A permalink (short for permanent link) to a library resource is a stable, long-lasting URL that links directly to a specific item in a library’s collection, such as an article, eBook, database entry, or streaming video. The process of creating these permanent links varies database to database. You can find processes by clicking on the vendor or database name using the left navigation menu.
Thompson Rivers University Library provides access to a wide range of subscription databases and online journals. These licensed resources are intended for research, teaching, and educational use only—not for commercial purposes. Users may typically print or download articles for personal use and share links to journal content on Moodle. For detailed licensing terms, please refer to the “More Information” section available for each resource in our Database A–Z list.
For questions or help with persistent links, contact the library.
Harvard Business Review has particularly restrictive licensing terms that supersede standard fair dealing provisions. If you plan to direct students to HBR articles, please consult your Subject Librarian for guidance on copyright compliance.
Please note:
OpenAthens will be our new authentication method for accessing the library's licensed resources, such as journals, e-books, streaming video, and databases. For more information, see our Connecting to Library Resources with OpenAthens guide.
If you’re embedding links to library resources in your Moodle courses or other materials, ensure they are compatible with OpenAthens. For links sourced from the Library's Discovery Service, you can revisit the resource and, starting May 5, regenerate the link. The updated link will automatically be OpenAthens-compatible. Alternatively, you can email your reading list, including existing links and bibliographic details, to library@tru.ca, and we’ll take care of it for you.
