Human Geography

Statistics Canada provides a wide range of information about the geography of the census. Find maps, spatial information products, reference sources and guides, and attribute information products.

Clickable web-based tool for mapping census data.

Index of geographical units and terms used by and in relation to Canadian Census data from 2016

GEOSCAN is a bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). The database features over 98,000 publication records primarily of the earth sciences (Geological Survey of Canada, National Atlas, Topographic maps, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation, Remote Sensing and Geodesy, and Surveyor General), and is continually growing with records on energy efficiency, metals, minerals and mining. GEOSCAN also contains records on external publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists or with NRCan support.

Provides topographical, reference, as well as Census maps, Toporama topographical maps, and a wide range of maps on socio-economic, industry, and environmental topics.

The BC Economic Atlas is a user friendly, publicly available web-based mapping application. It is a hub for business and investment information and gives you a picture of what’s happening with B.C.’s economy. Having easily accessible and integrated data allows you to access critical information quickly at no cost. [Description from website]

City of Kamloops Geographical Information Systems departmental webpage. Find Kamloops base maps using ARCGIS.com, static PDF maps, open data downloads (development, drainage, parks, hydrography, etc.), and more.

With the objective of planning sustainable communities, the CMN integrates and makes accessible data from a variety of sources.

The BC Government's open data catalogue includes KML and SHP files on a range of topics, from Agricultural Land Reserve Lines to Caribou Herd Locations, to FloodPlain maps etc. Open data is free & downloadable from the www.

Tool that allows you identify current land usage within B.C. Find out whether land is privately held, designated as a Provincial or National Park, a First Nations Reserve, privately owned, etc.

Free maps and statistics related to BC.

GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides geospatial data including raster data, vector data, and a database of ground control points.

A project of the Kamloops-South Thompson Mapping and Capacity Partnership, the atlas is part of the Community Mapping Network. Sub-atlases include the community food security atlas, the species and habitat atlas, the socio-economic atlas, the community asset atlas, the geology atlas and others.

Static PDF maps and an interactive mapping application available.