Women's and Gender Studies

Each chapter explores contemporary questions and dilemmas in feminist theory and research, assessing the impacts of past research and feminist actions. Leading scholars discuss such topics as the state of women's and gender studies, feminist epistemology, cultural representations, globalization and the state, families, and work.

The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Developmentprovides a comprehensive statement and reference point for gender and development policy making and practice in an international and multi-disciplinary context. Specifically, it provides critical reviews and appraisals of the current state of gender and development and considers future trends. It includes theoretical and practical approaches as well as empirical studies. The international reach and scope of the Handbookand the contributors' experiences allow engagement with and reflection upon these bridging and linking themes, as well as the examining the politics and policy of how we think about and practice gender and development. Organized into eight inter-related sections, the Handbook contains over 50 contributions from leading scholars, looking at conceptual and theoretical approaches, environmental resources, poverty and families, women and health related services, migration and mobility, the effect of civil and international conflict, and international economies and development. This Handbook provides a wealth of interdisciplinary information and will appeal to students and practitioners in Geography, Development Studies, Gender Studies and related disciplines.

The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography.

Sexuality can be defined as a process of integrating emotional, somatic, and intellectual and social aspects in ways that enhance one's own self. It incorporates intimacy, romance, sensuality, eroticism and relationships, and is an important contributing factor to an individual's quality of life and sense of well-being. In this book, the authors explore perspectives, issues and the role in society of sexuality. Topics discussed in this compilation include the functional measurement to cognitive mechanisms underlying attitudes toward sexuality and intellectual disability; the impact of rheumatic disease on sexual function; adolescent sexual behaviour; queer sexuality and online pedagogy; sexual upbringing and sexual satisfaction; and sexuality and ageing within correctional facilities.

This work surveys the history of women around the world, studies their interactions with men in gendered societies and looks at the role of gender in shaping human behaviour over thousands of years. Contains both thematic essays and chronological-geographic essays.

Contains in-depth background essays and more than 400 dictionary entries on feminists and feminist thought.

This unique volume illuminates on-going debates in the field of feminist research as well as the practical applications and issues for those whose research impacts social policy and social change. Edited by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber, this Handbook reflects the most current thinking about feminist research emerging within and across the disciplines.

Including over 50 newly-commissioned survey articles, this outstanding volume represents the first truly comprehensive guide to feminist philosophy.

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography contains details of the lives of over 2100 women from all periods, cultures and walks of life - from queens to TV chefs, engineers to stand up comics, pilots to poisoners. With subsections for further reading, comprehensive subject index and a bibliographical survey, this dictionary of women's biography is an invaluable reference source.

This book is full of moving and eye opening stories. Many American Indian Woman share their lives in these breath taking journies. Learn the ways and customs of the Women while hearing of their brave and trying tales.

"Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women" spans more than 2,000 years from antiquity to the early seventh century. It recovers the stories of more than 200 women, nearly all of them unknown in the West. The contributors have sifted carefully through the available sources, from the oracle bones to the earliest legends, from Liu Xiang's didactic Biographies to official and unofficial histories, for glimpses and insights into the lives of women. Empresses and consorts, nuns and shamans, women of notoriety or exemplary virtue, women of daring and women of artistic or scholarly accomplishment - all are to be found here.

This unique reference work brings together a wealth of information about pioneering women who took risks and made remarkable strides in a diversity of fields. Whether in the name of science, sport, or humanitarianism, the spirit of adventure runs through the lives of these 75 daring woman who broke down barriers as they explored the far reaches of the globe, the depths of the seas, and the lofty expanses of space. These inspiring profiles investigate a wide range of notable women from throughout history and from around the globe. Included are the familiar and famous names such as Amelia Earhart, Jane Goodall, and Margaret Mead. Lesser known but equally inspiring women for whom it is more difficult to find information are also included, from early explorers to recent role models.

By merging scholarly writing with personal life stories, Women Writing Women creates a new setting for communicating the unique experiences of women. The interdisciplinary nature of this volume, incorporating authors' ideas on identity, gender, and social realities, illuminates a rich diversity of experiences. To give voice to the different realities women live in and write from, the editors have divided the anthology into four sections: writing about the self; writing about the family and other intimate relationships; writing about the women they study; and writing about women from sources such as diaries and letters. Within this framework women touch on subjects such as ethnicity, sexuality, motherhood, and feminist versus traditional values. The result is a collection of essays that pays tribute to women's complex realities and to their critical creativity in writing about those realities.

Amazons, gladiators, martial nuns, maenads, warrior queens, pirates, guerrillas, furies, and avenging goddesses -- the fighting women who populate the pages of this fabulous encyclopedia marched boldly through the ages armed with swords, axes, bows, and most importantly, their uniquely feminine fortitude.

Here is the first work to gather and detail these tales of womanly valor and derring-do. Drawing from a cross-cultural perspective, the book ranges through mythology, religion, history, and literature, from ancient to modern times. Contains more than 1,000 entries!

Profiles the lives of women from archaic Greece in the seventh century BCE to the fall of Rome in 476 CE, including poet Julia Balbilla, Boudicca, Cleopatra III, Sappho, and Eurydice.

Aside from a few famous queens, warriors and religious leaders, little information is available about the many extraordinary women of the medieval and Renaissance world. This resource brings together engagingly written biographical profiles of 70 women, most of whom are unsung, but all of whom are remarkable for their courage, initiative, and accomplishments in a world where the conventional wisdom was for women to be chaste, silent, and obedient. The women profiled here represent 18 countries and excelled in 19 fields of endeavor. They include artists, builders, mystics, political leaders, religious activists, diarists and dramatists, poets and writers, and scholars. In a world where women were taught to prefer silence to speech and self-expression, and where an assertive woman was considered an abnormal one, these women did speak out and assert themselves. This often required the courage to refute the moral dictates of the time, to put themselves at risk for their beliefs, or to take political power for themselves. Some women succeeded and some were destroyed in their efforts.

These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic: Crime and Punishment Environmental Issues Family in Society Gender Issues and Sexuality Government, Politics, and Protest Human and Civil Rights Immigration and Multiculturalism Medicine, Bioethics, and Health Social Policy Terrorism

Women in Canada at a Glance is designed to serve as both a quick source of up-to-date statistical data on women and girls in Canada and a guide to the comprehensive report from Statistics Canada and Status of Women Canada, Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report, Sixth Edition (2012).

Contemporary feminists are used to juggling many different identities at once, balancing affiliations based on race, nation, class, and sexuality. First-wave feminists also negotiated--or failed to negotiate--similar tensions in their international organizing. Using primary documents dating from the abolitionist movement to the Second World War, Maureen Moynagh and Nancy Forestell investigate the tensions inherent in organizing early transnational feminist movements. Documenting First Wave Feminisms: Volume 1 provides a historical framework to bring together voices of women both canonical and less well known, from Mary Wollstonecraft to Mabel Dove, who were active in feminist movements in all corners of the world. Suffrage, imperialism, citizenship, sexuality, and moral reform are shown to be key issues in a variety of exchanges across North America, Europe, the global south, and the Pan-Pacific region. This source book is as nuanced as first-wave feminism itself and will prove a valuable resource for studying women's rights in an increasingly globalized world.

This essential volume brings together more than forty of the most important historical writings on feminism, covering 150 years of the struggle for women's freedom. Spanning the American Revolution to the first decades of the twentieth century, these works--many long out of print or forgotten--are finally brought out of obscurity and into the light of contemporary analysis and criticism. This richly diverse collection contains excerpts from books, essays, speeches, documents, and letters, as well as poetry, drama, and fiction by major feminist writers, including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, George Sand, Mary Wollstonecraft, Abigail Adams, Emma Goldman, Friedrich Engels, Sojourner Truth, Susan B. Anthony, John Stuart Mill, Margaret Sanger, Virginia Woolf, and many others.

During and following World War II, women's magazines served as advice manuals, fashion guides, marriage counselors, and catalogs. This thematically arranged collection of selections from "Ladies' Home Journal," "Woman's Home Companion," "McCall's," "Redbook," and others provides a resource for understanding how the popular press perceived and attempted to influence women's values, goals, and behavior in the postwar era.

The second wave of feminism was one of the most significant political and cultural developments of the 1960s and 1970s. Yet the role radical feminism played within the women's movement remains hotly contested. For some, radical feminism has made a lasting contribution to our understanding of male privilege, and the ways the power imbalance between men and women affects the everyday fabric of women's lives. For others, radical feminism represents a reflexive hostility toward men, sex, and heterosexuality, and thus is best ignored or forgotten. Rather than have the movement be interpreted by others, Radical Feminism permits the original work of radical feminists to speak for itself. Comprised of pivotal documents written by U.S. radical feminists in the 1960s and 1970s, Radical Feminism combines both unpublished and previously published manifestos, position papers, minutes of meetings, and newsletters essential to an understanding of radical feminism. Consisting of documents unavailable to the general public, and others in danger of being lost altogether, this panoramic collection is organized around the key issues of sex and sexuality, race, children, lesbianism, separatism, and class.

A reference source for biographical information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the USA. The 1,500 entries cover those artists that were born before 1960, and who have worked in a wide range of arts from painting and sculpture to performance art.

Women Artists is evidence of the growing interest in the lives and careers of women artists. Additional annotated entries are included for the painters, printmakers, photographers, sculptors, and craftswomen represented in the earlier volume. Because of the amount of information now available on women architects, they are not included in the second edition. The main section of the book consists of 185 individual artist bibliographies, arranged by century from the early middle ages throughout the 20th century, with a cutoff birth date of 1930. A short biographical sketch introduces each artist; most of the bibliographies close with a list of public collections in which examples of the artist's work can be found. Piland treats the general subject of women artists in a bibliography that includes surveys, biographical dictionaries, catalogs, bibliographies, microfilm collections, slide sets, and dissertations. The final section is a selected bibliography on needlework, the traditional art of women. With 43 black-and-white reproductions.

This six-volume set, the latest offering from the Gale Critical Companion Collection, explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation, lesbian literature, modern feminist theory, criticism and scholarship and much more. Also included are detailed studies of prominent women writers, including Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, Adrienne Rich and many others. Three indexes - author, title and subject - help researchers find information across the set, making it easy to make connections and find related details.

Many women writers have secured a solid place in the literary canon, while others have remained marginalized. This reference includes alphabetically arranged entries on roughly 70 women writers whose works are widely read in English, and on some 20 related topics.

Contains over 500 entries covering individuals, works and movements.

More than 3,000 provocative, incendiary, witty, and inspirational quotations from women over the centuries, most of them never before anthologized, including Sojourner Truth, bell hooks, Martina Navratilova, Queen Elizabeth I, Flannery O'Connor, Golda Meir, and Mother Jones.

Organized alphabetically, this reference volume presents entries on works, writers, and themes. Entries are chosen to present a balance of well-known writers and emerging ones, contemporary as well as historical writers, and representative selections of genres, literary styles, and themes.

This Guide aims to consolidate and epitomise the re-reading of women's writing that has gone on in the last twenty-five years. There are entries on writers, on individual texts, and on general terms, genres and movements, all printed in a single alphabetical sequence. The earliest written documents in medieval English (the visionary writings of Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe) are covered in an historical - and geographical - sweep that takes us up to the present day. The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonisation and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language. The entries are written by contributors from all the countries covered. The result is a work of reference with a unique feeling for the vitality, wealth and diversity of women's writing.

The growing interest today in women's writing has led to a re-evaluation of British literary history, emphasizing the vitality of both well-known women writers and bringing to light the work of numerous hitherto forgotten figures. Assuming no previous knowledge on the part of readers, TheOxford Guide to British Women Writers provides in a single volume an accessible and stimulating beginner's guide to the widest range of British women's writing, from the earliest times to the present. Entries on some 400 writers from Aphra Behn to Jeanette Winterson and Mary Wollstonecraft to Barbara Cartland offer a brief outline of each woman's life, her major publications, contemporary critical reception, and an evaluation of significant features of her work, together with suggestions forfurther reading. The range of writers discussed includes novelists, poets, and playwrights, together with mystics, diarists, travel writers, scientists and translators. The editor has carefully selected a number of non-British writers such as Sylvia Plath, who have had an important influence on theBritish literary scene. In addition, the Guide features subject entries and cross-references to pseudonyms and maiden names, and provides an extensive general bibliography on women's writing. It also features entries on such topics as sub-genres of women's writing and women's literary magazines andorganizations. Concise, informative and well-organized, The Oxford Guide to British Women Writers will be an invaluable introduction for all readers and students of women's writing.

A visual journey into a largely forgotten but rich vein in Canada's cultural legacy. Independent Spirit celebrates women artists in Canada from the eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century. Drawing on rarely seen paintings in private collections, as well as exquisite pieces from public galleries, A.K. Prakash offers a unique and inspired selection of work by women artists who changed the face of Canadian art. In Part I, seventy-seven works of art by thirty-six artists are presented in detail, each with a stunning full-page colour image and an incisive analysis and appreciation of the work. In Part II, in-depth biographies feature additional full-colour images and details of the artwork to illustrate each artist's approach and distinctive technique.

These women have never followed the rules. From the earliest days of Canada's history to the newspaper headlines of today, these women fought for their beliefs and made a difference. Read about: Kate Ryan, the original Klondike Kate, frontier nurse and the first female member of the North West Mounted Police Naomi Klein, journalist, author of the international bestseller No Logo: Taking Aim at the Brand Bullies, and anti-globalization activist Nell Shipman, silent film actress, producer and director who did her own stunts and was the first woman ever to do a nude scene in Back to God's Country, the most successful Canadian silent film ever made Jenny Smillie Robinson, Canada's first female surgeon who operated in a private residence because no hospital allowed her privileges Penny Hoar, Rhinoceros Party candidate, comedienne, and sexual renegade Alanis Obomsawin, documentary filmmaker and humanitarian activist Cougar Annie, Clayoquot Sound pioneer who survived four husbands, chased off cougars with a shotgun and cleared a still-surviving two-hectare garden out of the wilderness Daurene E. Lewis, who was elected as North America's first black woman mayor in Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia Mina Hubbard, who trekked across Labrador in 1905 to complete the voyage that killed her husband, Leonidas Hubbard, and prove that he had not been responsible for the failure of his expedition. And many more...

Reflecting the intersectional nature of feminist thought today, these essays incorporate voices from across multiple marginalities, discussing gender, race, class, Aboriginality, ability, age, sexuality, and weight. A unique combination of scholarly articles, news clips, fact sheets, blog posts, poetry, short fiction, and personal narratives keep the collection engaging and varied.

In the late 1970s, feminists urged us to "rethink" Canadaby placing women's experiences at the centre of historicalanalysis. Forty years later, women's and gender historianscontinue to take up the challenge, not only to interrogate the idea ofnation but also to place their work in a global perspective. Thisvolume showcases the work of scholars who draw on critical race theory,postcolonial theory, and transnational history to re-examine familiartopics such as biography and oral history, paid and unpaid work,marriage and family, and women's political action. Takentogether, these exciting new essays demonstrate the continued relevanceof history informed by feminist perspectives.

This bilingual guide captures the range of documentation created in what historians refer to as the second wave of the women's movement, which emerged after 1960 in the context of widespread social and political change in Canada. Included in the guide are the records of women's groups formed or functioning after 1960 that are held in a variety of Canadian archives or by the groups themselves. This guide challenges perceptions of what is archival by focusing on contemporary movement records, which may be held to stimulate research on the contemporary Canadian women's movement and encourage more widespread collection of these records by archival repositories. With its user-friendly approach to archival description, the guide seeks to reach an audience unfamiliar with traditional archives and raise awareness among women's groups and activists of the archival value of their records.