Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Catalogue Search

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.

Subject headings to explore:
• Organizational behavior
• Organizational sociology
• Organization
• Management

Why Reference books?

Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?

Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies by James R. Bailey (Editor); Stewart R. Clegg (Editor)
Call Number: HD 31 .I564 2008 V.1-4
The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner.
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Steven G. Rogelberg (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .E498 2007 V.1-2
With more than 400 entries, the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology.
Organizational Climate and Culture by Mark E. Ehrhart; Benjamin Schneider; William H. Macey
Call Number: HD 58.7 .E384 2014
The fields of organizational climate and organizational culture have co-existed for several decades with very little integration between the two. In Organizational Climate and Culture: An Introduction to Theory, Research, and Practice, Mark G. Ehrhart, Benjamin Schneider, and William H. Macey break down the barriers between these fields to encourage a broader understanding of how an organization's environment affects its functioning and performance.
Management and Organization Theory by Jeffrey A. Miles
Call Number: HD 31 E-book
Publication Date: 2012
Management and Organization Theory offers a summary and analysis of the 40 most popular, researched, and applied management and organization theories. This important resource includes key instruments used to measure variables in each theory and examines pertinent questions about the theory: strengths and weaknesses, practical applications, and the seminal articles published on each theory.
Handbook of organizational behavior by edited by Robert T. Golembiewski
Call Number: HD 58.7 .H355 2001
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior by Nigel Nicholson; Randall S. Schuler; Andrew H. Van de Ven
Call Number: HD 58.7 .B57 1995 E-book