Skip to main content

Library Fall 2020 Services

Live Help

Chat loading...

Fall 2020 update

Fall 2020: Updates on TRU Library Services and Operations

Over the summer the TRU Library relocated all operations from the Main Library building into the Brown Family House of Learning.  From the House of Learning and our two branch locations (Law and Williams Lake), TRU Library is committed to supporting the teaching and research needs of students, faculty, and staff. Learn more about how your TRU librarians can help you.

In addition to the full complement of online services offered throughout  the spring and summer of 2020, the Library is providing additional services to support the campus. Beginning September 8th, a Touchless Borrowing Service is available for physical items in the Library's collection. A Course Reading List Service  is now available to support faculty and instructors with providing student access to required and supplemental course readings.

Available & unavailable services

Available & unavailable services

TRU Library in the Brown Family House of Learning and the Law Library in Old Main are limited access facilities for Fall 2020 due to the  ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The following library services are available to all TRU students, faculty, and staff:

  • Touchless Borrowing Services – Use the "Request this Item" form appearing in any Discover search to request physical items from the Library collections 
  • Online Resources – Access ebooks, articles, and streaming video 24/7 using the Discover Search box
  • Book returns via book drop – The book drop in the House of Learning is available 10 am to 6 pm Monday to Friday. A little later in the fall we will also have an outside book drop available 24/7
  • Reserves, AV Equipment & Laptop Loans – Physical reserve items including AV equipment and laptops can be borrowed at the Hold Pickup Desk located on the 1st floor of the House of Learning between 10 am and 6 pm Monday through Friday and at the Williams Lake Campus Library Monday to Friday 9 am to 5 pm. Loan periods for books and AV materials are 1 day or 3 days. Loan periods for laptops and other equipment is one week
  • Course Reading List Service – TRU Library offers a Course Reading List Service.  This new service provides instructors and students with one single online access point for course reading materials while assuring copyright compliance 
  • Interlibrary Loan Services – Items not held by the TRU Library can be borrowed from other libraries using the ILL online request form. 
  • Online Library Assistance –  The Ask Away service is available 9 am to 9 pm Monday to Thursday, 9 am to 5 pm on Friday, 11 am to 5 pm on Saturday and 10 am to 9 pm on Sunday 
  • Subject Librarians Make an appointment with a librarian to get in depth research assistance. Learn more about your TRU librarians
  • Online Workshops – Library workshops will offered throughout the semester and will be posted under Events on the webpage
  • Study Space – Student study space is available:
    •  HOL 190 beginning September 14th. Hours of operation are Monday to Thursday 9 am-9 pm;  Friday 9 am-5 pm; Saturday & Sunday 10 am-4 pm. On campus meeting rooms are also available for booking 
    • The Williams Lake Library space is open for use Monday to Friday 9 am to 4:30 pm.

The following services will not be available due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic:

  • In person browsing of library physical collections in the House of Learning and Law Library. The Williams Lake physical collections can be browsed Monday to Friday 9 am  to 4:30 pm.
  • Access to the group study rooms, carrels, study tables, and computer workstations in the House of Learning and Law Library. However their are other rooms available outside of HOL On campus meeting rooms are also available for booking. The Williams Lake Library space is open for use Monday to Friday 9 am to 4:30 pm.
  • Face-to-face research assistance 
  • Face-to-face workshops and training 

Using the library from home

Using the library from home & Library support

Students:

Faculty:

Touchless borrowing services

Touchless borrowing services

TRU Library will be offering touchless borrowing services beginning September 8th, 2020. In the Library’s Discover search tool, a “Request this Item” link will appear in item records.

Chose the “Request this item” link to review the options available including:

  • Pickup at HOL pick up the item at Reserve/Hold Pickup Desk located on the main floor of the House of Learning between 10 am and 6 pm Monday through Friday. A little later in the fall we will also be offering a 24/7 Hold Locker outside of HOL for pickups.
  • Pickup at Williams Lake  – pick up the item at the Williams Lake Library between 9 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday. A little later in the fall we will also be offering Hold Locker outside of the Williams Lake Library for pickups.
  • Scan & Email to Me – A chapter or section of a book will be scanned and emailed provided the request meets TRU Fair Dealing Policy.
  • Ship to Me – Provide a Canadian mailing address to have the item mailed to you. Please note: shipped items may take up to three weeks to arrive. Reserve materials or equipment cannot be requested using Ship to Me.

Loan periods and Recalls

  • For physical Reserve materials - 1 day or 3 days as requested by course instructor
  • For Laptops - 7 days with no renewals
  • For all other library materials including books, CDs, DVDs - 6 months from the date the item is borrowed. If you receive a recall notice, yo will have two weeks to return the requested item(s) to the library before fines are incurred. 

Getting Materials not Held by TRU Library

If there is something you need that is not available in the TRU Library print or online collections, the TRU Library can obtain it from another library.  Please use the online interlibrary loan request form

Requests for articles and book chapters requested from other libraries will be delivered to you online. Books, DVDs, or other physical items may be picked up from the HOL between 10 am and 6 pm Monday to Friday or will be mailed to you.

Reserves & laptops

Reserves and Laptops

  • Beginning September 8th, physical copies of materials and equipment will be available for student pickup at Reserve/Hold Pickup Desk located on the 1st floor of the House of Learning between 10 am to 6 pm Monday through Friday. Reserves in the Williams Lake Campus Library are available between 9 am and 4:30 pm Monday to Friday.
  • Browse the books and other materials in Reserve hereLoan periods for physical books will be 1 day or 3 days. They are available on a first come first served basis.
  • Laptop and other equipment loans will be 7 days. Laptops are available on a first come first served basis.
  • Faculty members and instructors wishing to place physical copies of materials or equipment on reserve for Fall 2020 can contact the Library using this online form.

Course reading list service

Course Reading List Service

TRU Library has launched a Course Reading List Service.  This new service will allow instructors and students to have one single online access point for course reading materials while assuring copyright compliance. If you have further questions about the Course Reading List Service, contact your subject librarian

1. What is the TRU Library Course Reading List Service?

Using the Course Reading List Service, faculty and instructors can add, edit, and customize course reading lists. This service functions like a digital course-pack, and is accessible, free and available to students 24 hours a day. The reading list can be easily integrated into a Moodle course but also resides on the Library Reserves listing where students can browse the course reading lists by course name and number, instructor, and broad subject area.

 2. How can the TRU Library help me?

Through the Course Reading List Service, the library can support faculty and instructors by:

  • Providing links to physical items in the Library Reserve collection. Beginning September 8th, physical copies of materials and equipment will be available for student pickup at a Reserve/Hold Pickup Desk located on the main floor of the House of Learning between 10 am and 6 pm Monday through Friday. Reserves can be set for 24- or 72-hour loan periods. Equipment is loaned for 7 days.
  • Providing the necessary permalinks to licensed TRU Library electronic resources including ebooks, ebook chapters, streaming video, and ejournal articles
  • Scanning and uploading parts of print books and journal articles provided required sections meet TRU fair dealing guidelines
  • Scanning and uploading any information that you have personally created for student use (i.e. test solutions, drawings, notes, etc.
  • Incorporating links to Internet resources and Open Education Resources (OERs)

The Library can also support faculty and instructors with:

  • When possible, purchasing ebooks or streaming video in support of course reading lists
  • Assisting instructors in identifying OERs in support of course reading lists
  • Requiring TRU EZProxy or Moodle login and password for material to be accessed.  
  • Releasing Course Reading Lists by a specified date or adding additional password protection (e.g. for test solutions or other information restricted to only those registered for the course) 
  • Reusing and rechecking Course Reading List links for accuracy every term 

3. How does the Course Reading List Service Work?

To submit your reading list or reserve items to the library, use the online form. You can upload a syllabus and/or reading list in any citation style. We will assist you with resource recommendations, checking accessibility, and posting materials.  

4. How do I integrate my Course Reading List into my Moodle Course?

Once your reading list has been added to the Library Reserve page, library staff will notify you. To add the Reading List automatically to your Moodle, follow these step-by-step instructions:

 

Branch details & DROL services

Branch details & DROL library services

House of Learning:

  • Reference and Research Services: Online Monday to Friday 10 am to 6 pm 
  • Reserve and Hold Pickup Services: Monday to Friday 10 am to 6 pm 
  • Study Spaces: Closed except for HOL 190

Law Library:

  • Reference and Research Services: Online Monday to Friday 10 am to 6 pm
  • Reserve and Hold Pickup Services: Monday to Friday 10 am to 6 pm from 1st floor of the House of Learning
  • Study Spaces: Closed
  • The Law Research Guide provides details about Law Library resources and services as well as Law Librarian Mary Hemmings' contact information.

Williams Lake Library:

  • Reference and Research Services: Online Monday to Friday 9 am to 4:30 pm
  • Reserve and Hold Pickup Services: Monday to Friday 9 am to 4:30 pm
  • Study Spaces and Library Collection: Monday to Friday 9 am to 4:30 pm
  • The Williams Lake Library Guide provides details about Williams Lake Campus Library services as well as campus librarian Melissa Svendsen's contact information.

DROL Services:

A full array of library services are available for distance, regional, and online learning students. DROL students may also use “Request this Item” link that appears in item records in Discover.

Chose the “Request this item” link to review the options available including:

  • Pickup at HOL - pick up the item at Reserve/Hold Pickup Desk located on the main floor of the House of Learning between 10 am and 6 pm Monday through Friday. A little later in the fall we will also be offering a 24/7 Hold Locker outside of HOL for pickups.
  • Pickup at Williams Lake  – pick up the item at the Williams Lake Library between 9 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday. A little later in the fall we will also be offering Hold Locker outside of the Williams Lake Library for pickups.
  • Scan & Email to Me – A chapter or section of a book will be scanned and emailed provided the request meets TRU Fair Dealing Policy.
  • Ship to Me – Provide a North American mailing address to have the item mailed to you. Please note: shipped items may take up to three weeks to arrive. 

To request copies of articles from the Library collection, DROL students can use the article request form.

The DROL Library Services Guide provides additional information

Contact Us