Skip to main content

APA Citation Style Guide

Live Help

Chat loading...

Journal Articles

Journal Article - Print

Template:

Author, A. A. (year). Title of article. Title of Periodical. volume(issue), page range.

Reference:

Ukala, C. C., & Agabi, O. G. (2017). Linking early childhood education with Indigenous education using gamification: The case of maintaining cultural value and identity. Journal Of International Education Research, 13(1), 17-26.

 

Journal Article - Online

Template:

With a DOI (A Digital Object Identifier is a string of numbers and/or letters that uniquely identifies a book or article):

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume (issue), page range. doi:xxxxxxxxx

OR

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume (issue), page range. http:// dx.doi.org/xxxxxxxxx

 

Without a DOI , the citation ends with the URL of the journal's website, even if you actually retrieved the article through a database. 

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume (issue), page range. Retrieved from http://...

 

Reference:

DOI:

Simons, M., Bernaards, C., & Slinger, J. (2012). Active gaming in Dutch adolescents: A descriptive study. The International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity, 9(1), 118-128. doi:10.1186/1479-5868-9-118

OR

Simons, M., Bernaards, C., & Slinger, J. (2012). Active gaming in Dutch adolescents: A descriptive study. The International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity, 9(1), 118-128. http:// dx.doi.org/10.1186/1479-5868-9-118

Without DOI:

Sidani, S., & Epstein, D. (2003). Enhancing the evaluation of nursing care effectiveness. Canadian Journal Of Nursing Research, 35(3), 26-38. Retrieved from http://www.ingentaconnect.com

Magazine Articles

Magazine Article - Print

Template:

 

Author, A. A. (Year, Month). Title of article: Subtitle of article.  Title of Magazine, volume (issue), page range.

Reference:

 

Randler, C. (2010, July). The early bird really does get the worm. Harvard Business Review, 88(7/8), 30-31.

Magazine Article - Online

Tip:

  • If you view a magazine article online, or from a database, you will need to include the URL of the magazine's home page in your reference. 

Template:

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Magazine, volume (issue), page range. Retrieved from http://...

Reference:

Earley, P. C., & Mosakowski, E. (2004, Oct). Cultural intelligence. Harvard Business Review, 82(10), 139. Retrieved from https://hbr.org/

Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Article - Print

Template:

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Newspaper, p. x.

Reference:

Kahn, S. (2013, February 28). Beyond tolerance lies true respect. The Globe and Mail, p. A.15.

 

Newspaper Article - Online

Tip:

  • If you view a newspaper article online, or from a database, you will need to include the URL of the newspaper's home page in your reference. 

Template:

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from http://...

Reference:

Khan, S. (2013, February 28). Beyond tolerance lies true respect. The Globe and Mail. Retrieved from http://www.globeandmail.com

 

If an article is only available through a database (i.e. when the newspaper is no longer being published and so does not have a website) give the name of the database and the accession number of the article (or whatever unique number the database has assigned to the article), or database URL if there is no accession number.

Reference:

Rothenburger, M. (2014, January 11). We thought it would last forever. Kamloops Daily News. Retrieved from LexisNexis database: www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic