Research Guides: Economics: Home

Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Social Work, Using the TRU Library

Live Help

Home

KEY RESOURCES

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Updates: unknown
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Daily updates.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.

Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.

Books to Get You Started

Handbooks and Other Resources

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty

A Concise Introduction to Econometrics by Philip Hans Franses
Call Number: HB 139 .F722 2002 E-book
This book is an ideal introduction for beginning students of econometrics that assumes only basic familiarity with matrix algebra and calculus. It features practical questions which can be answered using econometric methods and models. Focusing on a limited number of the most basic and widely used methods, the book reviews the basics of econometrics before concluding with a number of recent empirical case studies. The volume is an intuitive illustration of what econometricians do when faced with practical questions.
Basic Economic Principles by David E. O'Connor; Christopher C. Faille
Call Number: HB 71 .O26 2000 E-book
Handbook of Global Economic Policy by Stuart S. Nagel (Editor)
Call Number: HD 87 .H363 2000 E-book
Written by over 20 leading international economists, this book offers "win-win" scenarios to economic problems. As in the other volumes of this set of public policy handbooks, the Handbook of Global Economic Policy employs a unique organizational principle: from viewing economic problems from conservative and liberal perspectives, to developing practical, non-ideological solutions to the problems, and finally testing the solution's feasibility in terms of economic, administrative, political, psychological, legal, international, and technological obstacles. The authors confront conventional wisdom about tradeoffs between unemployment and inflation, economic growth and displaced workers, and capitalism and socialism.
Capital in the Twenty-First Century by Thomas Piketty; Arthur Goldhammer (Translator)
Call Number: HB 501 .P43613 2014
A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today.
Economics Rules by Dani Rodrik
Call Number: HB 75 .R5785 2015
ISBN: 9780393246414
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
A leading economist trains a lens on his own discipline to uncover when it fails and when it works. In the wake of the financial crisis and the Great Recession, economic science seems anything but. In this sharp, masterfully argued book, Dani Rodrik, a leading critic from within the science, renders a surprisingly upbeat judgment on economics.

Open Textbooks

Article Databases

Best Bets

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Subject Coverage: EconLit indexes over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Daily updates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject Coverage: Archaeology, Art, Botany, Business, Ecology, Economics, Film Studies, History, Latin America, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage: Agriculture, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Mathematics, Medicine, Psychology, Social Sciences

Social Sciences Citation Index
Anthropology, Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Nursing, Political Studies, Psychology, Sociology.

Other Suggestions

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database spans nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated monthly.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.

Websites

Related Associations & Societies - Canada

Related Associations & Societies - International

Working Papers

General Canadian Websites

Bank of Canada
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Industry Canada (previous name). Provides access to Canadian business and industry statistics, company information, regulations and standards, as well as international trade statistics.

BC Stats This link opens in a new window

Statistics Canada
Website. Produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

General Economic Websites

RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
Population Index
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Data
The OECD’s statistics portal provides access to data tables on agriculture and fisheries, economic projections, energy, environment, finance, industry and services, trade and balance of payments, labour, national accounts, prices, taxation, etc..
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Users can access select time series through the World Economic Outlook Database.
World Bank Open Data
Development data by country and indicator.
International Development Research Centre

Economics Statistics

http://libguides.tru.ca/businessstats

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.