New Books in the TRU Law Library

The law currently sees bodies as passive material upon which our values are inscribed rather than as an active part of the production of normative values. This book proposes that peoples' experiences of embodiment play an important role in the development of normative values and that the legal system should adopt an embodied understanding of all individuals.

This perceptive book analyses the determination of the outer limits of the continental shelf, examining how the related articles from the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea are interpreted and applied by coastal states and the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS).

This book evaluates the impact of empirical research on regulation in contemporary consumer markets. It combines findings from a breadth of disciplines, including sociology, psychology and economics, focusing on their implications for legal frameworks and policies. It shows how empirical legal research may inform and improve consumer law and policy making.

This book comprehensively elaborates on the EU framework for regulatory protection in life science industries. Żaneta Zemła-Pacud discusses the rules governing regulatory exclusivities and rewards for both innovative life science products and the regulatory data underlying them.

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary.

Examining the rules laid down by the World Trade Organization (WTO), Yong-Shik Lee covers key challenges in the interpretation and application of safeguard measures in this updated fourth edition. With new discussions on what determines safeguard measures, this book presents unique proposals for extensive regulatory reform.

This book provides an extensive analysis of the law and practice relating to insolvency litigation in England and Wales, as well as examination of other common law jurisdictions. Written by leading insolvency lawyers it addresses key concerns affecting the prosecution and defence of insolvency proceedings by drawing on a wide range of case law.

This book examines common intra-group financial transactions, such as intra-group loans and cross-guarantees, highlighting their impact and treatment in the insolvency and restructuring of multinational enterprise groups. It provides a comparative analysis of statutes and recent case law from three leading restructuring forums: the UK, the USA and the Netherlands.

This book provides an in-depth analysis of the jurisdiction in cross-border corporate insolvency proceedings within EU member states, investigating the rationale, structure and functioning of the grounds to initiate and supervise the proceedings according to the European Insolvency Regulation (Recast).

This book outlines how an accelerated move to cleaner energy is a global imperative, and one that is especially challenging for emerging economies which often face extreme inequalities, unemployment and poverty. Contributing authors consider perspectives from the Global North and South to underscore the importance of an energy transition which is both inclusive and fair.

This book examines reproductive rights and their complex interaction with the law and with society, exploring differing perspectives and placing these in their respective cultural, social and religious contexts. Kerry O'Halloran explores the socially divisive question of abortion using examples from both developing and developed countries.

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in each area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. This Research Agenda identifies emerging priorities and future trends in the field of environmental crime and law.

How does international law entitle individuals to challenge violations of international law before domestic courts? Developing the novel concept of access rights, Leander Beinlich takes a thorough look at the domestic adjudication of international law through the lens of individual rights.

This incisive book explores the opportunities and challenges of implementing inclusive rule-making processes in international organisations (IOs). Expert authors examine the impact of inclusiveness across a wide range of organisations and policy issues, from climate change and peace and security to energy governance and securities regulation.

This Research Handbook critically examines the complex relationship between social media and the law. Expert scholars and practitioners analyze key issues through both practical and theoretical lenses, highlighting opportunities for advancing legal scholarship in the field.

This second edition provides a broad range of perspectives on the legal implications of artificial intelligence (AI) across different global jurisdictions. Contributors identify the potential threats that AI poses to the protection of fundamental rights and human wellbeing, anticipating future developments in technological and legal infrastructures.

This insightful book outlines the remedies for private law wrongs such as breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of trust and torts. With a focus on English law, it provides an accessible, up-to-date and commercially centred overview of this complex field. Katy Barnett and Sirko Harder discuss remedies at common law, in equity and under statute.

In this timely book, Catherine Carol explores the portrayal of Western culture as denying the existence of 'woman' through the instrument of law. The author considers the fact that human beings are materially embodied and situated in the natural world and suggests that there are normative conclusions which arise from this.

Adopting a comparative approach, this incisive book brings together leading experts to analyse the regulation of parenthood across the globe. It explores the ongoing re-examination of the law of parenthood in light of societal and medical advances, providing a detailed guide on how the law is responding to new and emerging challenges.

In Rethinking the Law of Private Property, eminent legal scholars consider how private property rights might be transformed and realigned to better cope with modern challenges. They rethink current paradigms around private property and natural resource ownership in light of police power regulations, health rules and expanded land-use regulations.

Payment services are now heavily regulated in many jurisdictions and subject to a growing body of law. The second edition of Payment Services: Law and Practiceprovides an updated overview of the key areas of payments law and regulation in the EU and UK, as well as introductions to analogous legal regimes in the United States, Hong Kong, Singapore and Africa.

Adopting an actors-focused approach, this Research Handbook engages with complex dynamics between states, people and businesses with respect to trade law and development. The contributing authors address trade law through an interdisciplinary lens, examining its political, economic and social contexts.

This Commentary presents a critical examination of the 2012 European Market Infrastructure Regulation (EMIR) and its 2019 Refit. Mark Hsiao evaluates the effectiveness of this EU framework in regulating over-the-counter (OTC) derivatives, exploring how the legislation fits into a broader global context while underscoring its pluralist elements.

This Research Handbook adopts an interdisciplinary approach to examine the nexus between competition law and corporate law, engaging with legal systems across the Americas, Asia and Europe. Combining theoretical, empirical and case-based research, leading experts in the field present insights into topical areas at the intersection of competition law and corporate law.

This second edition of the Research Handbook on Intellectual Property (IP) Licensingexplores the multiple facets of IP licensing law from a global and comparative perspective through the opinions of leading experts. The Handbook ultimately aims to offer a scholarly contribution to the development of global or regional IP licensing laws and policies.

This Encyclopedia provides a concise overview of key topics in the field of international arbitration. The Encyclopedia covers the New York Convention, the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration and the IBA Guidelines on conflicts of interest, party representation, and the taking of evidence.

This timely book presents a considered analysis of age discrimination provisions and outlines constructive guidance as to how they might be reformed. It highlights the prevalence of age discrimination for all age groups but especially against older persons, demonstrating the importance of effective legal protection for this cohort.

This insightful book discusses the predicament of asylum seekers across European states and the reception policies that constrain their movements. Juan Ruiz Ramos argues that, even when these policies do not amount to detention, they interfere with an often neglected right: the freedom of movement within the State.

This Concise Encyclopediaprovides a comprehensive overview of the rapidly developing field of migration and asylum law. It brings clarity on key terms and critical notions, while challenging misconceptions in this highly politicized sphere. Students, scholars and researchers interested in migration and asylum will greatly benefit from this Concise Encyclopedia.

The Research Handbook on Intelligence and International Law brings together expert scholars and practitioners to comprehensively assess how international law applies to the work of the intelligence community. This Research Handbook is an essential resource for students, academics, practitioners, and policymakers working in international law and intelligence studies.

Discussing the law in theory and in practice, Comparative Environmental Lawidentifies the ways in which regulatory systems converge or diverge, examining key developments in international legal frameworks from every continent. Expert contributors review different comparative approaches and examine how these can be applied to the study of environmental law.

With contributions from over 135 international experts, this Encyclopedia provides an expansive overview of the emerging field of animal law. Focusing on the legal regulation of human interactions with non-human animals, the volume serves as an insightful guide to how the law can promote the wellbeing of animals as well as the environment.

This comprehensive Companion presents a unique overview of the law and practice of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the UN specialized agency for global civil aviation. Providing valuable insider insights, the Companion covers the objectives, structure and fields of work of ICAO.

This updated Research Handbook presents a comprehensive analysis of the international law of jurisdiction and immunities, examining the mutual interdependence between the two as well as shedding light on the implications. Featuring diverse contributions from leading experts, emerging scholars, and practitioners, it provides an impartial perspective on the applicable international law.

This thoroughly revised fourth edition of EU Internet Lawprovides a state-of-the-art overview of EU Internet regulation. Andrej Savin critically evaluates EU policymaking and governance, assessing the latest developments in the field. Savin discusses the constitutional context within which the internet is regulated alongside the policies that have informed this regulation.

This book explores the use of EU law by Big Tech in the transatlantic context. Elaine Fahey examines how digital platforms utilise both top-down and bottom-up approaches to litigate, lobby and lawyer global standards, analysing their attempts to strategically exploit the legislation.

This book delivers a comprehensive analysis of the various avenues for judicial review in EU law. Alexander Türk sets out the diverse actions available to litigants, dissects current regulations and procedures, and traces the evolution of the functions of judicial review in the Union's legal system.

This book examines the interplay between global standards and the EU legal system, examining how the process of incorporating technical standards set at international level poses challenges for principles of good governance, such as accountability, participatory openness and transparency.

This insightful book explores the question of why there are so few successful corruption-related prosecutions in Anglophone African countries and considers how this situation can be addressed. He advocates for the adoption of the 'Golden Triangle' and a fairness approach.

This Encyclopedia examines modern polar law and the specific legal regimes applicable in the Antarctic and the Arctic. It outlines related areas of international law, including the law of the sea and environmental law, providing an invaluable overview and encouraging further research.

This prescient book examines social ordering and governance in the digital universe. It demonstrates how attempts to enact regulations in virtual spaces cannot replicate laws and market arrangements in the real world, advocating for an alternative 'new law' to enable safe, sustainable and beneficial digital communities.