Research Guides: Architectural & Engineering Technology (ARET): Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Librarian

He/Him

Subjects: Architectural & Engineering Techology (ARET), Communication and Visual Arts, Computing Science, Data Science, Engineering, Horticulture, Mathematics, Science, Statistics

Why Reference books?

Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?

Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty

A guide to Canadian architectural styles by Shannon Ricketts, Leslie Maitland, & Jacqueline Hucker
Call Number: NA 740 .R53 2004
Provides an essential profile of the origins and development of the many architectural styles across Canada, from early settlement to the postmodern period, and discusses special forms such as religious, civic, domestic, commercial, and industrial design.
Architectural Graphic Standards for Residential Construction by American Institute of Architects Staff; Dennis J. Hall (Editor); Nina M. Giglio
Call Number: TH 2031 .A84254 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
This edition was expertly redesigned to include all-new material on current technology specific to residential projects for anyone designing, constructing, or modifying a residence. With additional, new content covering sustainable and green designs, sample residential drawings, residential construction code requirements, and contemporary issues in residential construction, it's a must-have resource.
Architectural Lighting Design by Gary Steffy
Call Number: TH 7703 .S78 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-28
Expanding on the depth and breadth of previous editions, this edition boasts more than one-quarter new material, including new discussions about sustainability, lighting details, and the assessment of manufacturers' product data. New, in-depth coverage of daylighting, controls, and lamping strategies for more sustainable lighting solutions.
Blueprint reading : construction drawings for the building trades by Sam Kubba
Call Number: TH 431 .K83 2009
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
A step-by-step guide to reading and interpreting all types of construction drawings.
British Columbia codes 2012 by Queen's Printer of British Columbia.
Publication Date: 2012
To access the BC Building Code, Fire Code, and Plumbing Code.
Cordwood building : the state of the art by Rob Roy (Editor)
Call Number: TH 4818 .W6 C67 2003 Print & E-book
Author/editor Rob Royhas been building, researching, and teaching about cordwood masonry for 25 years and, with his wife, started Earthwood Building School in 1981.
Design of straw bale buildings : the state of the art by Bruce King; Mark Aschheim (Contribution by); Rene Dalmeijer (Contribution by); Kevin Donahue (Contribution by)
Call Number: TH 4818 .S77 K55 2006
For the first time, a design manual for practicing professionals, as well as teachers, is made available, drawing on the collective experience of the most senior and respected figures in the rapidly-emerging field of straw bale construction. This is the only book that provides truly useful information to architects, engineers, building officials and builders who want to design intelligently with plastered straw bales.
Drawing for Interior Design by Drew Plunkett
Call Number: NA 2850 .P58 2009
This volume covers all stages of visual presentation in interior design, from early concept sketches and more evolved technical drawings to complex computer renderings, models for client presentation, and production drawings for contractors. Step-by-step sequences and special tips show students how to make the most of the available media, while practical advice on everything from communicating with clients and contractors to the legal implications of production drawings are covered
Durability of engineering structures : design, repair and maintenance by Jan Bijen
Call Number: TA 405 .B55 2003 E-book
Focus on maintenance and repair techniques for materials such as steel and aluminum, concrete and wood, high-performance concrete, high-performance steel, and fiber-reinforced polymers.
Earth-sheltered houses : how to build an affordable underground home by Rob Roy
Call Number: TH 4819 .E27 R689 2006 Print & E-book
It covers all of the various construction techniques involved including details on planning, excavation, footings, floor, walls, framing, roofing, waterproofing, insulation and drainage. Specific methods appropriate for the inexperienced owner-builder are a particular focus and include: pouring one's own footings and/or floor the use of dry-stacked (surface-bonded) concrete block walls post-and-beam framing plank-and-beam roofing, and drainage methods and self-adhesive waterproofing membranes.
Engineering design graphics : sketching, modeling, and visualization by James M. Leake; Jacob Borgerson
Call Number: TA 174 .L432 2008
Following a unique approach that uses planar projection theory as a framework for discussing freehand sketching techniques, guides you through critical concepts ranging from projection theory and pictorial sketching to parametric solid modeling and product dissection.
HVAC fundamentals by Samuel C. Sugarman
Call Number: TH 7345 .S795 2005
Covers all aspects of HVAC systems used in today's buildings. Details on how to select system components to achieve optimum performance and efficiency.
Interior Graphic Standards by Maryrose McGowan (Editor-In-Chief); Kelsey Kruse (Editor)
Call Number: TH 2031 .I55 2004
Addresses every topic essential to interior architecture: space planning, material selection, acoustics and lighting, air quality, accessibility...even the selection of fixtures and furniture.
Manual of engineering drawing by 3rd ed. / Colin H. Simmons, Dennis E. Maguire, Neil Phelps
Call Number: T 353 .S48 2009
ISBN: 0750689854
Ramsey/Sleeper architectural graphic standards by John Ray Hoke, Jr., editor in chief
Call Number: TH 2031 .R35 2000
Now in its 10th edition, Architectural Graphic Standards is referred to as the "architect's bible" and contains more than 8,000 architectural diagrams and hundreds of charts and tables.
Standard handbook of engineering calculations by Tyler G. Hicks, editor-in-chief ; S. David Hicks, coordinating editor
Call Number: TA 332 .S73 2005
Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations now in its 4th Edition covers seven engineering disciplines: civil, architectural, mechanical, electrical, chemical and process plant, sanitary, and environmental engineering and provides more than 5000 direct and related calculations for solving common engineering problems.
Systems Approach to Engineering Design by P. H. Sydenham
Call Number: TA 174 .S945 2004 E-book
This book empowers small teams with systems engineering techniques that once were the exclusive domain of large organizations employing hundreds of engineers to develop complex, tightly integrated systems designs. This timely resource explains how engineers leading a small design team can use systems thinking to manage and optimize design and development, as well as how to become effective leaders of a small team.
The electrical engineering handbook by Wai-Kai Chen, editor
Call Number: TK 147 .E36 2005 E-book
The Engineering Handbook by editor-in-chief, Richard C. Dorf
Call Number: TA 151 .E424 2005
Over 3000 pgs divided into 30 sections: mechanics of materials, dynamics and vibrations, structures, thermodynamics and heat transfer, fuels and energy conversion, geotechnical, surveying, control systems, and materials engineering.