Skip to main content

TRU Library Workshops

Present and Past Workshops and Supporting Materials

Workshops

Current Workshops & Events Calendar

The following workshops are being offered this semester. Check for workshops descriptions, and in some cases workshop slides and supplemental material. 

If there is a particular workshop you would like to see offered again or at another time, please contact Instruction & Research Librarian, Elizabeth Rennie.

Workshops are free, and while some may be of more interest to students in certain disciplines, or to faculty researchers, all are open to everyone in the TRU and Kamloops communities. 

Topics covered include knowledge mobilization and research dissemination, course and program specific research, academic integrity issues, conference presentations, library tours and introductions, and more - and we welcome your suggestions too! 

If you didn't find a workshop on the topic you need, consider making an appointment with a Liaison Librarian in your discipline.

5 Things to Know About APA & MLA Style

Workshop Overview

This workshop will provide you with just the key things to know to get you started with the APA and MLA Citation styles - plus answers to any questions you might have.

Workshop Support Material

Both the TRU Library APA Citation Style Research Guide and the MLA Citation Style Research Guide provide detailed examples to assist you with these citation styles. 

Academic Integrity

Workshop Overview

Students will be told in every class not to plagiarize, and already know not to cheat. Yet every semester, the Academic Integrity Committee reviews dozens of cases where academic dishonesty took place, often unintentionally. What electronic resources are okay to bring to exams? Is citation required even when you paraphrase? How differently must you reword something for it to be considered paraphrasing? Is cutting and pasting an answer you found online plagiarism? Find out just what the policy at TRU is, and how to avoid breaking the rules. Your academic career may depend on it.

Workshop Support Material

Missed the Academic Integrity Workshop? Need to look something up again? We have provided the slides from the Academic Integrity at TRU workshop for your convenience. 

 

Academic Integrity Committee at TRU

For more information about TRU's Academic Committee: http://www.tru.ca/senate/committees/academic_integrity.html

Creating an Academic Poster

Workshop Overview

Put down that glitter glue and glue gun! A successful poster presentation is not created overnight. Preparing a well-organized, visually-appealing poster requires planning ahead. In this workshop we will actively discuss: (a) how to create a poster; (b) poster content; and (c) effective formatting.

Workshop Support Material

The Academic Posters Research Guide will help guide you through your academic poster creation and presentation. 

Data Management Plans

Workshop Overview

Data management planning from the outset can save you valuable time as your project progresses and makes it easier for you to meet ethical, funding and government policy requirements for publicly-funded research projects. This workshop will provide you an overview of the questions to consider and the questions to consider and the requirements for creating a data management plan. 

Workshop Support Material

The Data Management Plan Research Guide provides more information on the various elements to consider when making a Data Management Plan. 

Author Rights

Workshop Overview

Many publishers will typically ask you to transfer all your copyrights to the work as a condition of publication. Copyright and publishing doesn't have to be all or nothing. You should ensure that the rights you need, both now and in the future to your works are retained. 

Workshop Support Material

The Author Rights: Understanding your rights to scholarly publishing Research Guide provides an overview of things to consider before beginning the scholarly publishing process. 

Finding Primary Sources

Workshop Overview

A strong History paper can hinge on the quality of the primary sources informing your argument. Come learn skills and techniques for finding these sometimes elusive primary sources - through the TRU Library, through a variety of other worldwide catalogues and archival collections, and through the open Web. Your papers (and grades!) will thank you for it.

Workshop Support Material

The following Research Guides provide more information about Primary Sources:

Finding Statistics isn't scary ... really!

Finding Statistics isn't scary ... really!

You don’t need to be a mathematician to attend this workshop.  This introductory workshop will look at common sources for local, provincial, federal and international statistics. Learn techniques for finding, accessing and evaluating aggregate statistics from CANSIM and Census. 

Introduction to Business Research

Introduction to Business Research

Students will be introduced to:

  • Key online resources for researching company and industry information
  • Databases to use for research papers on management, marketing, finance, organizational behavior, and more

There will be time for hands-on research and assistance from the librarian, so bring and questions and assignments you might have!

Reading Scholarly Literature

Workshop Overview

This workshop provides suggestions for making sense of those 30-page Research Articles - where do you start? 

Workshop Support Material

Missed the Reading Scholarly Literature workshop? Need to look something up again? We have provided the slides from the Reading Scholarly Literature workshop for your convenience. 

 

Research Paper Due Tomorrow

Research Paper Due Tomorrow

This workshop will provide 5 steps from a librarian about how to get the most out of your limited time: where to cut corners, and where it's important to put the work, no matter how short on time you are. 

Workshop Support Material

Missed the Research Paper Due Tomorrow workshop? Need to look something up again? We have provided the slides from the Research Paper Due Tomorrow workshop for your convenience.

TRUSpace

Workshop Overview

Many funding agencies are adopting Open Access policies that require funding recipients to make their research freely accessible. TRUSpace (TRU's Institutional repository) provide barrier free online access to access to a range of scholarly publications including journal articles (pre and post prints), conference proceedings, and more.  

Workshop Support Material

For more information about TRU's own institutional repository, visit the TRUSpace Research Guide or TRUSpace.

Customized Classroom Instruction

Customized Classroom Instruction

Faculty may request combinations of drop-in workshop content to be used for in-class library instruction. 

If there is a particular workshop you would like taught to a class - ideally tailored to fit your specific course content and assignment specifications - please contact Instruction & Research Services Librarian, Elizabeth Rennie or speak with your Liaison Librarian.

Past Workshops

Past Workshops

These workshops are not currently scheduled for the semester, but may be run again in the future, or upon request. 

Please take a look at the workshop support material; if you have questions about the context or if there is a particular workshop you would like to see offered again, please contact Instruction & Research Services Librarian Elizabeth Rennie, erennie@tru.ca.

Searching ERIC like a boss

Searching ERIC like a boss

ERIC is considered to be the premier educational research database as it contains millions of resources and covers published education-related materials since 1966.  This workshop will cover how to search ERIC effectively and efficiently (on and off campus): using the advanced search, emailing articles home, using the ERIC thesaurus, and how to access articles that TRU Library doesn’t have access to.

Education and Psychology: Keeping on top of the research

Education and Psychology: Keeping on top of the research

Learn strategies to keep up with new and relevant research that is of interest to you.  Learn how to save searches in Education and Psychology databases and how to create search alerts that will automatically email you whenever there is something new published that matches your keywords. 

Social Work and Sociology: Keeping On Top of Research

Social Work and Sociology: Keeping On Top of Research

Learn strategies to keep up with new and relevant research that is of interest to you.  Learn how to save searches in Social Work and Sociology databases and how to create search alerts that will automatically email you whenever there is something new published that matches your keywords. 

Writing Conference Abstracts

Writing Conference Abstracts

Are you submitting a proposal to the PHP conference, campus Undergraduate Research & Innovation Conference, or other conference event? If so, you've likely been asked to provide an abstract; find out from faculty and students involved with TRU's student conferences what sort of information to include in your abstract to increase the chances of having your proposal accepted - and later attracting an audience at your presentation! 

Speak Up! Essential Public Speaking Skills

Speak Up! Essential Public Speaking Skills

Good public speaking skills are always in high demand, but getting up in front of an audience to deliver a message can be intimidating. Come learn the techniques and tools of the trade of confident and successful communication, whether you've been assigned an oral presentation assignment or you're presenting at a conference. Find your voice!

Three Minute Thesis (3MT)

Three Minute Thesis (3MT)

This workshop helps student prepare for Canada's 3 Minute Thesis competition.

What to Expect at an Academic Conference

What to Expect at an Academic Conference

This short session is intended to answer some of the questions you might have about attending the PHP Conference: what are session moderators, how will the sessions be scheduled, what if someone asks you a question you don't know the answer to, and more. We'll go over the full conference schedule, address questions that past participants have had, and, of course, answer any questions that you might have.