Skip to main content

AskAway Policy Page

TRU Library AskAway Policy Page

Library Homepage http://www.tru.ca/library
Mobile site coming soon!
General Information
Library Branches

http://www.tru.ca/library/services/collections.html

Main Library (Humanities & Social Sciences Collections)
House of Learning (Nursing, Science & Technology Collections)
Law Library (Law Collections... fob access to Law students/faculty only)
Williams Lake Campus Library (serves the Williams Lake campus)

Library Hours http://www.tru.ca/library/hours.html
Library Policies

Computer use, Food & Drink, Noise, Collections, Noise: http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us/policies.html

Library Floor Plans

Main Library - first floor : http://www.tru.ca/__shared/assets/mainfirstfloor30074.pdf

Main Library - second floor : http://www.tru.ca/__shared/assets/mainlibrarysecond30075.pdf

House of Learning Library : http://www.tru.ca/__shared/assets/House_of_Learning_Library30076.pdf

Group Study Rooms http://libguides.tru.ca/groupstudyrooms
Circulation/ Checkout/ Loans Phone Numbers http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us.html
Reference Desk Phone Numbers http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us.html
Text service n/a
Email Address for Reference Questions

Online form: https://www.tru.ca/forms/library/reference/email_reference/

or Contact Liaison Librarians: https://www.tru.ca/library/about_us/liaisons.html

Resources and Services  
Catalogue

"Books & Media" tab on our homepage: http://www.tru.ca/library

Direct access to the catalogue is: http://library.tru.ca/uhtbin/webcat

* Truncation symbol: $ (a dollar symbol, not an asterisk)

Library Search EDS (which we call "Discover") is our default search on our homepage. http://www.tru.ca/library
Indexes & Databases

"Databases" tab on our homepage gives a listing of all of our databases & indexes.  Direct link is: http://www.tru.ca/library

Google Scholar (going through our proxy): http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://scholar.google.ca

Database/eResource Authentication

Logins are case sensitive. 

Username: T000 followed by 8 digits

PIN: Your network password (case-sensitive)

Proxy information: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/proxy.html

If that doesn't work, see help from IT Services: http://www.tru.ca/its/students/passwords.html

TRU Digital Collections TRUSpace - TRU's Institutional Repository http://tru.arcabc.ca/
Subject Guides All guides: http://libguides.tru.ca/
Citation Guides Local Citation Guides: http://libguides.tru.ca/sb.php?subject_id=3534
Citation formatting help

Liaison Librarians : http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us/liaisons.html

Writing Centre: http://www.tru.ca/writingcentre.html

Instruction

Workshops, instructional classes http://tru.ca.libcal.com/calendar/events/?cid=1911&t=d&d=0000-00-00&cal%5B%5D=1911&cal%5B%5D=1914&cal%5B%5D=1915

On campus faculty information: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/faculty/libraryinstruction.html or contact your Liaison Librarian: http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us/liaisons.html

Distance, Regional, or Open Learning students & faculty: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/distance.html

List of Librarians Liaison Librarians : http://www.tru.ca/library/about_us/liaisons.html
Reserves

Reserves are found using the "Course Reserves" tab on the library homepage: http://www.tru.ca/library

Description of reserve service, including links to the online forms for faculty http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing/reserves.html

Interlibrary Loans Description of service: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing/ill.html

Online forms at: http://www.tru.ca/library/forms.html

ILL form uses a different username/login information:

Username: T000 followed by 8 digits

Password: YYMMDD (birthdate, digits only)

Ejournals and Print Journals

All journals (electronic or in print) are our "Journals" tab on our homepage: http://www.tru.ca/library.html

Print journals are indicated by "View TRU's holding for this title" which is linked to the catalogue record.as the call number - this way telling the user which library to go to.  Journals are shelved alphabetically by title.  Journals are not assigned call numbers.

Bound and Microfilmed journals sit with the print journals.

Technical help

Library issues: Please fill out the feedback form: https://www.tru.ca/forms/library/feedback/index.php

Other IT issues: 

On campus help for students: http://www.tru.ca/its/labs.html
On campus help for faculty: http://www.tru.ca/its/hdesk.html

E-resources emergency contact Please fill out the feedback form: https://www.tru.ca/forms/library/feedback/index.php
Borrowing information  
Library Cards

On campus students & faculty are issued a Campus ID card. That card doubles as a library card.

On campus students & faculty  (accounts expire every August 31): http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html

Distance, Regional, or Open Learning (accounts expire 1x/year - must fill out online form to reactivate): A card is not issued. Distance, Regional & Open Learning users must call: 250-852-6402 or toll free: 1-800-663-1699 or email: distancelib@tru.ca


TRU is a member of COPPUL. TRU users who want a COPPUL card should be referred to:

On campus students & faculty: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/reciprocalborrowing.html
Distance, Regional, or Open Learning users must call: 250-852-6402 or toll free: 1-800-663-1699 or email: distancelib@tru.ca

Loan Periods http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html
Recalls and Holds

Holds: http://libguides.tru.ca/holds
Recalls: http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html (see Recalls)
Trace items missing from shelf (not checked out): http://libguides.tru.ca/trace
Library catalogue cannot place holds on items that have multiple volumes. Users must contact their campus reference desk to have a hold placed for them.

Library catalogue cannot place holds on items with multiple copies and where one copy is already out. Users must contact their campus reference desk to have a hold placed for them.

Kamloops Campus Library:
Main Library: (250) 828-5306
House of Learning Library: (250) 828-5310
Williams Lake Campus Library: (250) 392-8030

Transfer book to/from Williams Lake/Law Library

Users are to the the "Holds" service to get a book between branches.

Holds: http://libguides.tru.ca/holds

Renewals of Library Accounts

Policy:
http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html (See Loan Lengths, Renewals, and Late Charges)

Link to renew materials online: http://library.tru.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi/0/0/0/29/491/X/3

Items obtained through Interlibrary Loans are exempt from renewing

Fines/Penalites

Policy:
http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html (See Loan Lengths, Renewals, and Late Charges)


Fines can be paid in person or over the phone (Circulation Desk)

Borrowing Policies http://www.tru.ca/library/services/borrowing.html
Library Account Information http://library.tru.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi/0/0/0/29/489/X/1
Equipment & Facilties  
Internet/Wireless Access

Wireless: http://www.tru.ca/its/students/wireless.html

* Students must log in to the computers using their network account.
* Printers are double as wireless printers

 Williams Lake Campus:

  • full internet access. Student card # and library PIN for logging in.
Photocopiers & Printers

* Printing policy: No cost. Bring your own paper

Photocopiers charge 10 cents per page.

Photocopiers double as scanners - and they scan to email for free.

Ask for help at the checkout desk.

Scanners

Photocopiers double as scanners - and they scan to email for free.

Ask for help at the checkout desk.

Microfiche/Microfilm Main Library, House of Learning Library and the Williams Lake Campus Library all have microfilm/microfiche reader/printers
Computer Labs http://www.tru.ca/its/students/labs.html
Campus Information  
Academic Calendar http://www.tru.ca/calendar.html
Important dates & deadlines http://www.tru.ca/campus/current/dates.html
Class Timetable https://banssbprod.tru.ca/banprod/bwckschd.p_disp_dyn_sched
Exam Schedule http://www.tru.ca/campus/current/exam-schedule.html
Campus Map http://www.tru.ca/campus/visit/maps.html
Campus Web site map http://www.tru.ca/sitemap.html
Other Resources  
AskAway Local Administrator

Katherine Watmough (primary) - kwatmough@tru.ca

Kathy Gaynor (backup) - kgaynor@tru.ca

RefWorks http://libguides.tru.ca/citationmanagement/refworks