Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 470,000 records from 500 titles. Material are collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe, and Asia.
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Daily updates.
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism by Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.
Risk Management for Outdoor Programs : a handbook for administrators and instructors by Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism by Indicators of sustainable development for tourism destinations : a guidebook by 
The International Dictionary of Event Management: over 3500 administration, coordination, marketing, and risk management terms from around the world by 
Key Concepts in Leisure Studies by 
Sport, Physical Recreation and the Law by Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 470,000 records from 500 titles. Material are collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe, and Asia.
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Daily updates.
Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.
This is a database of current article information taken from 20,000 multidisciplinary journals.
Canada
International
Other TRU Library research guides to check out:
Evaluating Information
Library Catalogue and Article Database Search Strategies
Browsing the Stacks: General subject boundaries for tourism
If you want to browse the shelves in the Library for books on tourism-related topics, you will need to know which call number ranges to look for.
Tourism: G154.9-155.8
Government Documents & Other
British Columbia provincial government publications on tourism: BCTO (Government Documents)
A bibliography (sometimes called a List of Works Cited or Reference List) is a list of publications (books, journal articles, websites, reports etc.) on a particular topic.
An annotated bibliography includes an annotation (summary/evaluation) of each of item.
Depending on the instructions for your particular assignment, your annotations may be required to:
Find More Help
Start and Run a Tour Guiding Business : part-time, full time, at home, or abroad: your step-by-step business plan by 
The Business Plan : how to win your investors confidence by 
Business plan writing 101 : the essential guide for entrepreneurs by 
Handbook of Marketing Research Methodologies for Hospitality and Tourism by Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.
You can control how databases and search engines treat your words to get more relevant results using Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT
Finding statistics is not easy. There are generally two approaches, which are often used in combination with each other.
Publisher Strategy: identify an organization that would produce and publish such a statistic. Knowledge of government structure, areas of jurisdication and context is key.
Data Strategy: identify a data source from which the statistics were derived.
image credit: Chuck Humphrey, Data Library Coordinator, University of Alberta
Official Statistics: produced by government bodies (such as Statistics Canada) and some international or inter-governmental agencies (such as the U.N.)
Non-Offical Statistics: produced by other bodies, including trade associations, professional organizations, banks, consultants, marketing companies, academic institutions, etc
| Surveys | Administrative Records |
|
|
Surveys: deliberately requested information.
Administrative Records: statistics generated by doing regular business
Trade and Industry associations
These are often great sources for finding administrative stats (see stats definitions to the left). Google your industry or trade and see if there is a related association. Explore their website to find out if they have a "research" section or "publications" section or "statistics" section on their website.
