Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.
While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.
Consists of both the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from more than 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Updated quarterly
Current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.
Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Contains more than 2 million references to psychological literature from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Updated monthly.
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated monthly.
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,719 periodicals in the nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine and allied health disciplines. Full text coverage includes nearly 520 journals, plus legal cases, drug records and clinical trials. Updated monthly.
More than 350 journals from 10 disciplines: education, health sciences, management, communication, sociology, psychology, political science, materials science, criminology, urban studies, with extensive back files
Provides online access to electronic journals and covers the sciences, technology, life sciences, and engineering. Update frequency: N/A
Over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Update frequency: N/A
Sage Knowledge provides full text access to 5000 ebook and ereference titles in social sciences.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a key database for educational research. Using some advanced techniques is a great way to get the most out of this database.
1. Advanced Search: On the main page of ERIC (the advanced search page), scroll down to find the education-specific filters, such as "Education Level" and "Intended Audience." You can also put a country in "Location Identifiers" to limit results to information that is about a particular country (more reliable than putting the country as one of your search terms).
2. ERIC Thesaurus: On the top bar of the page, click "Thesaurus" to browse the list of subjects in the database. This is a "controlled vocabulary," which means that each idea is represented by only one term. This makes it easier to find all the information on a topic.
For example, type postsecondary education into the box and click on the first term. You will find a list of broader, narrower, and related terms, as well as what this subject is used for. In this case, articles are tagged as "postsecondary education" instead of "tertiary education" and "grade 13," as some examples.
To use this thesaurus in your search, select terms you would like to search for and add them to your search using OR using the button above the list of terms. The checkboxes under Explode on the right will search for all the narrower terms of that term. If you select explode for "postsecondary education," your search will also include the narrower term "higher education."
After running this search, you will be able to add further keywords to narrow the search.
The below slideshow tutorial demonstrates the ERIC Thesaurus; if you have additional questions, please contact the Education librarian.