JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Updates: unknown
Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, and more. Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This first release contains over 50 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Update frequency: N/A
Drama Criticism by 
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections by 
Play IndexUse the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.
Subject headings to explore:
• Drama
• Dramatists
• Theater
• Theater reviews
• Playwriting
• Performing Arts
Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?
Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.
Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by 
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe by 
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by 
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dictionary of the Theatre by 
Coming to terms with acting : an instructive glossary by Drama Criticism by 
Bibliography of Theatre History in Canada : the beginnings through 1984 by 
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre by Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections by Play IndexIncluded are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, and more. Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This first release contains over 50 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Update frequency: N/A
Some really great resources to consult are: