American History

Discusses crafting a topic statement and research proposal, interpreting source materials, building an argument, choosing precise wording, and revising and editing your work.

Covers American history from Colonial America to 1997. There are 84 pages of source notes and an extensive index.

11-volume set contains, in one chronological compilation, the history of the United States of America from its prehistoric ancestors to its 21st-century citizens. Seeks to offer a balanced presentation of the political, social, economic, and cultural events that have shaped the nation. Topics covered include: the first settling of the land; the historical convergence of European, African and Native American peoples beginning in the late-15th century; the period during which America built itself physically through industrialization and territorial expansion and ideologically through economic, political and social growth and reform; how America made the ideals of liberty, equality, justice and human dignity a reality after Reconstruction; the rapid expansion of the US economy into an industrial power; the influential people, places and events that created American history after World War II and into the early 1970s; and the terrorist attack of September 11, 2001.

Covers the pre-Columbian era to the election of George W. Bush in 2000. Examines the notable men and women and major events in U.S. history, ideas and ideologies, technological innovations, economic developments, and long-term processes such as immigration and urbanization. The over 1400 entries are arranged alphabetically, cross-referenced, and generally provide a short bibliography. Includes index.

Contains almost 400 articles which focus on how war shaped and was shaped by American society, culture, and national identity from 1500 to the present. Each volume covers a different time period: 1500-1815, 1816-1900, 1901-1945, and 1946 to the present. Volumes all contain an alphabetical list of entries, topical outline, chronology, glossary, index, and appendices of selected primary documents. Articles include selected bibliographies and cross-references.

3 volume set providing 180 essays in 14 thematic sections, including: process of social change, regions and regional subcultures, work and labour, social problems, popular culture, and family history. Each essay is followed by a bibliography.

Handbook to historical research from locating your sources and gathering information, to writing clearly and making proper use of various citation styles to avoid plagiarism.

Lists nearly 1,000 English-language monographs, reference works, exhibition catalogues, and essay collections published between 1991 and 1995 on pre-Colonial, Colonial, and early Republican America. Each entry includes title, author(s)/editor(s), publisher, date of publication, a brief summary of the scope and argument of the work, and a list of review citations. Arranged into 32 thematic sections, such as labour and class, economics, everyday life, religion and reform, government, and international relations. Contains author, subject, and title indexes.

Covers the political, social, economic, military, and religious underpinnings of the American Revolution. Also contains biographical sketches. Arranged by context, concepts, themes, and events rather than alphabetically.

Three-volume set covering the military aspects of the American Revolution. Entries contain cross-references, bibliographies, and an assessment or significance section summarizing the evolving and current viewpoints on the individual or battle and its overall effect on the war. Arranged alphabetically.

Covering the period from the first Spanish conquistadors until Pontiac’s War of 1763, this encyclopedia focuses on what is now the eastern United States, but also includes information on the Spanish Southwest, Russian Alaska, Canada, and the West Indies. Provides information on group and colony histories, people, forts, treaties, and intercultural relationships. Includes black-and-white reproductions of battle plans, maps, and some illustrations. Arranged in alphabetical order, the almost 700 entries range from short paragraphs to several pages. Entries are signed and provide references and cross-references. Includes a chronology and comprehensive index.

International Historical Statistics; Americas 1750-2005 is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2005 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 255 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source.

This 5 volume set utilizes information from the 2000 Census, plus 1000 other statistical sources. This massive reference book records every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.

This unique reference book provide data on the cost of everyday items and wages in the United States spanning the years from 1860-2004. It also includes commodity and investment data.

Collection of over 500 maps which highlight the evolution of geographical knowledge and present a chronicle of the expansion and development of the United States. The maps and the accompanying text document the “discoveries”, explorations, colonies, intrigues, negotiations, military campaigns, and technology that shaped the US.

Provides more than 300 maps divided into 21 chronologically arranged sections.