Indigenous Studies

The First Nations in BC Knowledge Network is a hub for First Nations in the province to share ideas, tools and best practices on many aspects of governance and community development.

Formerly known as the Kamloops Indian Band.

Indigenous Tourism BC (ITBC) is a non-profit, Stakeholder-based organization that is committed to growing and promoting a sustainable, culturally rich Indigenous tourism industry. -- Website

The NCTR is "a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations"

Information resource from UBC on key topics such as land rights, government policy, community and politics, culture and global indigenous issues.

The National Inquiry’s Final Report reveals that persistent and deliberate human and Indigenous rights violations and abuses are the root cause behind Canada’s staggering rates of violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA people. The two volume report calls for transformative legal and social changes to resolve the crisis that has devastated Indigenous communities across the country.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) increases access to Indigenous-related content in its collection and supports Indigenous communities to preserve First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation cultures and languages. -- website

Shelly Johnson, Canada Research Chair in Indigenizing Higher Education and Associate Professor at TRU, describes her research and provides a bibliography and other resources on indigenizing higher education.

This is an archived website. The Aboriginal Healing Foundation was created on March 31, 1998 and provided $350 million by the federal government of Canada to encourage and support community-developed, community-delivered and culturally-based initiatives addressing the intergenerational effects of abuses suffered in the Indian Residential School System. Ceased operations in September 2014.

The First Nations principles of OCAP® are a set of standards that establish how First Nations data should be collected, protected, used, or shared. They are the de facto standard for how to conduct research with First Nations.

First Nations, Native American and Inuit directory, organized by linguistic group; includes maps

The FPCC has a mandate to support the revitalization of Aboriginal languages, arts and culture in British Columbia.

Indian Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. I-5)

"A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants." Includes references.

Various digital collections including photographs, posters, periodicals, teaching resources, conference proceedings, Louise Mandell Research Collection, etc.

"NMAI has one of the most extensive collections of Native arts and artifacts in the world, as well as photographic, manuscript, and media collections, covering all culture areas of the Americas from past to present. Representative images of objects from these collections are searchable by Peoples/Cultures, Artists, Individuals, Places, and features; extensive metadata includes artist notes, media/materials, technique, dimensions, and provenance. The site also provides information on the significance, history, and conservation of collections, and NMAI's collaborative approach to repatriation." from Choice Reviews Online, November 2015

IWGIA is an international, non-governmental organization that supports indigenous peoples' rights. Provides resources on human rights, environment and development; culture and identity; indigenous groups around the world.

150 Years and Counting (150YC) is a new open-access, multi-media resource that documents how this recent cycle of anti-racist activism is part of a broader history of Indigenous, Black and other racialized communities challenging white supremacy for over 150 years – particularly since 1871 when BC joined Canada. Co-authored by activists & scholars from diverse communities, this resource will assist anti-racist educators, teachers, scholars, and policymakers in piercing the silences that too often have let racism fester in communities, corporations, and governments.

A web based app that uses GIS technology to assist users in identifying Indigenous Nations, territories and communities across Canada.