Research Guides: American History: Databases

Live Help

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Work Schedule:
Mon-Fri: 9-5 (or by appointment)

Subjects: Archaeology, Geography, History, Open Resources, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Science, Sociology and Anthropology, Using the TRU Library, Women's / Gender Studies

Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.

While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains: about 2,000 journals; approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews; citations to abstracts of dissertations. Updates: unknown.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 academic journals and provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information to find information in areas such as archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from 1,700+ social science journals from 1956 - present, some articles are available in full text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database spans nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable, online, full-text collection of over 250 humanities and social science journals. Update frequency: N/A