Education

Statistics is the field of knowledge concerned with data collection, data analysis, and data interpretation and presentation. Methodology comprises the many and varied structured ways in which research is conducted -- answering the fundamental question: How does the researcher effectively gather information for particular purposes?

Steven Pfeiffer, a leading expert in the field of gifted assessment, discusses what it means to be gifted, why we should identify gifted students, and the purposes of gifted assessment. Well-organized and engaging, the book examines key principles of gifted assessment and provides an up-to-date overview of gifted assessment measures. Topics include the use of local norms, measuring creativity and motivation, nonverbal measures, the importance of recurring gifted assessment, multi-potentiality, gifted testing and minority group students, and evaluating the twice-exceptional student. Early identification and intervention greatly benefits gifted students, who may otherwise never realize their full potential.

This edited volume discusses the theoretical, ethical and practical considerations involved in the assessment of Second Language Learners (SLLs) with Specific Language Learning Disorders (SpLD), such as dyslexia and Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder, and with other disabilities like visual and hearing impairments. The volume contains 14 chapters. These explore various theoretical models and research findings that identify and evaluate the language and special needs of SLLs with SpL...

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (two volumes) presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative methods in a non-intimidating and accessible style. The encyclopedia is specifically written to appeal to beginning, intermediate, and advanced students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences.

Covers all aspects of child development from prenatal development, education, pediatrics, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting.

In 41 chapters, the editors of this work cover topics such as: learners' development, cognition, motivation, socio-cultural perspectives on teaching and learning, instructional design, teacher assessment and much more. Each chapter provides an extensive reference list guiding the reader to more books and articles.

This book is divided into 4 sections: Early Childhood Education and Child Development; Early Childhood Educational Curriculum; Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Policy; and Research and Evaluation Strategies for Early Childhood Education. Each entry includes a very comprehensive list of books and articles guiding you to further information.

Ruth Ravid concentrates on the essential concepts in educational statistics including when to use various statistical tests and how to interpret the results. Testing and test score interpretation, reliability, and validity are included to help students understand these topics which are essential for practitioners in education. Real-life examples, used generously throughout, are taken from the field of education and presented to illustrate the various concepts and terms.

This important resource is an update of the best-selling book The Special Educator′s Resource Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. The greatly expanded second edition contains 301 new and enhanced tests, which are vital to understanding assessment in special education. Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.

This new edition is intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.