or free speech. It is now recognized in more than 150 of the worlds constitutions from all regions of the world. Also, increasingly, courts around the globe are recognizing the right to dignity and applying it against governments and others to ensure that the dignity of all is respected. This unique book aims to provide an introduction to dignity rights, including what they are (or are not), how they are embodied constitutionally around the globe, and how courts interpret and apply them (or don't).

This book presents a step-by-step guide on how to build an effective GDPR compliance programme for your business and covers the crucial elements that businesses need to address. With particular focus on startups and scaleups, experienced data protection lawyer, Ben Martin, walks the reader through the various data protection requirements that early-stage businesses need to consider, and explains how these will develop through their growth phase. Utilising real-life scenarios and worked examples to navigate the complex legal landscape of GDPR compliance, this handy and practical guide sets out key concepts relating to data protection and draws on a number of expert industry and legal perspectives.

With contributions from over 30 international legal scholars, this topical Research Handbook on International Food Lawprovides a reflective and crucial examination of the rules, power dynamics, legal doctrines, societal norms, and frameworks that govern the modern global food system. The Research Handbook analyses the interlinkages between producers and consumers of food, as well as the environmental effects of the global food network and the repercussions on human health. Chapters explore the development of food law and governance strategies, the regulation of novel foods, including insects, and the application of technology and science in food production, such as genetically engineered food.

This book presents a detailed analysis of the different approaches and measures for implementing the requirements of UNESCO's 2003 Convention on Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage (the Convention) and a practical interpretation of that treaty, based on the experience of States' Parties and other primary actors. The book considers the interests of multiple stakeholders and takes account of how the Convention interacts with other international law regimes pertaining to both human rights and sustainable development. Providing accessible and focused analysis, this book will be essential reading for lawyers and practitioners involved in the protection of intangible cultural heritage from both governmental and non-governmental institutions.

The Art Collecting Legal Handbook, now in its third edition, is a cross-border legal guide to the ever-changing maze of rules and regulations when acquiring, moving, and sharing works of art and antiquities. This new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, and features three thematic chapters which analyse recent market trends, the development of NFTs and their reception in the art market, and the application of indirect tax. Providing a comprehensive and practical guide, this book will be an essential resource for art collectors and their advisers, alongside dealers, galleries, and museums. It will also be beneficial for lawyers specialising in commercial law, cultural heritage and art law, and intellectual property law.

As one of the most important international organisations in the sphere of international trade law, UNCITRAL aims to further the progressive unification of the law of international trade. This comprehensive Companion delineates the range of issues considered at UNCITRAL, as well as assessing the potential for future work and reforms. Split into four key thematic sections, the book starts by providing an institutional background to UNCITRAL, before moving on to discuss the topic of dispute resolution, including contributions on international arbitration, mediation, and online dispute resolution.

Summary: "Legal ethics experts Alice Woolley and Amy Salyzyn have written a thorough and scholarly review of the legal and ethical duties every lawyer should follow to manage risk and make prudent decisions in everyday practice. This useful text sets out numerous ethical issues lawyers face in their dealings with clients - complete with analysis, commentary and insight. This book is highly recommended for every lawyer who wishes to represent his or her client to the fullest, while at the same time, remain within the boundaries of legality and of ethical practice. This book is highly recommended for every lawyer who wishes to represent his or her client to the fullest, while at the same time, remain within the boundaries of legality and of ethical practice."-- Provided by publisher.

Summary: "The revised fifth edition of Wills and Estates thoroughly examines the law and practice surrounding estate planning, administration, and litigation. This resource is divided into three parts, each section providing an in-depth exploration of key subjects and "grey areas" that exist in estate law, including wills, powers of attorney, trusts, and mediation. Drawing from 20 years of experience in the field of estate law and estate disputes, author Derek Fazakas approaches each topic from all angles, identifying problem areas and proposing solutions."-- Provided by publisher.

In this new edition, Patrick Macklem will be joined by a new co-general editor, Carissima Mathen, a leading constitutional expert and professor at the University of Ottawa. In addition to providing a comprehensive introduction to Canadian constitutional law, leading cases, and insightful commentary and discussion, Canadian Constitutional Law, 6e also looks to provide new insight into the book with the addition of new authors, a fresh perspective on many constitutional matters, and expand materials on Indigenous issues in various chapters throughout the book, being informed by the TRC Calls to Action. By doing so, the book will further distinguish itself as the leading book on Canadian constitutional law for use by law schools across the country.

Offering an innovative and experience-based perspective, Richard G. Liskov's erudite treatise provides a comprehensive overview of the basic principles and procedures for how state insurance regulators in the US supervise a crucial sector of the economy. The book not only explores the theoretical dimensions of insurance regulation, but also presents practical insights and guidance for dealing with the main US insurance regulatory issues. Chapters dexterously navigate key themes, including: the history behind insurance regulation; the respective regulatory roles of the federal government and US states; the organisation of insurance departments and how they operate; and the process of licensing insurance companies and professionals.

Artificial Intelligence and Market Abuse Legislationpresents a wide-reaching interdisciplinary examination of the impact of AI on the EU Market Abuse Regulation (MAR). Assessing the principles and rules governing the MAR disclosure regime as well as the mechanisms of market manipulation, Filippo Annunziata examines the important role of AI systems in the prompt disclosure of inside trading information. The author analyses the threat of breaches in disclosure protocol posed by technological malfunctions, as well as the opportunities and drawbacks presented by market manipulation in algorithmic trading. This incisive book goes on to argue for greater trading venue monitoring and the installation of adequate systems that can analyse, predict and thus anticipate situations that result in market manipulation.

This comprehensive second edition Research Handbook discusses a wide range of timely questions and dilemmas ensuing from the present state of European social security law. Presenting a kaleidoscopic concept of social security, a new generation of leading experts identifies future lines of inquiry that are likely to dominate the discourse in the coming years. Chapters analyse contemporary debates through a range of perspectives, critically examining crucial dimensions of European social security law. These dimensions include social security as a human right, minimum standards, protection of mobile persons, and European social security law in a global context. Through this exploration, new challenges and further lines of research are identified, providing a source of inspiration for the development of this fundamental field of law.

European Rules of Civil Proceduresets out a clear examination of the Rules adopted by UNDROIT and the European Law Institute in 2020. Presented within a systematic structure to aid enhanced academic understanding, it precisely showcases the comparative knowledge of its authors. This in-depth Commentary will be essential for academics of European, private, corporate and commercial law disciplines wishing to sharpen their knowledge of comparative civil procedure. It will additionally benefit policy makers and practitioners with an interest in using the model rules to provide a framework for national legislation.

This groundbreaking book uses the idea of experience to investigate the various ways in which international organizations are understood and captured by judges, legal practitioners, legal researchers, legal theorists, and thinkers of global governance. Adopting a unique phenomenological approach, Jean d'Aspremont questions the key patterns of thought that inform the legal practice of international organizations, arguing that said organizations are the product of five specific experiences: affection, insulation, edification, restriction, and conciliation. Through this critical lens, d'Aspremont highlights the limits of the current conceptualizations of international organizations which populate legal practice and legal literature.

Although expressly prohibited under international law, discrimination is amongst the humanitarian issues that adversely impact persons, communities, and society at large, in all types of armed conflicts. In this important book George Dvaladze unpacks the complexity of the international legal regulation of guarantees of equality and non-discrimination applicable in armed conflict. Discrimination is often the root cause of, or it is intrinsically linked to, armed conflict. The realities of such situations can also exacerbate inequalities that predate the outbreak of the conflict.

Offering a novel and pragmatic perspective, this timely book critically examines the development of a culture of machinist regulation and questions whether this approach is appropriate in an era of rising biological technologies. Adopting an ontological approach, James Griffin considers how current regulatory frameworks favour digital technology and how this may change in the future. Griffin adeptly investigates how regulation can impact the nature of new technologies, especially as biological computing is becoming more commonplace. Chapters provide a wealth of critical analysis, considering cutting-edge technologies such as AI, prosthesis, and biological computing. Griffin outlines a proposed reformative system which focuses on the biological substrate in the creation of cultural works.