Research Guides: Drama & Plays: Home

Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Social Work, Using the TRU Library

Drama Criticism by Lawrence J. Trudeau, editor
Call Number: PN 1601 .D59 V.1-44
Presents criticism of the most significant and widely studied dramatic works from all the world's literatures. There is a cumulative author index in each volume. Use the last volume of this set to see the index for the entire series.

Ottemiller's index to plays in collections : an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published since 1900 8th ed.
Use this index to find out what collections contain the play(s) you want to read. Often, plays are too short to merit publishing in their own volume, so you need to find them within a broader collection.
Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.
Understanding Shakespeare by JSTOR
Connects lines from Shakespeare's plays to corresponding articles from JSTOR

Drama Criticism by Lawrence J. Trudeau, editor
Call Number: PN 1601 .D59 V.1-44
Presents criticism of the most significant and widely studied dramatic works from all the world's literatures. There is a cumulative author index in each volume. Use the last volume of this set to see the index for the entire series.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by Michael Patterson (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1625 .P38 2005
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays provides accessible, authoritative, handy, and illuminating information on 1000 of the best-known, most popular, and most important plays of world theatre.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by Gabrielle H. Cody (Editor); Evert Sprinchorn (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1861 .C65 2007 v.1-2
A wholly unique A to Z reference for modern drama, this authoritative encyclopedia differs from others in highlighting the interdisciplinary nature of drama by placing playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts.
Save the Cat! by Blake Snyder
ISBN: 1932907009
Publication Date: 2005-05-25
This ultimate insider's guide reveals the secrets that none dare admit, told by a show biz veteran who's proven that you can sell your script if you can save the cat!

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Updates: unknown
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
The master index to the major print literature series published by The Gale Group. Frequency of updates: N/A. Combines and cross-references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable, online, full-text collection of over 250 humanities and social science journals. Update frequency: N/A
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective citations and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. Weekly updates.

Canadian Association for Theatre Research
Supportd and encouraged research in theatre and performance studies in Canada, with a special interest in Canadian work. Membership includes scholars, students, and theatre professionals from around the world who are leading developments in our field.
Playwrights Guild of Canada
PGC is a national arts service association mandated to advance the creative rights and interests of professional Canadian playwrights, promote Canadian plays nationally and internationally, and foster an active, evolving community of writers for the stage.-- website
American Society for Theatre Research

Records of Early English Drama (REED)
"Records of Early English Drama (REED) is an international scholarly project that is establishing for the first time the context from which the drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew. REED has for the last thirty-five years worked to locate, transcribe, and edit historical documents containing evidence of drama, secular music, and other communal entertainment and ceremony from the Middle Ages until 1642, when the Puritans closed the London theatres." - website
Project Gutenberg
Offers full text of over 53,000 free eBooks within the public domain.
Inter-Play
Index to plays in collections and periodicals.

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management, its benefits, and information about getting started with citation management software.

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Forms
Find the right form to request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), book a group study room, suggest a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library