Searching Article Databases

Search a Database by Author

Suppose you want to find an article by Richard Wagamese but don’t know the article title or the publication date. Searching an article database by author name may help you find what you are looking for. For instructions, follow the steps below.

Note that although the search screens may look different from one database to another, they all function in a similar way. Once you know how to search one database, you’ll be able to search others as well.

1. Choose a Database

The first step in searching by author is to choose a database that is likely to include the articles you need. For example, if the author usually writes about psychology, PsycINFO would be a good choice. If you’re not sure which database fits your topic, you can check the TRU Library Subject/Research Guides for recommendations.

To search for articles by Richard Wagamese, we’ll use Academic Search Complete because it covers a wide range of subjects. To access this database, go to the Library’s A-Z Databases page, scroll through the list to find Academic Search Complete, and click on it to open.

2. Enter your search terms

With the database's search page open:

1. Type the author's name in the search box (last name, comma, first name).
2. Select "Author" from the dropdown menu at right.
3. Click the Search button. Note: To access search results, you may be asked to log in with your TRUID and password.

3. View search results and access options

On the search results page:

• Click on a title for more information about that resource.
• For access options (e.g. to download PDF, read online full text, etc.) click the "Access Now" button.