Research Guides: Business & Economics Statistics: Canadian Statistics

Live Help

Key Canadian Statistics

Statistics by Subject (Statistics Canada)
CANSIM
Census of Canada
Find the most recent census data by topic, including: labour, income & earnings, place of work, education, age, gender, education, ethnicity etc.
Historical Statistics of Canada
This electronic document contains about 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s. The statistical tables can only be viewed with Excel or another spreadsheet program.

Conference Board of Canada

Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.

Canada Year Book by Statistics Canada
An excellent reference source about the Canadian economy and society. The TRU Library has a fairly complete set of the Canada Year Book from 1867 to the present. It is divided into 4 sections: the land, the people, the economy and the nation (political & legal system). It is also a good source of general statistics on Canada.

Business and Economic Statistical Sources by Subject

Bank of Canada

daily rates for the past 60 days; weekly rates for the past 60 weeks; monthly rates for the past 60 months, downloadable.
Bank Rate, prime rate, mortgage, GIC's, etc. changes, 10+ years, downloadable.
select Treasury Bills Yields to obtain daily, weekly and monthly yields for 1 month, 3 month, 6 month and 1 year bills.
click on Selected Historical Interest Rates for monthly bank rates (1935 - ) and average yields for 3- (Mr.1934- ) and 6-month (May 1959- ) treasury bill auctions (pdfs).

CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Provides access to the Canadian Censuses, the Agricultural Censuses, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, environmental data, Elections Canada data, and the time series in CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System).

search for "interest rates" as an exact phrase.

Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy. Insolvency Statistics
- Monthly, quarterly and annual statistics on bankruptcies and proposals.
- Provincial and national statistics.
- Most recent 4+ years.

Conference Board of Canada

Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.

Business Outlook Series
The survey's purpose is to gather the perspectives of these businesses on topics of interest to the Bank of Canada (such as demand and capacity pressures) and their forward-looking views on economic activity. Quarterly, 1977 -.
Business Barometer
CFIB survey of SME (small and medium-sized enterprises) business business expectations.
Includes details by region and major industry sector.

FP Markets : Canadian Demographics
Call Number: HC 111 .F52 (Storage)

Provides estimated statistics for population, households, retail sales, language, labour force, occupations, schooling, housing, income, marital status. Includes data on 76 economic regions, 288 census divisions, 33 metropolitan areas, 111 census agglomerations, 692 census subdivisions, plus Canada, the provinces and territories.

Canadian Foreign Post Indexes
"These indexes are calculated to establish and adjust the Post Living Allowance (PLA) paid to Canadian government employees serving outside of Canada. They are comparative measurements that numerically express the difference between the retail prices of a representative basket of goods and services at a foreign location with prices for a similar basket of goods and services in Ottawa."

Public and private capital and repair investments/expenditures in Canada
"capital and repair expenditures on construction and on machinery and equipment for divisions and industries at the Canada level and by division at the provincial level. The report also provides the split between private and public investment. The tabulations focus on capital spending intentions for the coming year, preliminary estimates of actual investment for the current year and the actual investment for the previous year."

Conference Board of Canada
Search "Index of Consumer Confidence". This publication is constructed from responses to four attitudinal questions posed to a random sample of Canadian households.

Canadian Price Index, by Subject (Statistics Canada)
- Includes provinces and major urban areas.
- Urban areas: data for the latest 2 months and most recent 5 years, all items only.
- Provinces and national level: data by major component (i.e. shelter, food, transportation, clothing, recreation/education, health, alcohol/tobacco) for the latest 2 months and the most recent 5 years.
- Historical summary (national level onlly - all items) - 20 years of data.
Canadian Price Indexes (CANSIM)
Tables can be manipulated and downloaded.
Consumer Price Index
This is a monthly publication for Canada, the provinces, Whitehorse and Yellowknife, provides a descriptive summary of retail price movements, inflation rates and the factors underlying them.

Census of Canada
Find the most recent census data by topic, including: labour, income & earnings, place of work, education, age, gender, education, ethnicity etc.
Quarterly Demographic Estimates
This publication presents quarterly estimates of population for Canada, provinces and territories as well as statistics on the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and interprovincial migration, the latter by origin and destination.

Business Council of British Columbia
BC Labour Market Outlook
The British Columbia Labour Market Scenario Model examines the possible future state of supply and demand in the labour market for 140 occupations. Two sets of models are used to generate indicators of possible future demand and supply by occupation.

Conference Board of Canada
Conference Board of Canada produces quarterly economic forecasts for Canada as a whole, the provinces, cities as well as the U.S. - Browse by Topic, then, Economic Trends

- Banks release statements/reports on economic forecast

Statistical Report on International Assistance
The Statistical Report on International Assistance presents a comprehensive and detailed account of Canadian international assistance in 2010-2011.

Corporations Returns Act Report
A "national profile of foreign control in the Canadian corporate economy, examining financial and ownership information on corporations conducting business in Canada."

Bank of Canada
Monthly averages and daily exchange rates for past 10 years, (downloadable) and currency converter
Pacific Exchange Rate Service
Covers 81 currencies. Downloadable.
Exchange Rates Between the US and 40 countries
Start dates vary, earliest U.K. 1791, next earliest 1913. Canada back to 1913.

Gross domestic product tables, by subject
Gross Domestic Product tables, CANSIM
Indexes of labour productivity, unit labour cost and related variables, seasonally adjusted
- implicit price deflator
Gross Domestic Product by Industry. Detailed tables from CANSIM (Statistics Canada)
Income and Expenditure Accounts
- gross national income, gross domestic income, gross national product

National Balance Sheet Accounts, financial indicators, households and non-profit institutions serving households
Table 378-0123. CANSIM. Statistics Canada
The Current State of Canadian Family Finances
Family Finances program produces an annual report on family incomes, expenditures, savings and debt trends.
Household Debt in Canada
Component of Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 75-001-X
Perspectives on Labour and Income Series.

Average Household Expenditure
Housing and dwelling characteristics - Statistics Canada. Scroll through the list of tables to find average household expenditure by province & territory and household type, as well as average household food expenditure by province and territory.
Survey of household spending (SHS), household spending, Canada, regions and provinces
Statistics Canada. CANSIM Table 203-0021
Survey of household spending (SHS), household spending, by household type
Survey of Household Spending, complete listing
Income, pensions, spending and wealth

Income Statistics and GST/HST Statistics
- annual profiles of Canadian taxpayers income.
- includes income by age and sex at the provincial level.
Household, family and personal income
Statistics Canada.CANSIM
Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID) - A Survey Overview
Income and Housing (National Household Survey 2011)
Overview
2011 National Household Survey: Data tables
Tables available in HTML format or Beyond 20/20 format (see: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/public/beyond20-20)

Industry Price Indexes
- select Browse Issue Records

Bank of Canada - Inflation Calculator
U.S. Inflation Calculator
Measures the buying power of the U.S. dollar over time.
Measuring Worth: Six Ways to Compute the Relative Value of a U.S. Dollar Amount, 1774 to Present
Enter initial year in top field, then the amount, then final year in the third field.
Measures relative value of selected other currencies as well.

Balance of international payments (CANSIM - Statistics Canada)
- annual data from 1926, quarterly from Mar 1961.
- Canadian investment abroad and foreign direct investment in Canada, annual from 1987 on, quarterly from 2007 on
Canada's balance of international payments (Current account)
- annual data (latest 5 years)
Balance of Payments (Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada)
"Transactions between Canada and its main trading partners, including imports and exports of goods and services, direct investment inflows and outflows, and the current account balance."

Labour Market Projections
Working in Canada. Government of Canada.
• "projections of future labour demand and labour supply by broad skill level and by occupation, using the models of the Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS)."
Canadian Statistics : Labour
• Statistics on the labour force, labour relations, employment and unemployment.
Labour
CANSIM. Statistics Canada.
• employment, unemployment, wages, salaries and other earnings, hours, occupations, labour mobility, work absences, unionization.
Labour Force Information
• Provides current monthly labour market statistics. Employment, unemployment and labour force characteristics by province. Also includes selected labour force characteristics by metropolitan area.
Employment, Earnings and Hours
Statistics Canada.
• Estimated average weekly earnings and hours by by industry and province.
• Select Browse Issue Records to view individual issues.
• Ceased with October 2012 issue.
Wages, salaries and other earnings
CANSIM. Statistics Canada. Tables can be manipulated and downloaded
Collective bargaining information
Labour Program. Government of Canada.
Your source of customized information on industrial relations and collective bargaining.
Wage settlements
historical information on major wage settlements covering 500 or more employees by month, quarter, and year for all industries, in both the public and private sectors, and all jurisdictions.

Economic indicators, by province and territory
Summary table of: Statistics Canada, CANSIM, tables 176-0025, 176-0043, 176-0047 and 176-0064.
Economic indicators, by province and territory (CANSIM)
- Monthy and Quarterly. CANSIM tables
Economic Accounts, by Subject

Low Income Lines (Income Research Paper Series. Statistics Canada)
- low income cut-offs (LICOs), low income measures (LIMs) and the Market Basket Measure (MBM).
- scroll through the list of publications to locate the publications.
- Previous title: Low Income Cut-offs for ... and Low Income Measures for ... .
Low income and equality (CANSIM)
Tables can be manipulated and downloaded

CIBC Metropolitan Economic Activity Index
Using 9 key macroeconomic variables, CIBC has developed a metropolitan index of economic activity, which is structured in a way that approximates the change in each city's level of economic activity. The focus is on the 25 largest CMAs in Canada.

Exchange rates, interest rates, money supply and stock prices
Summary Tables. Statistics Canada
Chartered bank assets and liabilities and monetary aggregates, monthly average, seasonally adjusted
CANSIM. Table 176-0025. Statistics Canada
Credit measures
CANSIM. Table 176-0032. Statistics Canada

Pension plans and funds and other retirement income programs, by subject
- most recent data on registered pension plans (approx. 2 years old)
- includes proportion of workers covered by a registered pension plan and registered pension plan members by type of plan, sector, funding instrument and employment.
Statistics related to the Old Age Security Program and the Canada Pension Plan
rates for the Canada Pension Plan, Quebec Pension Plan, Old Age Security, Guaranteed Income Supplement, etc.
Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP)
CANSIM. Tables 111-0039 to 111-0041. Statistics Canada. Tables can be manipulated and downloaded.

Canadian Economic Observer
Statistics Canada publication. Publication ceased in 2012.
- Table 5.2; quarterly, latest 12 quarters; annual, latest 2 years.
- Table 5.6; per person - quarterly, latest 9 quarters; annual, most recent 4 years.
Economic indicators, by province and territory
Summary table of: Statistics Canada, CANSIM, tables 176-0025, 176-0043, 176-0047 and 176-0064.

Interest Rates
Bank of Canada.
- Click on Canadian Interest Rates.
- daily rates for the past 60 days; weekly rates for the past 60 weeks; monthly rates for the past 60 months, downloadable.
- Bank Rate, prime rate, mortgage, GIC's, etc. changes, 10+ years, downloadable.
- select Treasury Bills Yields to obtain daily, weekly and monthly yields for 1 month, 3 month, 6 month and 1 year bills.
- click on Selected Historical Interest Rates for monthly bank rates (1935 - ) and average yields for 3- (Mr.1934- ) and 6-month (May 1959- ) treasury bill auctions (pdfs).
CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Provides access to the Canadian Censuses, the Agricultural Censuses, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, environmental data, Elections Canada data, and the time series in CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System).

Estimates of Labour, Capital and Multifactor Productivity by Province and Industry, 1997-2010
Income and Productivity Data, Centre for the Study of Living Standards
Capital, Labour and Total Factor Productivity Tables by Province, 1987-2006
Productivity Accounts
Statistics Canada

GNI, PPP
World Bank.
- "PPP GNI (formerly PPP GNP) is gross national income (GNI) converted to international dollars using purchasing power parity rates"
- Start dates vary by country, earliest 1980.
GlobalEDGE
Purchasing power parities for gross domestic product (GDP), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries
CANSIM. Table 380-0037. Statistics Canada
Tables can be manipulated and downloaded.

Industry Price Indexes
- select Browse Issue Records

Labour Force Information
Includes tables on employment by class of worker (public, private and self-employed).
Labour force survey estimates (LFS), employment by class of worker, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and sex
Table 282-0012. CANSIM. Statistics Canada
Self-Employment, Historical Summary
Statistics Canada. latest 25+ years; annual

Income Statistics and GST/HST Statistics
- Canada Revenue Agency - data on individual and corporate tax returns - individual data found in Final Statistics (number of returns filed by gender and age, source of income, capital gains income, registered pension plan contributions, self employment, child care expenses) - provincial data - latest data (preliminary statistics) is 2 years old.
Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises
Taxable income, taxes and tax credits by industry - balance sheet and income statement.
[Government] Revenues and Expenditures
Consolidated (federal, provincial/territorial and local government), federal, provincial and local government (by province) tax revenues, including revenue from income tax.

Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database
The Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) online database offers detailed trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level). Select a trading partner and specific variables (e.g., country, province, state, year, month, or frequency) or search by commodity or Harmonized System code.
International Trade
CANSIM. Statistics Canada. Tables can be manipulated and downloaded.
Trade Data Online (TDO)
Trade Data provides custom-based statistics on international trade in goods. Customized reports of Canadian and U.S. trade with over 200 countries. Includes provincial data.
Trade Investment and Economic Statistics
- service and merchandise trade data, includes provincial data.
Canada's Trade and Investment Performance
The State of Trade document is the Department's report card on the performance of our economy. This comprehensive document reviews and analyzes the key developments in Canada’s international trade and investment performance against the background of economic trends at home and abroad

Giving & Volunteering
Research and Impact, Imagine Canada. - Factsheets, reports, presentations and training materials based on the data collected by the Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating.
- Includes provincial and territorial breakdowns.
Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Tables Report
Data from the 2010 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating
Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Highlights from the Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating
Statistics Canada, 1997, 2000, 2006, 2009
Generosity Index of Canada and the US
Search "generosity index". From the Fraser Institute.
Report of the National Seniors Council on Volunteering Among Seniors and Positive and Active Aging
The National Seniors Council - 2010

Wages, salaries and other earnings
CANSIM. Statistics Canada. Tables can be manipulated and downloaded
Wages, salaries and other earnings (Summary Tables)
Labour Force Information
Average usual hours and wages (weekly & hourly) of employees by age and sex, union coverage, job permanency and occupation group. Monthly 2002 -

Work Absence Rates
This document contains a breakdown of absences from work for personal reasons (illness or disability and personal or family responsibilities) by various demographic and labour market characteristics. Only full-time employees have been considered in this analysis.

Work Stoppages
- Monthly.
- Labour Program. Government of Canada
- Current information on all major strikes and lockouts involving 500 or more employee
Person-days not worked in Canada as a result of work stoppages, by industry based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and region, monthly
Historical provincial and national data by industry. Data for years 1946 - 2016

Provincial Statistics

BC Economic Accounts: BC Statistics
Also note that since January 2006, Statistics Canada has posted a System of National Accounts module providing free access to economic accounts information. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/nea-cen/index-eng.htm
Consumer Price Index: BC Statistics
Monthly and historical consumer price indexes for Canada, British Columbia, Vancouver and Victoria. Also includes price trends for categories of commodoties such as food, shelter and clothing
Economic Research & Market Studies: Western Economic Diversification Canada
Find recent research about innovation, business development, community economic development, economic research, trade and investment in Western Canada.
Labour Force Statistics: BC Statistics
Monthly summary of labour force statistics including: employment and unemployment by age, gender, occupation and industry, with a breakdown for Development Regions, Metropolitan Vancouver and Victoria. Also includes comparative data for Canada and the provinces for the previous month and year.
Tourism Indicators: Destination BC
Find monthly BC tourism data including customs entries, provincial and regional room revenue, commercial restaurant receipts, provincial and regional occupancy and average daily room rates, visitor centres, regional airports, ferries, and conference centres.

Local Statistics

Census Profiles
A great place to get a snapshot for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, census tracts and health regions. The profile includes characteristics such as population, age, sex, dwellings, families, marital status and language.
City of Kamloops: Neighbourhood Plans
As well as the City's official Kamplan, find neighbourhood plans for: Aberdeen, Batchelor Hills, City Center, Juniper West, McGill, Mt. Dufferin, Westsyde and more.
City of Kamloops: Maps
PDF maps of neighbourhoods, parks, trails, cemetaries, traffic and parking. As well, an interactive mapping application where you can create a custom map of property, utilities and facilities.
Sub-Provincial Population Estimates
On an annual basis, BC Stats releases total population estimates for 190 municipalities and unincorporated areas, 29 regional districts and eight development regions located in B.C. These estimates are consistent in aggregate with the Statistics Canada produced annual (July 1) provincial level totals.
Thompson Rivers University: Institutional Planning & Effectiveness
Find enrollment statistics, institutional reports and other data about Thompson Rivers University.
Venture Kamloops
Venture Kamloops is the marketing and economic development arm of the City of Kamloops. Find information about tourism, education, transportation, demographics, housing & taxation etc.
TNRD Mapping Services & GIS
Static PDF maps and an interactive mapping application available.