New Books in the TRU Law Library

Emissions Trading Systems (ETS) have been hailed as a game changer for the evolving climate crisis. This book provides an in-depth analysis of China's carbon ETS, including its legal and policy frameworks, carbon market mechanisms, and international and comparative implications. With nine cutting-edge topics divided into three thematic parts, this comprehensive book probes the essential concepts, contemporary research, and key elements of carbon emissions trading in China. Multidisciplinary in scope, the book draws on insights from law, policy, economics, environmental management, and geopolitics, to provide a comprehensive and nuanced analysis of the development of carbon emissions trading in China.

This comprehensive Research Handbook analyzes the impact of the rapid growth of digital trade on businesses, consumers, and regulators. Leading experts provide theoretical and practical insight into how to manage the legal and policy challenges of the global digital economy. Chapters cover key areas of digital trade policy and regulation, examining finance, investment, tax, AI, and security. Drawing from a broad spectrum of digital trade sub-specialisms, this Research Handbook explores diverse regional and national approaches to e-commerce, spanning Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. It scrutinizes the evolution of digital trade within the international trade system, assessing its inclusion within the WTO and the move towards digital-only agreements.

This Research Handbook offers a comprehensive study of jurilinguistics that not only presents the latest international research findings among academics and practitioners, but also provides a new approach to the phenomena and nature of communicative flexibility, legal genres, vulnerability of interlingual legal communication, and the cultural landscape of legal translation. Chapters explore the theory of jurilinguistics investigating the features of a broad range of national discourses. Offering a unique perspective on the complex and dynamic relationship between language and the law, the impressive selection of contributors discuss the efficiency, flexibility and vulnerabilities of communication in legal settings.

Autonomous systems driven by artificial intelligence (AI) technologies have significant potential for increased productivity and improved safety in many sectors, but it is inevitable that some accidents will occur. The law needs an adequate way to respond to these scenarios and compensate those wrongfully injured. This comprehensive book examines the unique difficulties that autonomous systems create for existing accident compensation systems founded on tort, and proposes solutions. Its chapters question the adequacy of accident compensation systems designed around the human wrongdoer, or a human whose conduct can be attributed to a legal person, when the 'wrongdoer' is an autonomous system.

Freedom Under the Private Law examines the relationship between the private law, the rule of law and the protection of liberty. It traces important historical shifts in how these relationships have been conceived, from Plato's conception of the Philosopher Kings, through the classical nineteenth century view of Dicey, the rise of the welfare state and the modern political economy of the present day. In this thought-provoking book, Allan Beever argues that today's dominant understanding of the private law is a conception suited for a political economy that does not exist, that never existed and that was even an apparent political possibility only for a decade or so after the end of the Second World War.

Summary: "The Legal Professional Career Guide is designed specifically for non-lawyers who are preparing to embark on a career in the legal field, whether as a paralegal, legal assistant, or law clerk. The handbook will introduce students to the legal landscape in their province or territory, guiding them through the various roles available and types of organizations to work for as a legal professional, while helping them to recognize how their past education and experiences fit those roles. They will learn how to conduct a job search efficiently, how to understand job postings, and how to tailor their cover letter and resumé to those job postings. An entire chapter is devoted to resumé writing, another one to cover letter writing, and a third to interviewing skills.

Summary: "Using real-world examples and discussions of both criminal and civil law cases, the text explains the rationale behind the laws that affect the media, how those laws are interpreted, and what they mean for Canadian journalists and those working in other areas of the media."-- Provided by publisher.

Summary: "The entire patient-provider relationship rests on consent to treatment. This book anticipates the possibility of a breakdown - and provides solutions to what could otherwise be a legal and risk management nightmare. It provides comprehensive coverage of issues affecting Canadian consent to treatment, including criteria for valid consent, when consent is not required, issues with respect to consent and reproduction, human research and tissue donation, determining capacity, refusing consent, documenting consent and preventative measures that can be used to avert litigation."-- Provided by publisher.

Since 1959, this work has been the definitive text on all aspects of the law governing municipalities in every province. No other work is quoted with approval so frequently in Canadian judicial decisions. More than 1,700 pages of in-depth commentary keep you fully informed on this vast subject.

Since 1959, this work has been the definitive text on all aspects of the law governing municipalities in every province. No other work is quoted with approval so frequently in Canadian judicial decisions. More than 1,700 pages of in-depth commentary keep you fully informed on this vast subject.

Since 1959, this work has been the definitive text on all aspects of the law governing municipalities in every province. No other work is quoted with approval so frequently in Canadian judicial decisions. More than 1,700 pages of in-depth commentary keep you fully informed on this vast subject.

Canadian administrative law was bedevilled for many decades by uncertainty and confusion. In 2019, the Supreme Court of Canada sought to bring this chaos to an end in its landmark decision Canada (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration) v Vavilov. In A Culture of Justification, Paul Daly builds a framework for understanding why several previous reform efforts failed and assesses the proposition that Vavilov might very well succeed in providing a roadmap to a brighter future. This engaging, in-depth study of one of the most important areas of Canadian law shows readers how a newly emerged "culture of justification" allows courts and citizens to insist on the reasoned exercise of public power by the administrative state.

Summary: "Canadian Income Tax Law provides readers with an overview of the foundations of tax law, including critical cases and expert commentary. Introductory chapters provide a foundation for the study of statutory provisions and judicial decisions, including up-to-date caselaw and analysis; the remaining chapters follow the structure of the Income Tax Act."-- Provided by publisher.

Summary: "Rules of Evidence: A Practical Approach serves evidence law courses at paralegal programs across the country, with most sales happening in Ontario paralegal programs. The LSO course, called Evidence and the Litigation Process, is a mandated second-year course. In it, and through our text, students learn the principles of the law of evidence. Our text takes a practical approach to analyzing a fact situation and applying the rules of evidence in a logically sequenced manner. The book also addresses strategies for the effective presentation of testimonial and documentary evidence in the context of court and tribunal proceedings."-- Provided by publisher.

A top legal scholar explains Canada's national tragedy of wrongful convictions, how anyone could be caught up in them, and what we can do to safeguard justice. Canada's legal system has a serious problem: a significant but unknown number of people have been convicted for crimes they didn't commit. There are famous cases of wrongful convictions, such as David Milgaard and Donald Marshall Jr., where the system convicted the wrong person for murder. But there are lesser-known cases: people who feel they have no option but to plead guilty, and people convicted of crimes that were imagined by experts or the police that never, in fact, happened.

Summary: "Residential Real Estate Transactions is a top Emond offering for Ontario law clerks learning real estate law and procedure. Although it currently sells nearly exclusively to law clerk programs, the text is also suitable for Ontario legal office administration students learning real estate law. The book is structured around a residential real estate transaction and includes an overview of the general principles and procedures of real estate law that are essential for law clerks and legal office assistants to understand."-- Provided by publisher.

In A Global Political Morality, Michael J. Perry addresses several related questions in human rights theory, political theory and constitutional theory. He begins by explaining what the term 'human right' means and then elaborates and defends the morality of human rights, which is the first truly global morality in human history. Perry also pursues the implications of the morality of human rights for democratic governance and for the proper role of courts - especially the US Supreme Court - in protecting constitutionally entrenched human rights. The principal constitutional controversies discussed in the book are capital punishment, race-based affirmative action, same-sex marriage, physician-assisted suicide and abortion.

The Internet has brought about unprecedented changes to modern life, creating a connected society but also radically opening up the question of how to design and apply legal rules in a digital world. This thoroughly revised second edition provides an updated exploration of the latest developments and controversies in European Internet law. Paying close attention to recent acts and proposals, including the Digital Services Act (DSA), Digital Markets Act (DMA), AI Act and others, this Research Handbook traces the developments of main regulatory ideas; provides criticism of the methods, principles, approaches and enforcement; and gives a critical analysis of the normative side of regulation.

In today's data-driven economy, it is essential for companies to protect their trade secrets against unlawful acquisition,use and disclosure; with the ease of digital communications, employee migration and international trade, trade secret violations now often occur across national borders. This book examines how trade secret protection can differ across jurisdictions, where trade secret holders can bring proceedings, and which country's law is applicable. Lundstedt provides a European perspective, analysing how the EU's rules on jurisdiction and applicable law relate to the EU's wider objectives on encouraging cross-border innovation activities. Due to its practical approach to analysis, it will also be useful for policy makers and legal practitioners seeking information about uncertainties that exist in the current law.

Greenhouse gas concentrations are rapidly increasing and as a result, fundamental economic transitions are needed to limit global warming. This essential book examines the climate and energy policies of selected jurisdictions in Europe and East Asia that have vowed to become carbon neutral. Climate and Energy Law and Policy in the EU and East Asia provides important analyses of the respective laws and policies of the European Union, China and South Korea, and also touches upon Japan. Accounting for 43% of global CO2 emissions, these jurisdictions are critical for success.