New Books in the TRU Law Library

This pioneering book explores the child's right to identity, and the concept of selfhood, in both domestic and cross-border contexts. It highlights life events and transformations that children and young people often experience in the field of international family law and related areas which may impact on their identity, and considers the legal protections available to them.

This forward-looking book examines the concept and legal status of Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs). Based on blockchain technology, DAOs disrupt traditional thinking around corporate structure and organizational governance.

In this innovative book, Juan Diaz-Granados and Benedict Sheehy offer a meticulous examination of the legal foundations, structures and challenges, as well as potential solutions for the legal and regulatory issues posed by the rise of platform-based businesses.

This book explores the digital future of the EU, critically analysing the governance of digital single market actors and the platform economy. It discusses notions of freedom, responsibility and accountability, examining the circulation of unlawful content through the broad lens of digital governance.

There is a plethora of new and older instruments from the EU designed to regulate the digital space, and this unique Practical Guide presents a systematic overview of the Regulations and Directives in the context of the subject matter they relate to, helping the reader navigate the field of information and communications technology (IT) law in the EU.

This book provides a comprehensive and critical account of the law, policy and practice underpinning early release systems in international criminal law. Róisín Mulgrew explores the distinct forms that early release can take and investigates key questions. Who makes and influences early release decisions? What factors are taken into account?

This comprehensive book examines the history and importance of three fundamental ideas underlying the concept of statehood: effectiveness, recognition and legitimacy. It explores the analytical and historical genesis of these concepts, as well as their practical application in navigating relationships between states.

This pioneering book examines the experiences of women in war economies, analyzing women's roles as actors, perpetrators, collaborators and victims of these. These economies, fed and sustained by conflict, are known as 'war economies'. Orly Stern rethinks dominant paradigms about war economies using a gendered lens.

This insightful book discusses how law schools engage with the public to expand the public's understanding of the law. It shows that effective engagement is achieved through recognising the university and the public as part of a shared community, working towards both individual and collective goals.

This timely book examines the increasing pressure on courts to protect underrepresented matters of public interest at the risk of political reprisals. Rob van Gestel provides critical insights into the role of courts amidst the escalating global trend of the judicialization of politics due to ineffective government legislatures.

With contributions from experts in the field, this comprehensive Research Handbook provides a systematic overview of debates at the cutting edge of the philosophy of contract law. The Research Handbook engages closely with general theories of contract law, entering into detailed theoretical discussions surrounding its principles, rules and doctrines, as well as its moral foundations.

This edited collection examines floating charges, a special type of security that covers a class of revolving assets, and functional equivalents across the world. The book explores common threads and points of disparity in how floating charges are used and regulated across different jurisdictions, drawing on expert insights in the field of security rights.

This cutting-edge Research Handbook examines how investment law and policy can foster or frustrate sustainable development goals and accords. Expert authors explore opportunities for environmental, social, and economic rules to shape international investment flows, advancing global sustainability and justice.

This pioneering book explores the relationship between intellectual property (IP) and cannabis. Expert scholars from across the globe reflect on the legal, cultural, and socio-economic significance of cannabis, addressing the difficulties of adapting legal frameworks to this unique and multifaceted product.

This book explores the interactions between intellectual property (IP) laws and other legal disciplines, examining potential policy implications raised by the growing influence of different legal frameworks on IP principles. Illustrating these issues, the book analyzes how they have shaped our understanding of IP laws and doctrines.

Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in each area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary.

This forward-thinking book focuses on current and future challenges facing employment law in Australia, New Zealand and the UK. Leading experts in the field discuss the need for legislative intervention in the three nations and examine differences in their judicial attitudes.

Interdisciplinary and international in scope, this book examines the types of compliance and implementation mechanisms that can support transboundary water cooperation. Rieu-Clarke draws upon a range of theoretical accounts, case studies, and treaty practice to provide recommendations for the design and revision of transboundary water agreements.

Esports Law and Practiceserves as an authoritative guide to the rapidly expanding field of esports law. This comprehensive work provides detailed analysis of all aspects of this complex and multifaceted sector. It delves into the history and development of the evolving legal landscape, offering practical insights into the challenges and opportunities that esports presents.

This Research Handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of the relationship between digital technologies, competition and market dynamics, from a multidisciplinary perspective. Leading specialists in the field examine the intersection between competition law and other policy areas, such as data protection, intellectual property and labour law.

This incisive book presents a critical analysis of contemporary issues in international taxation, considering the long-standing question of how best to tax income and consumption. Leading experts from across the globe explore the future of tax in a changing world, promoting a re-examination of fundamental issues in tax law and policy.

This book provides an unparalleled comprehensive treatment of the competition laws of the ASEAN member states. Taking a unique thematic approach, the book covers the ASEAN approach to anti-competitive agreements, abuse of dominance, mergers and combinations, exemptions, investigations, enforcement, remedies and appeals.

This incisive book examines how states bear responsibility for human rights protection when they cooperate. Focusing on the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), it explores the challenges of international cooperation to international human rights law and uncovers how human rights provisions may turn into an international human rights law of cooperation.

This book provides a uniquely clear and comprehensive statement of the law on nuclear weapons. It draws on the insight and input of a group of 15 experts from around the world and in so doing crafts an authoritative text that sets out not only the positions of a number of states but a carefully articulated guide to this complex area of law.

Exploring how international jurisprudence has catalysed the development of maritime delimitation law, this accessible book explores the 'predominant interest' concept and analyses global case studies, as well as landmark legal proceedings.

Volume IIdiscusses the societal and economic transformations introduced by robotics. Editors Ryan Calo, A. Michael Froomkin and Kristen Thomasen, alongside their contributing authors, explore the legal, ethical, and societal challenges that robotics and automated systems pose, investigating the intersection of law and policy in this area.

This insightful book examines the use of advanced technology, specifically artificial intelligence (AI), both as a tool in the hands of terrorists and as a powerful security counter-measure. It sheds light on the legal issues arising from the presence of AI in national security matters and identifies how AI can be regulated in this sensitive field.