New Books in the TRU Law Library

This innovative new work presents a succinct overview of the central issues in the global semiconductor sector. It provides a detailed analysis of the law regulating semiconductors, drawing comparisons between the UK and jurisdictions in Asia, the EU, and the US.

This timely book argues that long-term recovery and sustainability for municipalities in financial distress requires a modularly tailored decision-making process, incorporating environmental, social, and governance (ESG) considerations.

This Research Handbook explores the interactions between law and time, demonstrating how both are pivotal in the organization of human activities, including legal proceedings and societal functions.

This authoritative Commentary presents a comprehensive analysis of two essential model laws: the UNCITRAL Model Law on Cross-Border Insolvency (MLCBI) and the UNCITRAL Model Law on Recognition and Enforcement of Insolvency-Related Judgments (MLIJ), which aim to harmonize cross-border insolvency law.

Bringing together an international array of legal scholars, this discerning Research Handbook provides a comparative analysis of civil procedure law. Chapters examine the rules that dictate how a civil dispute is initiated, processed, decided and enforced in a court of law, comparing each aspect of the procedure across continents including Asia, Europe and the Americas.

'Hard times is a scalar description that can cover a wide range of states of affairs, from the erosion of "rule of law" legal and institutional settings to new challenges for the judiciary, such as the supranational practice of judging or political and social polarisation.

Dignity is seen, commonly, as an ethical obligation owed to human persons. The dimensions of this obligation are subject to wide discussion and defy universal agreement. Dignity is seen, commonly, as an ethical obligation owed to human persons. Dignity as a Human Right? examines dignity within the prism of death, and more particularly, its humane and dignified management.

Includes bibliographical references and index.

This thought-provoking book details the national security lies told by presidents of the United States throughout history, both to Congress and to the public. Tung Yin explains how current laws do not set up sufficient prevention measures and proposes legislative reform to regulate such lies.

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in each area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. This Research Agenda provides fresh insights into fundamental issues within EU copyright law.

This Research Handbook presents an in-depth examination of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Contributing authors dissect the global governance functions of the ICJ and its impact on national legal orders worldwide.

This timely book explores how Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Big Data contribute to the evaluation of the rule of law (covering legal arrangements, empirical legal research, law and technology, and international law), and social and economic development programs in both industrialized and developing countries.