New Books in the TRU Law Library

This book seeks to elucidate the complex and often uneasy relationship between law and religion in democracies committed both to equal citizenship and religious pluralism. Scholars consider the role of religious values in public decision making, government support for religious practices, and restriction and accommodation by government of minority religious practices.

This insightful book explores the Perestroika era (1985-1991), considered to be one of the most eventful periods in modern history, and in particular the ways in which it affected the Soviet approach to international law. After assessing the reforms introduced by the Perestroika era, Kaj Hobér outlines the concept of 'The New Thinking' and its impact on Soviet international law.

Now in a fully updated and expanded fifth edition, this textbook introduces the power and politics of sport organizations to the readers. It explores the managerial activities essential to good governance and policy development and looks at the structure and functions of individual organizations within the larger context of the global sport industry.

This thought-provoking book navigates the impact of place-brands in the consumer marketplace in light of the extended protection accorded to them under intellectual property laws. Interdisciplinary in scope, the book explores diverse national and international approaches to strategic branding through the lenses of law, marketing, history and sociology.

Providing a thorough examination of the Tax Dispute Resolution Directive (TDRD), Giovanni Consolo addresses the uncertainties and challenges that may compromise the effectiveness of the dispute resolution procedure. Additionally, the book provides an in-depth overview of the TDRD's integration within domestic procedures across EU Member States' legal systems.

In this insightful book, Tara M. Collins uses critical analysis and practical examples to illustrate the essential connection between children's rights and professional practices. Collins identifies key conceptual considerations to inform and guide a pattern of professional work that respects children, youth and their families.

This timely book analyzes recent developments and key questions related to violence against women under European human rights law, including the European Convention of Human Rights, the European Social Charter and EU Law instruments. It examines supranational standards and their complex interplay with national legal orders and realities.

This timely book explores the key lessons that can be learned from the COVID-19 pandemic, adopting a forward-looking approach to the socio-economic rights of vulnerable groups. It highlights the ways in which we can better prepare for future times of crises.

Comparative in scope, this book explores current debates surrounding the legal notion of equality. It expertly analyses equality law from a range of different legal perspectives, divided into three categories: dimensions of inequality; framing and proceduralising inequality; and new frontiers of inequality.

Multicultural Citizenship: Legacy and Critique allows the philosopher an opportunity to consider the evolution and transformation of Will Kymlicka's theories from Multicultural Citizenship: A Liberal Theory of Minority Rights. Canonical in the field of multiculturalism, Will Kymlicka's work developed an original way of recognizing and accommodating ethnic groups and national minorities through liberal democratic principles. This new volume brings together expert scholars to evaluate the impact of Kymlicka's book on their own views and the field's general progression over the past three decades and brings Kymlicka to face new questions challenging multiculturalism and re-evaluate the main ideas of his original theory by reflecting on its growth.

This topical Handbook investigates the nature and impact of intersections between border control and criminal justice. Using comparative and decolonial perspectives, it demonstrates the corrosive effect of harsh border practices not just on those subject to them, but to many of the key principles of liberal democracy.

This judicious Commentary first identifies the sources of EU pensions law and how EU law directly and indirectly affects pension rights, before considering the legislative background and articles of the IORP II Directive. Finally, it investigates important EU pension law issues, such as the mobility of EU workers and the protection of Pillar 2 employee pension rights.

This book provides an in-depth guide to conducting international arbitration proceedings efficiently and effectively, drawing on Yves Derains' specialist experience. It explores the necessary qualities of successful international arbitrators, and covers the various phases of arbitration proceedings, from the appointment of the arbitrators to the issuing of the award.

This comprehensive book offers conceptual, legal and socio-legal insights into the relationship between constitutional traditions and constitutional transitions, as well as a comparative assessment of the two. It explores their impact on national constitutional orders and their implications for the multilevel constitutionalism of the EU.

This timely book evaluates the advantages and challenges of adopting pay transparency legislation (PTL) to address the ongoing issues of the gender pay gap. Chapters contextually examine whether PTL can help reduce the gender pay gap and discuss which factors should be considered to potentially boost the effects of this legal intervention.

This Research Handbook tackles the intersecting crises of biodiversity loss and climate change from a legal perspective, delivering cutting edge insights into the evolution of these laws, and their shortfalls and opportunities. Experts critically analyse international and regional laws and institutions that were designed to protect biodiversity.

This insightful Research Handbook addresses whether international, national and regional laws are able to address the challenges plastics pose. Expert contributors demonstrate that many laws on this topic are fragmented, and advocate for the development of systemic approaches which engage a broad range of actors to ensure effective regulation moving forward.

This book provides a timely analysis of the limitations of existing international legal frameworks for solving the problem of marine litter. Ho Jeong Dan expertly examines international law principles related to allocating responsibility for marine litter and proposes a plan to combat the issue effectively.

This thoroughly revised second edition provides an advanced analysis of EU criminal law as a structurally and constitutionally distinct policy area and field of research. EU criminal law is one of the fastest evolving and most challenging fields of law and this Research Handbook contains new and substantially updated chapters to assess recent legislative developments and CJEU case law.

Analyzing the intricacies of international civil litigation, this book explores the rules and practices, as well as the differences and conflicts, that occur in this important area of law. Grihobou Roland Nombre focuses his examination on the U.S. Supreme Court and the Hague Evidence Convention.

From the earliest days of the movies, filmmakers have turned to the courtroom for stories because it is an ideal setting for both drama and comedy. Fans of those courtroom movies can turn to Reel Justice for a verdict on both recent and classic courtroom films. More about Reel Justice Informative and entertaining, Reel Justice rates trial scenes in films on a one-to-four-gavel scale, with four being a classic and one being "ask for a new trial." Authors Paul Bergman and Michael Asimow, both accomplished law professionals, discuss the cultural messages encoded in the films, point out what went right and wrong in scenes where liberties were taken, and even answer a few legal questions along the way.

The courtroom, like the movie theater, is an arena for the telling and interpreting of stories. Investigators piece them together, witnesses tell them, advocates retell them, and judges and juries assess their plausibility. These narratives reconstitute absent events through words, and their filming constitutes a double narrative: one important cultural practice rendered in the terms of another.  Drawing on both film studies and legal scholarship, David A. Black explores the implications of representing court procedure, as well as other phases of legal process, in film. His study ranges from an inquiry into the common metaphorical linking film and law, explored through "detective" and "witness" to a critical survey of legal writings; analysis of key law films..

*Packed with black letter law, dozens of exam study tips, useful Internet links and other valuable resources for law students, legal movie trivia and other interesting nuggets *Geared toward law students, but entertaining and straightforward enough for anyone REVIEWS: Alan M. Dershowitz, Esq., Felix Frankfurter Professor, Harvard Law: "

Described by Richard Sherwin of New York Law School as the law and film movement's 'founding text', this text is a second, heavily revised and improved edition of the original Film and the Law (Cavendish Publishing, 2001). The book is distinctive in a number of ways: it is unique as a sustained book-length exposition on law and film by law scholars; it is distinctive within law and film scholarship in its attempt to plot the parameters of a distinctive genre of law films; its examination of law in film as place and space offers a new way out of the law film genre problem, and also offers an examination of representations of an aspect of legal practice, and legal institutions, that have not been addressed by other scholars.

What choices--creative, practical, and technical--make a movie what it is? Here a gifted writer and filmmaker takes us behind the camera and provides a full description of the movie-making process.When John Sayles turned from writing fiction to making movies, he did so with little help from Hollywood: Return of the Secaucus Seven, Sayles's first movie as director and writer, was produced with 60,000 of his own money. Many films later, he still works outside the studio system and guides every phase of his productions.Now Sayles has written an illuminating book about the complex choices that lie at the heart of every movie.

This topical book offers a comprehensive examination of the legal framework behind the tokenised economy, illustrating the business applications of blockchain and distributed-ledger technologies. Conducting a thorough analysis of the different taxonomies of crypto assets, Riccardo de Caria focuses on a range of legal areas.

This timely book puts forward a novel understanding of the ongoing relationship between the law, regulation, technology and science with the goal of helping to mitigate and adapt to the severe environmental and societal impacts of climate change.

Written by a leading expert in the field, this book builds upon three decades of experience and legal research to provide a comprehensive exposition of the regulatory framework applied to Air Navigation Services (ANS). Schubert sets out the regulations that States are required to establish in order to support the safety and efficiency of international civil aviation.