Click on "Full Text Access" for a list of links of places to get these journals. You can then search within journals for your keywords, or browse through issues.
These journals, and other journals and articles about Medical Sociology, can be found in the following databases.
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,719 periodicals in the nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine and allied health disciplines. Full text coverage includes nearly 520 journals, plus legal cases, drug records and clinical trials. Updated monthly.
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Positivism in Social Theory and Research by 
An Introduction to the Sociology of Health and Illness by 
Social Causes of Health and Disease by 
The Sociology of Health, Healing, and Illness by 
Society and Health by 
The Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology by 
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology by 
Community Health Equity by
Perhaps more than any other American city, Chicago has been a center for the study of both urban history and economic inequity. Community Health Equity assembles a century of research to show the range of effects that Chicago's structural socioeconomic inequalities have had on patients and medical facilities alike. The work collected here makes clear that when a city is sharply divided by power, wealth, and race, the citizens who most need high-quality health care and social services have the greatest difficulty accessing them. Achieving good health is not simply a matter of making the right choices as an individual, the research demonstrates: it's the product of large-scale political and economic forces. Understanding these forces, and what we can do to correct them, should be critical not only to doctors but to sociologists and students of the urban environment--and no city offers more inspiring examples for action to overcome social injustice in health than Chicago.
Understanding Health, Health Care, and Health Policy in Canada by 
Health, illness, and health care in Canada by 
Determinants of indigenous peoples' health : beyond the social by COVID-19 research is rapidly evolving as the pandemic continues. It is important to get information from reputable sources. This is a starting list of publishers and databases gathering research on COVID-19. This is not an exhaustive list; there is more information out there. Remember to evaluate any research that you read, especially considering where the information is from, especially if you are finding the information from social media.
Research tip: in Discover's advanced search, search for "COVID-19" and check off the discipline that you are researching in to narrow your results. For example, if you want to find COVID-19 sociological articles, check off "sociology."
This box last updated: September 16, 2020.
Listservs and Newsletters
Listservs have news, announcements, and discussions on a topic. Both listservs and newsletters are valuable sources of new information.
Social Media Feeds
Don't discredit information found online! Associations, journals, and researchers may share research, opinion pieces, and updates related to their field. Social media can help you keep up with current news and events in an academic area of study.
Here are some accounts to get you started:
Journal Alerts
There are three main ways to get updated when a journal publishes new articles.
1. Alerts directly from the journal: many journals have an option to get email alerts directly from their homepage. Look for a link called "Table of Content Alerts," "Get Content Alerts," "Set up Alerts," etc.
Example:
2. Through Discover:
3. Through Sociological Abstracts: Some sociology journals aren't available through Discover. This method is almost exactly the same as setting up alerts through Discover.
You may be asked to find articles that are from sociology journals. Searching in a sociology database, like Sociological Abstracts, is a good place to get started, but not every journal in that database is sociological. (There are many journals that focus on social work or psychology, for example).
Here are some tips for evaluating journals:
There is not a simple checkbox you can select to limit yourself to sociology journals, so make sure to give yourself time to think critically about your sources.
Tips to get started
Further Resources on Reading Academic Articles
When Using Discover
"Discover" is the main library search system. It searches through most of what TRU Library has. While it can be helpful to view results from other disciplines, such as Education or Psychology, use Advanced Search then choose the discipline Sociology to help you find mostly sociology sources.
Other Databases
Tip: Start with Sociological Abstracts: these articles are not in Discover!
Interlibrary Loans
If you come across a book or article that you would like to use for your assignment, but the library doesn't have it, never fear! Fill out an interlibrary loan form and we will find the resource from another library and send it to you. Find the form under Interlibrary Loans on the page "Online Forms" below.
