Infographic from Course Hero.
Are you thinking about studying abroad? Studying abroad can take many forms, including exchanges and field schools. This guide will share some resources which will help you make your decision about studying abroad, where to go, what to expect, and how to make the most of your study abroad experience.
There are three ways to study abroad:
The Global Classroom: An Essential Guide to Study Abroad
The Study Abroad Handbook
The Handbook of Practice and Research in Study Abroad : higher education and the quest for global citizenship by TRU Study Abroad Program allow students to live and study in a different country for one or two semesters! All the credits earned while studying abroad will transfer back to your TRU transcript. As well, you will receive an official transcript from the host university.
Benefits gained from Studying Abroad:
The Global Classroom: An Essential Guide to Study AbroadThe Study Abroad HandbookThe Handbook of Practice and Research in Study Abroad : higher education and the quest for global citizenship by Global Competency: Recognizing Future Global Leaders
TRU Global Competency allows students to earn formal recognition for their intercultural and international experiences – from Study Abroad, to learning a second language, to volunteer work.
You don't need to have travelled extensively and/or be enrolled in an international major to study in another part of the world!
TRU students can participate in the exchange program for credit and towards fulfilling degree goals with many programs being taught in English.
Exchanges are open to all students who are:
For more information, visit the TRU Study Abroad website.
TRU offers a number of general and program specific Field Schools every year. A Field School is a TRU course, led by a TRU academic, that takes a group of students to another country for study as a group. Because Field Schools take place outside the traditional classroom, they supplement a student's academic training with hands-on experience in another culture or environment.
Field Schools normally run from two to six weeks in length and offer course credit that can be applied to your degree program. Some Field School courses are open to students across a wide range of degrees and programs. Most Field Schools operate during May through August.
For more information, check out the TRU Field Schools page.
These are just some of the Canadian and international organization providing study abroad experiences, as well as paid work and volunteer projects.
If you're thinking about volunteering abroad, check out The Complete Guide to Volunteer Tourism; it discusses how to evaluate the volunteer travel programs you may be considering.
Global Competency: Recognizing Future Global Leaders
TRU Global Competency allows students to earn formal recognition for their intercultural and international experiences – from Study Abroad, to learning a second language, to volunteer work.
Sacred places around the world: 108 destinations by 
The cities book: a journey through the best cities in the world by Here is a listing of foreign consulates in Canada; you will need to contact consular services of the country you are visiting in order to obtain your visa for that country.
While you're abroad, you will need to log in to access TRU Library resources.
This guide details the login steps:
While studying abroad, you will have access to the library collections and resources of the institution where you are studying. But you may still wish to access the resources you have been using at the TRU library. As a TRU student, you have access to the library's collections and services from wherever you're studying. These include the library catalogue, ebooks, article indexes and databases, and other online reference sources.
Feel free to contact any of our friendly librarians by chat or email if you have questions. Just remember, you may be in a different time zone now!
This link opens in a new window