New Books in the TRU Law Library

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. Authoritative and multidisciplinary in approach, this Research Agenda shapes questions that will underpin future legal and empirical scholarly inquiry on zoning and land use regulation in the US. Building on existing debates and providing a comprehensive overview of the current state of academic research, it identifies the gaps which need addressing in future research. Chapters critically analyse the laws that govern public participation alongside the potential reforms to these processes. A number of pressing issues are rigorously examined, including housing, historic preservation, sustainability and climate change.

This comprehensive Companion provides an extensive guide to understanding the World Trade Organization (WTO) and its impact on the global economy. Addressing the challenges facing the WTO amidst a rapidly evolving landscape, the book delves into the diverse trade policies of countries and regions, providing rare insights into their impact on the global trade governance frameworks. Featuring insightful contributions from interdisciplinary experts, this essential Companion will aid readers in comprehending the WTO's functions and its significance in international trade and broader economic policies.

Representing a continuation of the debate on export restrictions and export controls, this adroitly-crafted book expertly navigates the complexities of international trade law. Under the aegis of global security, it features a number of diverse yet interconnected topics on export restrictions and export controls and highlights the multi-faceted trade, economic, and security challenges faced by developed and developing countries. Ghori draws on historical and theoretical dimensions and examines the latest developments within the field.

This critical book assesses the current trade policy challenges facing the US and offers a series of recommendations which, if implemented, have the potential to improve both US domestic trade policy and international foreign policy. Focusing on the reform of the WTO, the implementation of the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement and the continuing rivalry between the US and China, The Future of Trade crucially advances the ongoing dialogue between US governments and stakeholders. This timely analysis proposes a clear, dynamic and comprehensive series of recommendations through an interdisciplinary approach analysing law, economics and public policy in relation to the US home economy and its position in the global economic order.

This progressive book critically analyses the current state of data protection enforcement and proposes a new auditable framework of practical guidelines to contribute to a more sustainable data-driven future. In outlining the debates relating to current data protection structures, Paolo Balboni and Kate Elizabeth Francis argue that legislation alone cannot sufficiently protect individuals' fundamental rights and freedoms, and instead consider the pressing need for a more ethical approach to data protection.

An original book offering a unique theoretical approach, Re-examining Insolvency Law and Theory analyses the important role that legal theory plays in the development of insolvency law. It explores how law and theory are able to respond to issues of financial distress in the 21st century and questions how insolvency law could develop to address contemporary challenges. This book brings together international experts in insolvency, who consider the key conceptual influences that have impacted insolvency law since the beginning of the 21st century. Chapters address a number of theoretical perspectives, divided into overall philosophical considerations, theoretical criticisms of the internal mechanisms of insolvency law, and how external theoretical paradigms could be used to shift perspectives on insolvency frameworks.

Patent Portfolio Managementprovides companies with an essential guide to improving the management of their patents. The clear and succinct advice in this book will empower IP and patent departments to audit and structure the patents they own, align the patent portfolio strategy with the business and R&D strategies, and ultimately extract the most value from the patent portfolio to maximise business potential. Providing a highly visual step-by-step guide to the patent cycle, from the raw invention stage through to transformation into a 'Diamond' patent, applicable across all industries, the book sets out time-tested best practice alongside ground-breaking methods. It is a must-have for those leading IP and patent departments and will also be an essential resource for patent attorneys and IP and law firms providing client advice.

Withholding taxes have become a significant element of the system of international taxation in the wake of globalization and increased cross-border transactions. Deducting taxes at source has become a key tool for countries to ensure that individuals and entities do not escape their tax liabilities. This new work presents a comprehensive overview of the general mechanisms by which taxation is withheld in Europe and explores their practical implications. Florian Haase expertly navigates the complexities of international tax law and provides a rigorous examination of the challenges currently facing this area of legislation, including tax evasion and avoidance, double taxation, and tax treaties.

Considering the major crises Europe has faced over the last three decades, this unique book offers a multidisciplinary examination of the ways in which law, human rights and politics have evolved and were affected by recent emergencies. Costas Douzinas assesses and critiques the ways in which governments responded to three emergencies: the 2008 economic crisis, the large flows of refugees and migrants since the 2010s, and the COVID-19 pandemic. Utilising Foucault's theory of biopolitics and Douzinas' experience as a critical scholar and politician, this insightful book reviews the law and politics of emergency and proposes a theory and future pathways of resistance.

This accessible How To Guideprovides practical, expert guidance on how to successfully set up and run a law clinic. Donald Nicolson, JoNel Newman and Richard Grimes explore the process of designing a clinic to address unmet legal needs, enhance student learning, and maximise the additional benefits of a clinic. How to Set up and Run a Law Clinicis a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of running a clinic. Based on the authors' first-hand experience, the book analyses a variety of day-to-day issues that can arise when setting up a law clinic and provides invaluable solutions to these commonly occurring challenges. The book examines how the expectations of all stakeholders, including those with regulatory oversight of clinical activities, can be managed and met.

This thorough and incisive Research Handbook reconstructs the scholarly discourses surrounding the field of law and technology, recognising how it has been established over the last decade as one of the focal points of legal scholarly debate. Adopting a multidimensional approach, the Research Handbook on Law and Technology brings together an array of esteemed experts and new voices in the field with chapters considering antitrust, artificial intelligence, consumer law, legal responses to techlaw uncertainties, internet, methodology, and human rights in the digital age.

Committed to highlighting the regulatory needs and priorities of emerging economies in the context of AI and big data, this expertly crafted Companion explores the nature and role of regulation in the Global South from a techno-dependent societal perspective. It not only amplifies the unspoken and underrepresented voices in AI and data regulation scholarly discourse, but also provides a novel approach to otherwise recipient economies in an age of digital transformation.

This informative and accessible book reviews the core concepts of contract law and theory from an Anglo-American perspective. Larry A. DiMatteo deftly analyses the key principles, rules and frameworks which have shaped Anglo-American contract law, as well as highlighting important legislative acts that have changed and modernised its development. There is a strong commonality across Anglo-American common law systems; however, there have been several critical fissures that have developed between American and English common law over the past fifty years. DiMatteo adopts a multidisciplinary approach, lucidly explaining these differences from both a theoretical and a practical perspective, using empirical evidence from case studies to support this research.

This thoroughly revised second edition of the Research Handbook on International Insurance Law and Regulationprovides an updated assessment of the insurance industry in an international context, featuring 30 chapters, of which half are new for this edition, written by expert academics and practising lawyers. Produced in association with Lloyd's of London, chapters provide in-depth studies on key areas including judicial interpretation of insurance contract clauses and transnational regulatory recognition, as well as overviews on important international jurisdictions such as the EU, Japan and the US. This comprehensive second edition critically analyses how insurance law and regulation have responded to the growth in sophisticated technology, the burgeoning climate crisis, and the development of new insurance structures.

The drastic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic highlighted many of society's systemic inequalities. This timely and prescient book explores the role that Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs) played in the pandemic and argues for developing a framework of sustainability, innovation, and global justice in IPR systems, to build a more globally sustainable regime. IPRs impact products and processes which address fundamental societal needs, yet innovation is largely incentivised by the granting of exclusive rights which can limit accessibility to new products and technologies.

This discerning and detailed Research Handbook examines the law of trademarks, unfair competition, and dilution from a variety of law and economics perspectives. With a comprehensive exploration of trademarks and trademark law, it provides an excellent illustration of the analytical diversity that the law and economics approach can bring to legal issues. The Research Handbook investigates the law and economics of trademark enforcement and of alternative enforcement mechanisms. With chapters exploring the strengths, weaknesses, and insights of law and economics as applied to trademark law generally, this Research Handbook revisits and expands some of the leading law and economics analyses of trademark law.

Written by a team of international experts, marshalled by one of the world's foremost trademark lawyers, Trademark Dilution and Free Ridingis the leading comparative work on trademark dilution. Trademark owners are motivated to litigate for a variety of reasons, often taking action in order to protect the integrity of a trademark and its commercial magnetism. This book assists the reader in navigating through the array of issues threatening well-known trademarks. Structured in three parts, the book first maps out the concept of trademark dilution as it has developed in Europe, in the U.S. and at the international level. It then sets out the current law on dilution in the most significant jurisdictions across the globe, explaining the national position on protection, infringement and remedies.

Counterfeit Goods and Organised Crimeis an in-depth inquiry into the fake goods trade and the involvement of organised crime groups. In this seminal work, Michael Blakeney comprehensively analyses the impact of counterfeiting on the principal industries affected by it. It looks at international, national and regional counterfeit legislation, organised crime groups and counterfeiting customs control. Through an interdisciplinary analysis, Professor Blakeney assesses the size of the counterfeit goods trade, its drivers, and its impact on commerce, public order and health. The book includes a broad range of case studies focusing on the areas most affected by the counterfeit trade: medicines and pharmaceuticals; food, wines and spirits; luxury goods; vehicle and aircraft parts; and herbicides, fertilisers and pesticides.

This Commentary provides the first comprehensive and holistic analysis of the Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence (the Istanbul Convention). It offers a complete article-by-article guide to the Convention with reference to the explanatory report, the findings of the monitoring body (GREVIO) and relevant State practice. Contributions from more than 50 leading international academics and practitioners in the field. A set of thematic chapters dwelling on crucial issues such as intersectionality, reproductive rights, and cyber violence.

This seminal book delivers an international examination of the duty of medical confidentiality and a patient's right to privacy in the face of contemporary developments such as cyber-security, patient autonomy, and the greater reliance on telemedicine post the Covid-19 pandemic. Thierry Vansweevelt and Nicola Glover-Thomas bring together esteemed academics from across the globe to deliver an international perspective on medical confidentiality. Uniquely combining the concerns of patient privacy and data protection law, chapters are separated by global regions and outline a number of theoretical arguments supported by case-specific studies.

This thoroughly revised edition of the Commentary on the Energy Charter Treaty presents a comprehensive overview of the latest trends surrounding this important international agreement. Providing a unique, article-by-article, textual analysis, updated chapters cover the full breadth of topics and developments of the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), situated in the broader context of international economic law and governance. This edition also offers detailed coverage of the modernization process of the ECT, and carefully analyses important criticisms of the instrument. The ECT outlines a multilateral framework for cross-border cooperation in the energy sector based on the principles of open competitive markets and sustainable development.

Adopting a holistic and multidisciplinary approach, this expertly crafted book comprehensively maps out the complex multi-jurisdictional legal landscape pertaining to the EU's circular energy system. Offering in-depth critical analysis, it identifies several areas of law and policy that require further scholarly inquiry to ensure the creation of an effective policy framework which can facilitate the move from a linear to a circular energy system.In three thematic sections, the expert contributors first examine the interactions between EU law and policy for waste, agriculture, food and forestry. Focus is then drawn to how, when, and by whom the energy sources created from biowaste can become part of the EU's energy mix.

The Elgar Concise Encyclopedia of Aviation Lawprovides a comprehensive overview of the evolution of the dynamic field of aviation law. Curated by two internationally recognized scholars in the field, entries are written by a wealth of specialist academics, legal experts, practitioners, and representatives of global institutions. The Encyclopedia provides a state-of-the-art review of over 130 topics, addressing recent developments as well as current trends and perspectives. The Encyclopedia delivers high-level analyses on aviation-related topics whilst remaining accessible to academic scholars, researchers, and professionals working in the area. The Encyclopedia is a rich and authoritative reference point for all scholars, students, legal practitioners, and industry professionals connected with this rapidly developing and fascinating sector.

In light of the significant transformations affecting international tax in recent years, this book provides an in-depth assessment of the key issues impacting the taxation of cross-border transactions. Craig Elliffe brings together a wealth of acclaimed legal academics to consider how the Inclusive Framework (IF) is responding to the ways in which highly digitalised businesses operate. International Tax at the Crossroads examines the overarching aspects of international tax reform, evaluates the IF's proposed multilateral tax reforms and outlines the alternative unilateral options available and their subsequent legal consequences.

Presenting the broad spectrum of interdisciplinary academic research on corruption, this essential reference book examines anti-corruption legislation, governance mechanisms, international instruments and other preventative measures intended to tackle corruption. Including over 100 entries and adopting a comprehensive approach to researching and combating corruption, this Encyclopedia covers the key ideas, concepts and theories in corruption law. Featuring contemporary case studies from around the world, the work analyses the intersection of corruption law and the social sciences, as well as various manifestations of corruption - including bribery in both the private and public sectors, embezzlement and criminal mismanagement, and money laundering.

'Passing-on' occurs when harm or loss incurred by a business is passed on to burden that business's customers or the next level of the supply chain. In this thoroughly revised and updated second edition, the authors provide the only available comprehensive examination of passing-on in damages and restitution under EU law. The analysis covers a broad range of contexts including competition damages and the repayment of charges. The book offers a systematic examination of the key questions facing parties in a passing-on situation. These questions are assessed for actions against the EU, a Member State and private individuals.

Summary: "After over two decades as a law professor and lawyer, Peter Sankoff has encountered many common writing challenges faced by nearly all writers--from students to seasoned lawyers. Peter's years of practice have underscored the fact that strong written argument is indispensable to zealous advocacy. Writing challenges impede the effectiveness of otherwise strong arguments, causing much to be lost in translation. Designed with busy students and lawyers in mind, the book is filled with practical guidance, examples, and checklists to ensure tips can be easily understood and applied by readers."--Website of the publisher.

Introduction to Modern First Nations Legislation.
The 2024 edition features the latest legislative updates, new case annotations under each Act, and commentary on the new cases.

In comparing the ways in which China, Taiwan and Hong Kong punish religious claims and practices considered by the state to be false or fraudulent, Jianlin Chen presents a seminal contribution to the interdisciplinary study of religious freedom. The book not only reveals how these legal tools sustain a hierarchy of religion, but also the political dynamic behind the design and utilization of these legal tools. Adopting a novel, comparative approach, Chen adeptly investigates various legal tools employed to regulate religious fraud in China, Taiwan and Hong Kong. Through a systematic survey of court judgments, he identifies the surprising convergences among the religious fraud regulations across the three jurisdictions.

International claims commissions (ICCs) are unique dispute resolution mechanisms designed to be highly flexible and responsive to international crises. This timely Research Handbook explores the history of ICCs, how and why states create them, and the role of states and secretariats within them. Written by accomplished experts and past claims commission members to present a unique perspective on ICCs, this Research Handbook analyses past claims commissions including the Iran-US Claims Tribunal, the UN Compensation Commission, the Eritrea-Ethiopia Claims Commission and the Commission for Real Property Claims in Bosnia.

Despite recurring efforts, a gap exists across a variety of contexts between the protection of patients' safety in theory and in practice. This timely Research Handbook highlights these critical issues and suggests both legal and policy changes are necessary to better protect patients' safety. Multidisciplinary in nature, this Research Handbook features contributions from eminent academics, policy makers and medical practitioners from the Global North and South, discussing the essential facets concerning patient safety and the law. It highlights how the role of legislation and case law has the potential to influence, both positively and negatively, medical practice and the quality of care.

This unparalleled reference work on airline liability is written and edited by internationally revered experts and presents a comprehensive, article-by-article analysis of the Montreal Convention 1999 (MC99). Adopting a comparative, doctrinal approach, the Commentary outlines the origins of the MC99 and its evolution, before drawing particular focus to air passenger and cargo practices and liability, issues of multimodal carriage, and the development of new technologies. Offering a forward-thinking perspective, chapters also bring to light key scholarly debates concerning the potential revisions to the MC99 and highlight the likely need for reform.