New Books in the TRU Law Library

This incisive book delineates the development of Law and Religion as a sub-discipline, critically reflecting on the author's own role in constructing the field. It develops a subversive social systems theory in order to take both law and religion seriously and to challenge them equally. Russell Sandberg crafts a new agenda for academic scrutiny of the interaction between religion and the law. Sandberg criticises scholarship to date for focusing on the legal regulation of religion, which reduces the field to an academic sub-discipline in Law Schools. Instead, Sandberg argues for a re-conceptualisation of Law and Religion as an interdisciplinary interaction, comparing it to fields such as legal history and legal geography.

This pivotal Research Handbook analyses the interconnectedness of family property and the law through historical, contemporary, comparative and jurisdiction-specific lenses. Authors analyse some of the most well-known, contested and politicised legal developments in the field of family property law. Bringing together leading international scholars, the Research Handbook on Family Property and the Law considers the key policy issues that impact family property entitlement, including the extent to which wealth, class and race influence its distribution. It explores the defining features of family property, such as how it is conceptualised, created and legally recognised, and how it has evolved over time.

This Research Handbook explores the complex interplay between competition law and sustainability, and also provides key insights into the role and limitations that tax, environmental laws, consumer laws, and social laws have in promoting sustainability. A distinguished array of international experts examine core principles of environmental and social sustainability, delve into the economic dynamics that shape this multidimensional relationship, and critically analyse how competition law and policy can both positively and negatively shape sustainability outcomes. The Research Handbook on Sustainability and Competition Law is an essential resource for academics, researchers, and students.

Technology proficiency is now a necessity for most professionals. In this very practical book, W. Kuan Hon presents a comprehensive foundational guide to technology and cybersecurity for lawyers and other non-technologists seeking a solid grounding in key tech topics. Adopting a multidisciplinary approach that elucidates the high-level basics then goes a step beyond, Hon clearly explains core technical computing subjects: hardware/software, computing models/APIs, data storage/databases, programming, networking including Internet/web, email and mobile, and artificial intelligence/machine learning including LLMs, detailing cybersecurity essentials like encryption/hashing, public key infrastructure, digital signatures and PETs and flagging various security/privacy-related aspects throughout.

This Research Handbook thoroughly examines the difficult and rapidly expanding problem of national, transnational, and international environmental crimes, including air and water pollution, unlawful mining and timber harvesting, and trafficking of endangered species. It provides an understanding of cutting-edge empirical and theoretical research on these crimes and their legal prosecution. Pre-eminent experts in the field meticulously examine the relevant criminal law and environmental law and its enforcement in a range of regions across Africa, Asia, Europe, and North and South America.

Providing perspectives from different fields of study such as public policy and politics as well as legal analysis, this book highlights the rule of law as a fundamental value of the European Union, and examines how this is implemented throughout the Member States. The Rule of Law Under Threat explores empirical evidence and quantitative methods for studying the dynamics of this imperative legal principle in interdisciplinary research. Internationally renowned experts consider the rule of law in the context of previous and future accessions to the EU in Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, with particular focus on Hungary as one of the most recent and notorious cases of rule of law deficits in the EU.

Providing a clear and concise guide to the practicalities of legal research, this informative book presents a methodological framework for law-in-context research design. It argues that legal scholarship relies on the interpretive and argumentative methods of the humanities, but also requires empirical input due to its focus on social reality. Contextualising Legal Research discusses core topics including research questions, methods, theoretical frameworks, evaluations and recommendations. Ultimately, the book advocates a combination of doctrinal research, empirical disciplines and theoretical-normative perspectives, with extensive discussion on the contribution of the humanities to legal research.

Subverting the narrative that the legal profession must be austere and controlled, this prescient How To guide addresses the crucial need for holistic, trauma-centered law teaching. It advocates for a healthier, more inclusive profession by identifying strategies to engage, and even encourage, emotions within legal education. Proponents of trauma-centered pedagogy, co-editors Mallika Kaur and Lindsay M. Harris bring together a diverse set of legal academics from a range of subject areas to examine the need for trauma-centered pedagogy. Diverse subject matter experts critically analyse a multitude of educational techniques within the law classroom, including the use of violent imagery, simulation, and the Socratic method.

The Research Handbook on Health, AI and the Lawexplores the use of AI in healthcare, identifying the important laws and ethical issues that arise from its use. Adopting an international approach, it analyses the varying responses of multiple jurisdictions to the use of AI and examines the influence of major religious and secular ethical traditions. Bringing together a diverse range of carefully selected legal experts, the Research Handbook critically assesses the different uses of AI in healthcare and its promise to provide greater accuracy for healthcare professionals and patients by diagnosing diseases and detecting illness earlier and helping hospitals run more efficiently. It also highlights a series of legal and ethical challenges AI raises relating to bias, privacy, data security, medical liability, informed consent and intellectual property.

This book reimagines responsibility in international law, establishing the concept of non-bilateral responsibility as an objective legal situation generated by the commission of an internationally wrongful act. It examines the nature, operation and impact of this new form of responsibility, exploring its deep consequences for the legal system. Responding to the increasingly non-bilateralist nature of international law, the book argues that the legal model of state obligations is outdated. It draws on legal theory, the law of state responsibility and international dispute settlement mechanisms to outline non-bilateral responsibility as a structurally distinct concept.

Presenting a unique conceptual framework for interpreting and improving commercial agreements, this book marries a sound theoretical foundation with practical strategies for negotiating, drafting, advising on, and litigating such agreements. Using examples from Singapore jurisprudence to demonstrate how universal principles can be applied in diverse jurisdictional settings, the book examines the cultural and commercial contexts that underpin a multitude of business agreements - such as those relating to the supply of goods, distribution, and franchising - and illustrates how nuances of language are essential in the interpretation and translation of contracts.

This insightful Research Handbook discusses how exclusive intellectual property rights can affect inclusivity within individual, community and business contexts. It employs urban and rural frameworks to provide a multidimensional view of contemporary inclusivity and its relationship with intellectual property. The Research Handbook on Intellectual Property Rights and Inclusivity brings together a carefully selected array of international experts to explore the significant challenges faced when fostering equal treatment for individuals and organisations, including freedom of expression disputes and potential difficulties when providing smaller platforms with market access.

This Research Handbook provides a comprehensive depiction of the various stages, opportunities and challenges of climate change litigation at national and international levels from an innovative practice-oriented perspective. Bringing together expert authors from a range of legal backgrounds, the Research Handbook features contributions not only from experienced academics researching in the field, but also from strategic planning specialists and legal coordinators for organizations involved in climate-related litigation.

This book offers recent insights into some of the burning issues of our times: climate change, exposure to chemicals, refugee issues and the ecological harm that accompanies conflict situations. It brings together a group of pioneering scholars, mostly legal experts but also thinkers from various scientific disciplines, to discuss concerns from around the globe - from Australia and New Zealand, to Canada and the United States, European countries including Germany, Italy, Britain and the Czech Republic, as well as the African continent.

Bringing together global experts from diverse legal backgrounds, this comprehensive book offers a rigorous analysis of the complexity of resolving and preventing international tax disputes, covering arbitration, mediation, and dispute management. Analyzing the myriad challenges involved in international tax disputes, this book critically examines the OECD Two Pillar framework, the tax treaty Mutual Agreement Procedures, the OECD MLI arbitration rules, BIT investment arbitration on tax issues, as well as the EU Dispute Resolution Process.

This incisive book delineates the development of Law and Religion as a sub-discipline, critically reflecting on the author's own role in constructing the field. It develops a subversive social systems theory in order to take both law and religion seriously and to challenge them equally. Russell Sandberg crafts a new agenda for academic scrutiny of the interaction between religion and the law. Sandberg criticises scholarship to date for focusing on the legal regulation of religion, which reduces the field to an academic sub-discipline in Law Schools. Instead, Sandberg argues for a re-conceptualisation of Law and Religion as an interdisciplinary interaction, comparing it to fields such as legal history and legal geography.

This thoroughly revised second edition provides a clear overview of the functions and liabilities of insolvency practitioners (IPs). It considers the circumstances in which IPs are appointed and their duties and powers, before offering a detailed investigation into their potential professional liabilities, as well as in-depth guidance to practitioners and advisers as to how claims might be framed and defended.

The 2024 Annotated Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act – updated semiannually – continues to be the resource you can rely on for authoritative guidance and current law and policy at a moment's notice. The book is a condensed version of the five-volume classic Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law of Canada, Fourth Edition. It is the perfect quick reference for immediate access to primary law and concise commentary. This edition includes all recent legislative amendments that deals with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act.

Proposing innovative ideas on the links between taxation, citizenship and democracy, this multidisciplinary book contributes to ongoing research and scholarship by emphasizing the importance of taxation to the functioning of modern democracy. This book provides methodological and theoretical research tools from various disciplines such as law, economics and sociology. It considers, among other research questions, the disciplinary boundaries surrounding taxation, citizenship and democracy; the taxation of migrants in an era of globalization; and the role of procedural safeguards in legitimizing the use of automated risk management systems.

This vital book traverses the ongoing challenges faced by Indigenous peoples in the pursuit of their fundamental right to self-determination. Set against the backdrop of issues such as climate change, governance, space and data, it explores the intersection between Indigenous rights and land, territories and resources. Indigenous peoples are particularly vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change, and Valmaine Toki outlines its critical impact on political and economic marginalization, loss of land and resources, and human rights violations and discrimination. She advocates for the meaningful inclusion of an Indigenous worldview within climate change approaches, governing bodies and a right to space.

This authoritative book from one of the top experts in the field sets out a detailed and practical analysis of the complex and often fraught relationship between EU competition rules and intellectual property rights (IPRs). Beginning with a primer on the general principles that underpin intellectual property and competition law, the book then provides exhaustive coverage of the application of Article 101 TFEU on anticompetitive agreements to IP licensing. Extensive analysis of the application of Article 102 TFEU on abuse of dominance provides clarity on when and how conduct relating to IPRs might infringe Article 102.

The Research Handbook on International Family Lawbrings together a carefully selected array of experts to address legal topics pertaining to family relationships in a cross-border context, and international family law disputes. It shows how this independent field of study has developed, and continues to develop, and adeptly surveys the practice and regulation of international family law. This Research Handbook presents critical perspectives on complex issues arising in the field of international family law. This Research Handbook is an essential reference work for scholars and researchers of family law and private international law.

This comprehensive Research Handbook provides a detailed exploration of the principles and rules that impact the procedures and operation of international courts and tribunals. Within this framework, leading experts examine how the evolution of procedural rules and concepts has given rise to a distinct body of rules known as international procedural law. Diverse contributors from common and civil law backgrounds discuss the significance, sources and general principles of international procedural law and highlight crucial, yet often overlooked, international dispute resolution regimes.

This comprehensive Handbook provides a critical and analytical guide to the application of interdisciplinary research methods in EU law and explores the advancement of the EU legal landscape from an interdisciplinary research perspective. Venturing beyond doctrinal legal scholarship, it reflects on the cognitive synergies between EU law and other disciplines, and advances the debate on contemporary trends in EU law research. This Handbook surveys the ways in which studying and researching EU law has become an increasingly integrative endeavour.

The Dictionary of Privacy, Data Protection and Information Security explains the complex technical terms, legal concepts, privacy management techniques, conceptual matters and vocabulary that inform public debate about privacy. The revolutionary and pervasive influence of digital technology affects numerous disciplines and sectors of society, and concerns about its potential threats to privacy are growing. This Dictionary is invaluable to students, scholars and researchers in law, technology and computing, cybersecurity, sociology, public policy and administration, and regulation.

This book presents a thought-provoking inquiry demonstrating how civic environmental monitoring can support law enforcement. It provides an in-depth analysis of applicable legal frameworks and conventions such as the Aarhus Convention, with an enlightening discussion on the civic right to contribute environmental information. Civic Monitoring for Environmental Law Enforcement discusses multi- and interdisciplinary research into how civil society uses monitoring techniques to gather evidence of environmental issues. The book argues that civic monitoring is a constructive approach for finding evidence of environmental wrongdoings and for leveraging this evidence in different institutional fora, including judicial proceedings and official reporting for environmental protection agencies.

This Commentary analyses the history, technology, uses, legality, and circumvention of geo-blocking, which affects customers and businesses both inside and outside the EU. Marketa Trimble examines each of the provisions of the 2018 EU Geo-Blocking Regulation, including provisions on non-discriminatory access to online interfaces, goods and services, and means of payment. Marketa Trimble examines each of the provisions of the 2018 EU Geo-Blocking Regulation, including provisions on non-discriminatory access to online interfaces, goods and services, and means of payment.