The Informit Indigenous Collection provides access to emergent and groundbreaking research within the global community. This database will benefit professionals and researchers involved with Indigenous issues including anthropologists, archaeologists, people working in government departments, health services, legal services, as well as Aboriginal land councils and other Indigenous organisations. [Publisher's description]
Call Number: E 92 .W467 2017 c.2 LAW and E 92 .W467 2017 Main Library and Williams Lake Library Stacks and ONLINE at https://fpse.ca/sites/default/files/news_files/Decolonization%20Handbook.pdf
Whose Land Is It Anyway? A Manual for Decolonization; inspired by a 2016 speaking tour by Arthur Manuel, less than a year before his untimely passing in January 2017. The book contains two essays from Manuel, described as the Nelson Mandela of Canada, and essays from renowned Indigenous writers Taiaiake Alfred, Glen Coulthard, Russell Diabo, Beverly Jacobs, Melina Laboucan-Massimo, Kanahus Manuel, Jeffrey McNeil-Seymour, Pamela Palmater, Shiri Pasternak, Nicole Schabus, Senator Murray Sinclair, and Sharon Venne.
Shelly Johnson, Canada Research Chair in Indigenizing Higher Education and Associate Professor at TRU, describes her research and provides a bibliography and other resources on indigenizing higher education.
Database. Spans nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
First Peoples: A Guide for Newcomers aims to fill the need for clear
information in simple language about the First Peoples in Vancouver. It
introduces newcomers to three important topics: who are Aboriginal
people (or First Peoples) in Vancouver and Canada; a brief overview of
the relationship between the Government of Canada and First Peoples;
and current initiatives and ways for newcomers to learn more
about Aboriginal people in the community.-- Introduction.