Research Guides: European History: Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Work Schedule:
Mon-Fri: 9-5 (or by appointment)

Subjects: Archaeology, Geography, History, Open Resources, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Science, Sociology and Anthropology, Using the TRU Library, Women's / Gender Studies

Why Books?

Books and eBooks can provide a solid foundation for topic background or introductory research, helping scholars refine questions, select keywords, and navigate topic-specific vocabulary. Many academic texts also offer references and bibliographies, pointing to other valuable sources you may wish to explore. In short, they’re an essential starting point for any research project.

Search the Library

Catalogue Search

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.

Subject headings to explore:
• Middle ages--History--Sources.
• Renaissance
• Demonology--History of doctrines--Middle Ages, 600-1500.
• Middle Ages.
• Civilization, Medieval.
• Church history--Middle Ages, 600-1500.

by:
to find TRU Library's books, periodical titles, videos, government documents, pamphlets. Also try:
Advanced Catalogue Search

General

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty

Chronology of world history by Mellersh, H. E. L.
Call Number: Call number: D 11 .M39 1999

A 4 volume set arranged by strict chronological sequence by year this work is then broken into four main topic areas (Politics, Science, Arts, and Society) which are then further broken into 24 sub categories. A good source for selecting topics and confirming sequences of events.
Writing History : a guide for Canadian students, 3rd edition by William Kelleher Storey, Towser Jones
Call Number: D 16 .S76 2011 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake

Discusses crafting a topic statement and research proposal, interpreting source materials, building an argument, choosing precise wording, and revising and editing your work.
Doing History: Research and Writing in the Digital Age by Michael J. Galgano; J. Christopher Arndt; Raymond M. Hyser
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2007

Handbook to historical research from locating your sources and gathering information, to writing clearly and making proper use of various citation styles to avoid plagiarism.

Medieval Europe

The Rise of the Medieval world, 500-1300 : a biographical dictionary by edited by Jana K. Schulman
Call Number: CT 114 .R57 2002 E-book

Provides basic information about 400 significant cultural figures of the Middle Ages whose contributions to literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world. Focuses on individuals from Western Europe, but also includes figures from Byzantium, Baghdad, and the Arab world who contributed to the politics, religion, and culture of Western Europe. Entries arranged in alphabetical order and include a bibliography to further readings.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer
Call Number: D 114 .D5

This 12 volume set covers people, events and concepts of the Middle Ages. Each topic covered is followed by a bibliography.
The New Cambridge medieval history by edited by Rosamond McKitterick.
Call Number: D 117 .N48 1995

A 7 volume series providing a comprehensive history of Europe from 500 to 1500 AD. Includes maps, drawings tables, and bibliography.
Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia by Christopher Kleinhenz, editor
Call Number: DG 443 .M43 2003 v.1-2

Topics covered focus on the history, literature, art, music, urban development, commerce and economics, social and political institutions, religion, philosophy and science during the Medieval period in Italy. Included in these 2 volumes are maps and illustrations as well as an appendix of all the popes and rulers. Each entry is followed by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

Renassiance & Early Modern Europe

Europe 1450 to 1789 : Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by editor, Jonathan Dewald
Call Number: D 209 .E97 2004 V.1-6

ISBN: 068431200X

Publication Date: 2003-11-19

A 6-volume set covering the Protestant Reformation, the scientific revolution, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, and the early development of the modern state. Includes significant developments in art, literature, and music, and describes the age of exploration that spread European ideas, customs, and institutions around the world. Arranged alphabetically. Each article offers a bibliography and cross-references. Includes maps.

Modern Europe

Europe 1789 to 1914 : Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire by John Merriman and Jay Winter, editors in chief.
Call Number: D 299 .E735 2006 V.1-5

ISBN: 0684313596

Publication Date: 2006-08-13

Five-volume set containing entries on key European institutions, events, and persons in the 19th century. Includes themes such as the French Revolution, Napoleonic era, the British Empire, rise of socialism and modernism. Arranged alphabetically. Each article offers a bibliography and cross-references. Includes maps.
Europe since 1914 : Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction by edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter.
Call Number: D 424 .E94 2006 V.1-5

ISBN: 0684313650

Publication Date: 2006-09-20

Five-volume set that contains entries on the key themes of the twentieth century, including the wars (such as World War I, World War II, and the Cold War), Europe's influence on the world, as well as scientific, social and technological changes. Arranged alphabetically. Each article offers a bibliography and cross-references. Includes maps.
International Historical Statistics : the Americas, 1750-2005 by B. R. Mitchell; Brian R. Mitchell
Call Number: HA 175 .M55

Publication Date: 2007

International Historical Statistics; Americas 1750-2005 is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2005 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 255 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source.

Britain

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty

Reader's guide to British history by David Loades, editor
Call Number: DA 34 .R43 2003 v.1-2

Provides an overview of each topic, suggesting the most informative secondary scholarship and drawing attention to the main themes, changes, and controversies in interpretation and presentation of history.
Bibliography of British history, 1851-1914 by compiled and edited by H. J. Hanham.
Call Number: DA 530 .H35 1976

Broken into 13 major components, this bibliography provides sources to published works up to 1973 that pertain to British History from 1851 to 1914. Coverage includes the Indian Empire, economics, agriculture, education, and intellectual and cultural history.
The Routledge atlas of British history by Martin Gilbert
Call Number: G 1811 .S1 G5 2003

The maps in this reference book cover England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The maps provide a visual introduction to the changing empire, wars and treaties, industry and trade, and famine and plague. Included are maps to illustrated economic, social and political problems as well as military problems.