Research Guides: Indigenous Studies: Statistics & Data

Sources of Statistics and Data

In Canada, the collection of data pertaining to Aboriginal Peoples pre-dates Confederation, and over time, the language used to describe Aboriginal peoples has shifted, including at various points in time: Indian, Native, Aboriginal and First Nations. These changes are bound up in broader social, political, and historical contexts, and are connected to how the state has defined and counted "Aboriginal persons" in past and present times.

2006 Aboriginal Childrens Survey
The Aboriginal Children's Survey (which was completed just once before being discontinued) was designed to provide a picture of the early development of Aboriginal children and the social and living conditions in which they are learning and growing. The survey provides an extensive set of data about Aboriginal (Métis, Inuit, and off-reserve First Nations) children under six years of age in urban, rural, and northern locations across Canada.
2006 Aboriginal Population Profile
Statistics Canada data from the 2006 Census of Canada. Searchable by place-name or province.
2016 Census of Canada: Aboriginal Population Profiles for Selected Cities & Communities
Statistics Canada: HTML or PDF city & community profiles.
2011: Aboriginal Peoples in Canada: First Nations People, Métis and Inuit
Statistics Canada summary of Census and NHS data on Aboriginal peoples in Canada.
2011 NHS Aboriginal Household Profile
Search by placename for statistics about Aboriginal Identity populations from the voluntary National Household Survey (NHS).
Indigenous Services Canada
Statistics and Measurement Directorate is the focal point of contact within Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) for demographic and socio-economic statistics on Aboriginal peoples and Northerners. Searchable by subject, title, and date
Aboriginal Peoples Survey
The Aboriginal Peoples Survey is a national survey of Aboriginal peoples (First Nations peoples living off-reserve, Métis and Inuit) living in urban, rural and northern locations throughout Canada. The survey provides valuable data on the social and economic conditions of Aboriginal children and youth (6-14 years) and Aboriginal people (15 years and over).
Aboriginal Statistics at a Glance
Thematic guide to Aboriginal data at Statistics Canada. Includes links to data sets by topic.
The Atlas of Canada: Aboriginal Population 2006
Natural Resources Canada maps of Aboriginal identity (persons who identified as North American Indian (First Nations people), Métis or Inuit).
Historical Statistics of Canada
more...less...
Refer to tables A125-163 for the "Native Indian and Inuit (Eskimo)" population for 1871, 1881, 1901, 1911, 1921, 1931, 1941, 1951 1961, and 1971.
The Atlas of Canada: Languages
Natural Resources Canada: population maps by language, including Aboriginal languages.
Canada Year Book
Summary data on Aboriginal peoples in Canada. The historical collection also provides enrollment counts from residential schools.
First Nation Profiles: Interactive Map
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada: utilizes First Nations Community Profiles data.
Inuit Nunangat Map
by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.
Juristat
Browse by subject: Use Aboriginal
Statistics Canada Homepage: Aboriginal Peoples

Indigenous Studies

Live Help

Sources of Statistics and Data