Research Guides: Searching Article Databases: Search a Database by Keyword

Live Help

Search a Database by Keyword

Suppose you want to find journal articles on wildfires in British Columbia, but you aren’t sure which journals cover this topic area. Using keywords to search an article database will help you find relevant journal articles as outlined in the steps below.

1. Define topic & build a search strategy

Once you have chosen/defined a topic, break it into keywords (usually 2 or 3 to start, separated by "AND"). Try a search and see what results you get. To extend your search, think of some other related keywords and try them in different combinations. If you find an article or other source closely related to your topic, look inside that source for additional keywords if needed. Repeat the search process.

Topic:	What are the impacts of wildfires in British Columbia?
First keywords:	wildfire	AND	British Columbia
Other related keywords:	forest fire	AND	BC
Other related keywords:	wildfire	AND	Kamloops

For more information, check out the TRU Library guide: Get Research Help.

2. Select a database

Once you have identified concepts and keywords, select a database that is likely to have the information you need. For example, if your topic was related to the field of psychology, the database PsycINFO would be a good choice. If you need help in knowing which databases are the most appropriate for each discipline, see the TRU Library Subject/Research Guides for recommendations.

To find articles related to biological sciences (in this case, the impacts of wildfires), we might select the database Academic Search Complete because it covers a wide range of subject areas, including biology. To find this database we would go to the Library's A-Z Databases page, scroll down the list to the title Academic Search Complete, and click on it to open.

3. Perform your first search

Type in your keywords (e.g., wildfires AND British Columbia) in the search box.
Click the search button.

4. View search results and access options

	On the search results page: Click on a title for more information about that resource: look at the abstract, subject headings and other details. For access options (e.g. download PDF, online full text, etc.) click the "Access Now" button.


	A. Search results not related to your topic?
		Sometimes a keyword search returns articles that contain your keywords but are not relevant to your topic. To improve your search: Try using different keywords Try searching a different ariticle database Contact TRU Library for help!
	B. Too many search results?
		Sometimes a keyword search retrieves thousands of articles –– way too many to consider. In this case, try to reduce the number of articles by narrowing your search topic, usually by adding another keyword to your search. For example: wildfires AND British Columbia AND water quality Be careful: The more keywords you link with "AND", the more specific your search becomes, and the fewer articles will be returned.
	C. Too few search results?
		Try other keyword combinations, e.g. synonyms or related terms to your original keyword to find more articles on your topic. Tip: For keyword ideas, try looking in the text of related articles you find. e.g., forest fires and British Columbia instead of wildfires and British Columbia