Social Work & Human Service

This text provides a detailed description of over 50 social work skills, with case examples of their creative use in evidence-based practice. The book takes as its starting point the view that social work is a skilled activity but one that is uniquely located in no-win situations, caught in a tension between conflicting and sometimes incompatible needs and expectations.

This comprehensive handbook presents major theories of social work practice with groups and explores contemporary issues in designing and evaluating interventions. Students and practitioners gain an in-depth view of the many ways that groups are used to help people address personal problems, cope with disabilities, strengthen families and communities, resolve conflict, achieve social change, and more. Offering authoritative coverage of theoretical, practical, and methodological concerns--coupled with a clear focus on empowerment and diversity--this is an outstanding text for group work and direct practice courses.

Social Work Live accesses multiple approaches to student learning: experiential, visual, and auditory. Carol Dorr emphasizes the important role of self-reflection and critical thinking in social work practice by paying special attention to process recordings and observing how the social worker reflects on her own reactions in the moment with the client. Students also can appreciate the important role of reflecting on their own interventions with clients after their sessions, acknowledging what went well and what could have been done better. Social Work Live encourages a constructivist perspective to practice that calls attention to the many possible interpretations and approaches to working with clients. The classroom provides an ideal opportunity for students to explore with each other different ways of making meaning out of clients' stories and intervening with them.

Featuring contributions from practitioners, researchers, and academics, this volume synthesizes and analyzes current trends in rural social work practice and considers the most effective ways to serve rural communities. Contributors consider the history and development of rural social work from its beginnings to the present day, addressing the value of the Internet and other new information technologies in helping clients. They also examine the effects of nonprofit organizations and welfare reform on poor rural areas. Coverage of specific client populations and fields of practice includes services for rural mental healthcare; the chronically mentally ill; healthcare for minorities; and the challenges faced by the elderly in rural areas. The contributors also consider issues affecting gays and lesbians living in rural communities and the role of religiosity and social support in the well-being of HIV/AIDS clients. The book concludes with a consideration of the unique issues associated with educating social workers for rural practice.

The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.

This text provides a detailed description of over 50 social work skills, with case examples of their creative use in evidence-based practice. The book takes as its starting point the view that social work is a skilled activity but one that is uniquely located in no-win situations, caught in a tension between conflicting and sometimes incompatible needs and expectations.

This best-selling handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities and immigration and health care policy reforms. Contributors have expanded their essays to include practice with individuals, families, and groups, and new chapters consider working with military members and their families, victims and survivors of terrorism and torture, bullied children, and young men of color.

How can mainstream Western social work learn from and in turn help advance indigenous practice? This volume brings together prominent international scholars involved in both Western and indigenous social work across the globe - including James Midgley, Linda Briskman, Alean Al-Krenawi and John R. Graham - to discuss some of the most significant global trends and issues relating to indigenous and cross-cultural social work. The contributors identify ways in which indigenization is shaping professional social work practice and education, and examine how social work can better address diversity in international exchanges and cross-cultural issues within and between countries. Key theoretical, methodological and service issues and challenges in the indigenization of social work are reviewed, including the way in which adaptation can lead to more effective practices within indigenous communities and emerging economies, and how adaptation can provide greater insight into cross-cultural understanding and practice.

This handbook provides a comprehensive and cutting-edge strengths-based resource on the subject of Indigenous resilience. Indigenous Peoples demonstrate considerable resilience despite the social, health, economic, and political disparities they experience within surrounding settler societies. This book considers Indigenous resilience in many forms: cultural, spiritual, and governance traditions remain in some communities and are being revitalized in others to reclaim aspects of their cultures that have been outlawed, suppressed, or undermined. It explores how Indigenous people advocate for social justice and work to shape settler societies in ways that create a more just, fair, and equitable world for all human and non-human beings. This book is divided into five sections: From the past to the future Pillars of Indigeneity The power in Indigenous identities The natural world Reframing the narrative: from problem to opportunity Comprised of 25 newly commissioned chapters from Indigenous scholars, professionals, and community members from traditions around the world, this book will be a useful tool for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of manifestations of wellness and resilience. This handbook will be of particular interest to all scholars, students, and practitioners of social work, social care, and human services more broadly, as well as those working in sociology, development studies, and environmental sustainability. 　 　

Riding on the success of Indigenous Social Work Around the World, this book provides case studies to further scholarship on decolonization, a major analytical and activist paradigm among many of the world#65533;s Indigenous Peoples, including educators, tribal leaders, activists, scholars, politicians, and citizens at the grassroots level. Decolonization seeks to weaken the effects of colonialism and create opportunities to promote traditional practices in contemporary settings. Establishing language and cultural programs; honouring land claims, teaching Indigenous history, science, and ways of knowing; self-esteem programs, celebrating ceremonies, restoring traditional parenting approaches, tribal rites of passage, traditional foods, and helping and healing using tribal approaches are central to decolonization. These insights are brought to the arena of international social work still dominated by western-based approaches. Decolonization draws attention to the effects of globalization and the universalization of education, methods of practice, and international #65533;development#65533; that fail to embrace and recognize local knowledges and methods. In this volume, Indigenous and non-Indigenous social work scholars examine local cultures, beliefs, values, and practices as central to decolonization. Supported by a growing interest in spirituality and ecological awareness in international social work, they interrogate trends, issues, and debates in Indigenous social work theory, practice methods, and education models including a section on Indigenous research approaches. The diversity of perspectives, decolonizing methodologies, and the shared struggle to provide effective professional social work interventions is reflected in the international nature of the subject matter and in the mix of contributors who write from their contexts in different countries and cultures, including Australia, Canada, Cuba, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, New Zealand, South Africa, and the USA.

Aboriginal Health in Canada discusses the complex web of physiological, psychological, spiritual, historical, sociological, cultural, economic, and environmental factors that contribute to health and disease patterns among the Aboriginal peoples of Canada."--BOOK JACKET.

Online Access
Also available in print in the House of Learning.

Social Policy and Practice in Canada: A History traces the history of social policy in Canada from the period of First Nations' control to the present day, exploring the various ways in which residents of the area known today as Canada have organized themselves to deal with (or to ignore) the needs of the ill, the poor, the elderly, and the young. This book is the first synthesis on social policy in Canada to provide a critical perspective on the evolution of social policy in the country. While earlier work has treated each new social program as a major advance, and reacted with shock to neoliberalism's attack on social programs, Alvin Finkel demonstrates that right-wing and left-wing forces have always battled to shape social policy in Canada. He argues that the notion of a welfare state consensus in the period after 1945 is misleading, and that the social programs developed before the neoliberal counteroffensive were far less radical than they are sometimes depicted. Social Policy and Practice in Canada: A History begins by exploring the non-state mechanisms employed by First Nations to insure the well-being of their members. It then deals with the role of the Church in New France and of voluntary organizations in British North America in helping the unfortunate. After examining why voluntary organizations gradually gave way to state-controlled programs, the book assesses the evolution of social policy in Canada in a variety of areas, including health care, treatment of the elderly, child care, housing, and poverty.

A consistent bestseller since its publication in 2000, Changing Politics of Canadian Social Policy is a one-of-a-kind resource in the fields of political science and social work. Examining current conditions affecting the development of social policies in Canada, this book offers in-depth critical analysis of how these policies first arose and the implications they pose for future policy development. This new edition of Changing Politics of Canadian Social Policy features updated chapters while retaining the first edition's analytical focus on economic globalization, societal pluralization, and social protection. The authors offer fresh considerations of gender relations and families, community agencies and the voluntary sector, as well as the social policy activities of all levels of government in the Canadian federation. Changing Politics of Canadian Social Policy will continue to provide the much-needed groundwork for students and policymakers, as well as propose real solutions for the future.

People, Politics, and Child Welfare in British Columbia traces the evolution of policies and programs intended to protect children in BC from neglect and abuse. Analyzing this evolution reveals that child protection policy and practice has reflected the priorities of politicians and public servants in power. With few exceptions, efforts to establish effective programs have focused on structural arrangements, staffing responsibilities, and rules to regulate the practice of child welfare workers. Contributors to this book conclude that these attempts have been unsuccessful thus far because they have failed to address the impact of poverty on clients. The need to respect the cultural traditions and values of First Nations clients has also been ignored. Effective services require recognizing and remedying poverty's impact, establishing community control over services, and developing a radically different approach to the day-to-day practice of child welfare workers. People, Politics, and Child Welfare in British Columbia provides a crucial assessment of the state of child welfare in the province. Practitioners, scholars, and students in social work, child and youth care, education, and other human-service professions will find this book particularly important.

Providing an overview of social policy in a number of diverse nations, this title describes the discipline and related fields in an international context.

The primary goal of the Encyclopediais to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopediais broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age. The entries include the traditional research areas, such as battered women, child abuse and dating violence. However, this Encyclopediais unique in that it includes many under-studied areas of domestic violence, such as ritual abuse-torture within families, domestic violence against women with disabilities, pseudo-family violence and domestic violence within military families.

Research shows that intimate partner sexual violence (IPSV) is the most common form of sexual assault. Professional focus is often on the victim, but more information is needed about the perpetrators in order to have a fuller understanding of this crime. The very nature of IPSV - sexual assault within a relationship - means that professionals who work with victims must understand the dynamics of perpetrators as well. This new book will distill the knowledge that exists about perpetrators of IPSV. It includes chapters by authors who have worked directly with IPSV perpetrators and covers important subjects such as addressing IPSV in batterer groups, police management strategies, the danger of IPSV to children, the different types of violence perpetrators use, and prevention approaches for young people. There is also still a widely held view that rapists are strangers in alleyways. This book is intended to educate professionals about who is a perpetrator, as well as to highlight the very real danger these perpetrators represent, including a heightened risk of lethality. The contributors look at the social context of IPSV and the implications for prevention and provide hands-on knowledge to practitioners in a number of fields. The book may also be used within the academic context in fields such as social work, sociology, counseling, psychology, medicine, nursing, criminal justice, and law.

The Human Early Learning Partnership (HELP) involves over 200 faculty, researchers, and graduate students from six of British Columbia's universities. Its mission is to create, promote, and apply new knowledge through promoting interdisciplinary research designed to help children thrive. The Early Development Mapping Project is a core research activity within HELP, and this Atlas represents one of its major achievements. It should be viewed as a community planning tool designed to help organizations and individuals who are involved in achieving the objectives of the National Children's Agenda.The first chapter of this Atlas outlines the geography of British Columbia. This is followed by a brief demographic survey of early childhood in the province, visually displaying where children live and their ethnic and language diversity. The third chapter reports on results obtained using the Early Development Instrument (EDI) and illustrates near future developmental opportunities and challenges. Chapter 4 focuses on the social and economic characteristics of neighbourhoods that co-occur with favourable and worrisome EDI trends. The Atlas concludes by discussing the implications of EDI and socioeconomic data for community planning and public policy.

Handbook of Family Resilience provides a broad body of knowledge regarding the traits and patterns found to characterize resilient individuals and well-functioning families, including those with diverse structures, various ethnic backgrounds and a variety of non-traditional forms. This Handbook brings together a variety of perspectives aimed at understanding and helping to facilitate resilience in families relative to a full range of challenges.

The only Canadian textbook to offer a comprehensive overview of the legal and policy framework for mental health practice in social work, this text combines analysis of case studies with careful examination of evidence-based practices. Accessible, rigorous, and grounded in research, theauthors outline the social work practices that will best assist individuals and families struggling with mental health challenges.

Mental Health and Social Problemsis a textbook for social work students and practitioners. It explores the complicated relationship between mental conditions and societal issues as well as examining risk and protective factors for the prevalence, course, adaptation to and recovery from mental illness. The introductory chapter presents bio-psycho-social and life-modeled approaches to helping individuals and families with mental illness. The book is divided into two parts. Part I addresses specific social problems, such as poverty, oppression, racism, war, violence, and homelessness, identifying the factors which contribute to vulnerabilities and risks for the development of mental health problems, including the barriers to accessing quality services. Part II presents the most current empirical findings and practice knowledge about prevalence, diagnosis, assessment, and intervention options for a range of common mental health problems - including personality conditions, eating conditions and affective conditions. Focusing throughout upon mental health issues for children, adolescents, adults and older adults, each chapter includes case studies and web resources. This practical book is ideal for social work students who specialize in mental health.

Rise to today's challenges with these innovative and helpful value-based solutions! Containing important, research-based insights into social work practice in these fields, Social Work Health and Mental Health Practice, Research and Programs provides unique perspectives on shared practice problems from around the world, offering new solutions to the dilemmas practitioners face every day, such as reduced reliance in inpatient/residential service provision, increased reliance on economics in the era of managed care, the move toward multidisciplinary service provision, the growing awareness of diversity of needs, and the cultural requirements of providing effective services. Social Work Health and Mental Health Practice, Research and Programs provides unique international perspectives on real-world social work practice issues, including: ways to use your social work skills to solicit organ/tissue donation for transplants how a social work directed community organization affected change in health behaviors in East Harlem, New York a look at how to promote psychosocial well-being following a diagnosis of cancer a survey of what mental health services Hong Kong elderly feel they need and what they now receive an examination of the role of demographics and social support in clinician- and patient-related compliance among HIV/AIDS patients a discussion of the appropriateness of hospice services for non-English speaking patients and much more!

This 4 volume set takes an international perspective on all matters regarding drugs, alcohol and addictive behaviours. Information is given on street names, treatment programs, and legislation. Entries contain a list of references (books and articles) for further study.

Covers a wide range of issues including the history of drug and alcohol use, the workings of the international drug trade, the use of drugs in the treatment of disease, drugs and AIDS, drugs in the workplace, the legalization of drugs, and prescription drug abuse.

In 100 original chapters, the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars in the United States and across the world provide social workers with up-to-date knowledge of evidence-based practice guidelines for effectively assessing and treating older adults and supporting their families. The contributing authors paint rich portraits of a variety of populations that social workers serve and arenas in which they practice, followed by detailed recommendations of best practices for an array of physical and mental health conditions. Its unprecedented attention to diversity, global trends, and implications for research, government policy, and education make the publication of such a compendium a major event in the field of gerontological social work. Ambitious and multi-dimensional, this handbook represents the best research on health and aging available to social workers today.

Thoroughly revised and updated, this is the only comprehensive handbook of its kind covering the diverse field of health social work. Its evidence-based overview of contemporary social work practice in health care is written from a wellness perspective, covering the spectrum of health social work settings with contributions from a wide range of experts. Both a foundation for social work practice in health care and a guide for strategy, policy, and program development, this handbook provides social work students and practitioners with the skills they need to use evidence-based models in their practice.

This atlas is divided into 4 sections: geographic and demographic information for each of the five health authorities, indicators of health status, health care service across the province, and lastly a section that draws a relationship between health status and health care services.

Covers a wide range of addictions: chemical, compulsive gambling, sex addiction, eating disorders, workaholism, and compulsive buying. Also offers information on public policy and prevention.

The practical and ethical challenges facing human service professionals working with refugees, asylum seekers and other people subject to immigration controls are discussed in this much-needed book. The contributors explore the tensions that exist between traditional anti-oppressive values and the role professionals increasingly play as 'gate keepers' to services.Drawing from the experience of practitioners working in child protection and family support, disability, the criminal justice system, asylum teams and immigration tribunals, Social Work, Immigration and Asylum will prepare professionals working in these and related fields to deal with the complex situations of people subject to immigration control and to develop interventions appropriate to their differing needs.

This book guides the reader through the international development of social work and discusses how aspects of globalisation are making it an increasingly international activity and profession. Individual chapters locate the UK population historically and currently as a multicultural community and explore the international issues that social workers in the UK confront in their daily practice with children and families, people with mental health issues and older people. This text helps students meet the academic benchmarks and National Occupational Standards that require them to locate social work practice in a European and international context.

Today's professionals respond to concerns including permeable borders, the upheavals of war, displaced workers, natural disasters, international adoption, and human trafficking. The extensive collection of 73 chapters confirms the integral and necessary nature of international social work knowledge to all areas of practice, policy, and research.Chapters systematically map the key issues, organizations, competencies, training and research needs, and ethical guidelines central to international social work practice today, emphasizing the linkages among social work, development, and human rights practice. In-depth country case studies and policy examples encourage readers to understand how their practice in social work touches on international issues, regardless of whether the work is done at home or abroad.

With the constant exchange of international information now a permanent condition in the world, social work scholars and students must be sensitive to the need for knowledge sharing between countries as well as to issues involved in obtaining and utilizing international knowledge. Yet until now, no book has juxtaposed these two growing streams of emphasis. In this clearly written volume, Tony Tripodi and Miriam Potocky-Tripodi fill that gap, presenting readers with the many prospects and great potential for international social work research. The authors establish three discrete varieties of research supra-national, intra-national, and trans-national and explore a wealth of issues and examples within each. The easy-to-follow format helps readers learn how to define and distinguish each kind of research, then provides actual applications of all three. Examples draw on research from the world over, and range from microcredit programs in India to migrant aid in Nicaragua to adoptees in Romania. These unique features make it an ideal sequel to basic research texts in social work and supplement to texts on international social work, but also an attractive addition to any faculty researchers bookshelf.

Globalization challenges social work with constant social change, making a social worker's job and the task of social work education more complex and uncertain. Post-modern thinking suggests that social workers must learn to cope with complexity in ways that are in tension with the increasingly managerialist organization of the social services. The authors explore and question the concepts of 'postmodern', 'international' and 'global' in light of growing interest in international social work in the early 21st century. Emphasizing the importance of critical reflection, they argue that educational colonization can be challenged and effective anti-discriminatory and pro-equality practice and education promoted. Each chapter provides direct examples of how students and academics can apply these ideas in practice and in their learning, and how they can respond to and influence the challenges and changes that are taking place. The authors also examine educational and practice issues arising from attempts to incorporate international understanding into national practice and education systems. The book is designed to be stimulating to academics interested in international social work while remaining accessible to practitioners and students without international experience.

A rapidly growing number of social workers are expressing a deep interest in and strong concern for global situations adversely affecting the well-being of millions of people. Such situations include global poverty, widespread conflict and post-conflict reconstruction, and the large population of displaced persons, and vulnerable and marginalized groups within them. Increasingly practitioners from several professions are actively involved in addressing these issues at local, national and international levels. This book aims to encourage and inform international social work practice. Utilizing an integrated perspectives approach incorporating global, human rights, ecological and social development perspectives, the text is designed to assist social workers, human services professionals, development practitioners and others in responding to modern global challenges.

Written by the director of the country's first center for international social work studies, the original edition of this book set the stage for recent years' exponential increase of interest in international issues for social workers. This second edition is a thorough revision of thatdefinitive text, and it expands on the sections most valuable to teachers, adds evocative photos from the author's own collection, and provides a wealth of new information to bring the book up-to-the-minute in usefulness. A comprehensive treatment of international social work, the book emphasizes global interdependence and professional action, themes that provide the context for an engaging examination of social work issues in a global perspective. The book's four sections introduce major concepts and issues ininternational social work, review the global history of the social work profession as a whole, discuss global ethics, practice and policy, and values, and look ahead to the bright future of international exchange and development. From direct service to policy and administration, International SocialWork provides a thorough overview of the international dimensions of social work practice, and is sure to remain the essential text for all social work students and practitioners, providing a sound foundation for future academic and career exploration.

This book focuses on three key issues of international social work: international dimensions of social problems and how social work practice can deal with these challenges; cultural issues social workers have to think of when practicing, teaching, and developing social work on an international level; and aspects of international approaches in social work education. The authors practice and teach social work in several countries and their professional experience gives them the chance to gain profound experience in international social work. Therefore, the authors not only write about international perspectives, but also write from an international perspective.

This book consists of 27 chapters developed from papers originally delivered at a recent conference at the University of Toronto on anti-oppressive practice in social work. Dr. Shera has gathered expert contributors to discuss, define, and analyse theories of social work practice, pedagogical issues, fieldwork practice, models of education of social work practitioners, and current critical issues. These selected conference papers lay the groundwork for anti-oppressive practice in a way that will generate discussion and inspire researchers and practitioners.

Our textbook guides graduate social work students step by step through the research process from conceptualization to dissemination. We center cultural humility, information literacy, pragmatism, and ethics and values as core components of social work research.

As an introductory textbook for social work students studying research methods, this book guides students through the process of creating a research project. Students will learn how to discover a researchable topic that is interesting to them, examine scholarly literature, formulate a proper research question, design a quantitative or qualitative study to answer their question, carry out the design, interpret quantitative or qualitative results, and disseminate their findings to a variety of audiences. Examples are drawn from the author's practice and research experience, as well as topical articles from the literature.

Thoroughly revised and expanded, this new edition of Understanding Research for Social Policy and Social Work shows readers the importance of research, how to interpret it, and how to effectively carry out and report research of their own. This landmark textbook  is an essential guide to the methods, approaches, and debates that are required knowledge for students, policymakers, and practitioners.

The SAGE Handbook of Social Work Research provides a comprehensive, internationally-focused account of leading social work research, offering an original and defining statement on contemporary theory and practice within the field. The groundbreaking Handbook engages critically with the nature and role of social work research and evaluation in contemporary societies around the globe, and asks four key questions:What is the role and purpose of social work research?What contexts shape the practice and purpose of social work research?How can we maximize the quality of the practice of social work research?How can the aims of social work in its varied domains be met through social work research?Ranging over local, national, and international issues, and exploring questions of theory and practice, this is a diverse and constructively organized overview of the field. It will quickly be recognized as a benchmark in the expanding field of social work research, setting the agenda for future work in the arena.

Social work as a profession and academic discipline has long centered women and issues of concern to women, such as reproductive rights, labor rights, equal rights, violence and poverty. In fact, the social work profession was started by and maintained in large part by women and has been home to several generations of feminists starting with recognized first wave feminists. This wide-ranging volume both maps the contemporary landscape of feminist social work research, and offers a deep engagement with critical and third wave feminisms in social work research. Showcasing the breadth and depth of exemplary social work feminist research, the editors argue that social work's unique focus on praxis, daily proximities to privilege and oppression, concern with social change and engagement with participatory forms of inquiry place social workers in a unique position to both learn from and contribute to broader social science and humanities discourse associated with feminist research. The authors attend here to their specific claims of feminisms, articulate deep engagement with theory, address the problematic use of binaries, and engage with issues associated with methods that are consistently of interest to feminist researchers, such as power and authority, ethics, reflexivity, praxis and difference. Comprehensive and containing an international selection of contributions, Feminisms in Social Work Research is an important reference for all social work researchers with an interest in critical perspectives.

In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada.

Part of the bestselling Making Sense series, this fifth edition of Making Sense in the Social Sciences is an indispensable guide for students in any area of the discipline. Maintaining the signature straightforward style of the series, this book offers up-to-date, detailed information onproper documentation guidelines, essay and report writing, different methods of qualitative and quantitative research, ethical research, and more. Fully updated throughout, with a brand new chapter on presentations, this latest edition continues to be an invaluable resource for students throughouttheir academic careers and beyond.

Social Work Research Methods: Four Alternative Paradigms is the first book that expands social work research methods to include alternative models and integrate these methodologies into general social work practice. In addition to addressing ethics, diversity, and technology, author Teresa Morris also describes research methods for positivism, post-positivism, critical theory, and constructivism.  

Most social research texts are written from an empiricist and positivist perspective, emphasizing the scientific method and the value of objectivity in research. While acknowledging that certain aspects of the scientific method should be preserved, Adje van de Sande and Karen Schwartz argue that social research should not and cannot be value-free. Researchers committed to social justice and social change need to support that commitment. Research for Social Justice examines how the structural inequality perspective and anti-oppressive principles--perspectives that view the problems experienced by people as rooted in the social, political and economic structures of society--provide this support. Intended for students who are interested in exploring the social justice approach to their community-based research. Research for Social Justice is also of benefit to research such as program evaluations and needs assessments. The second edition of the book updates and revises examples of research, includes a substantially revised chapter on Indigenous approaches to research and contains a chapter-by-chapter description of developing student projects in a research course and an example of a student-led, community-based research project.

Autoethnography is an innovative approach to inquiry located in the interstices between science and literature. Blending researcher and subject roles, autoethnographers use analytical strategies to explore the social and cultural contexts of meaningful life experiences and their implications for the present. Social issues are described from the inside out, producing narratives that reflect the messy, experiential encounters of everyday life. This collection illustrates the value of autoethnography as an inquiry approach for social work practice. Covering such topics as international adoption, cross-dressing, divorce, cultural competence, life-threatening illness, and transformative change, contributors showcase the ambiguities, doubts, contradictions, insights, tensions, and epiphanies that accompany their experiences. This anthology provides a readable and unique example of an exciting new trend in qualitative research.

A Social Justice Approach to Survey Design and Analysis is written for students, teachers, researchers and anyone who is interested in conducting research. It draws heavily on current discussions regarding social justice, equity, health disparities and social determinants of health to providea framework for researchers to use both to engage in social justice research as well as to evolve as social justice practitioners. This research book includes a framework of the continuum of social justice research, a presentation on how to provide an active voice for the community in the design andexaction of research, examples of social justice data sources along with how researchers have used that data to measure social inequities, and an overview of how to analyze data, using the social justice research framework. The book also includes several in depth case scenarios that highlight how social justice research has been used to document, monitor and evaluate inequities encountered by underserved populations

Policymakers in welfare democracies throughout the world are raising questions as to whether welfare systems deliver what the public expects, and focus attention on increasing costs. Social workers need more evidence and knowledge about an increasing diversity of social work practices.

To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited second edition, this bestselling book has been substantially revised, with new case-studies and examples and important additions on new indigenous literature, the role of research in indigenous struggles for social justice, which brings this essential volume urgently up-to-date.

The Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies is the only handbook to make connections regarding many of the perspectives of the "new" critical theorists and emerging indigenous methodologies.Built on the foundation of the landmark SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, the Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice.

Responding to increased emphasis in the classroom and the field on exposing students to diverse epistemologies, methods, and methodologies, Bagele Chilisa has written the first textbook that situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context. With case studies from around the world, the book demonstrates the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of research and the historical and cultural traditions of third-world and indigenous peoples.

What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics. In exploring these elements, the book interweaves perspectives from six Indigenous researchers who share their stories, and also includes excerpts from the author's own journey into Indigenous methodologies.

Describing a research paradigm shared by indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, this study demonstrates how this standard can be put into practice. Portraying indigenous researchers as knowledge seekers who work to progress indigenous ways of being, knowing, and doing in a constantly evolving context, this examination shows how relationships both shape indigenous reality and are vital to reality itself. These same knowledge seekers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony of maintaining accountability. Envisioning researchers as accountable to all relations, this overview proves that careful choices should be made regarding selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis, and the way in which information is presented.

Available in print in Williams Lake and the House of Learning.

Indigenous methodologies have been silenced and obscured by the Western scientific means of knowledge production. In a challenge to this colonialist rejection of Indigenous knowledge, Anishinaabe researcher Kathleen Absolon examines the academic work of fourteen Indigenous scholars who utilize Indigenous worldviews in their search for knowing. Through an examination not only of their work but also of their experience in producing that work, "Kaandossiwin" describes how Indigenous researchers re-theorize and re-create methodologies. Understanding Indigenous methodologies as guided by Indigenous paradigms, worldviews, principles, processes and contexts, Absolon argues that they are wholistic, relational, inter-relational and interdependent with Indigenous philosophies, beliefs and ways of life. In exploring the ways Indigenous researchers use Indigenous methodologies within mainstream academia, "Kaandossiwin" renders these methods visible and helps to guard other ways of knowing from colonial repression.

Available in print in the Williams Lake and the House of Learning.

Applying Indigenous Research Methods focuses on the question of "How" Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs)can be used and taught across Indigenous studies and education. In this collection, Indigenous scholars address the importance of IRMs in their own scholarship, while focusing conversations on the application with others. Each chapter is co-authored to model methods rooted in the sharing of stories to strengthen relationships, such as yarning, storywork, and others. The chapters offer a wealth of specific examples, as told by researchers about their research methods in conversation with other scholars, teachers, and community members. Applying Indigenous Research Methods is an interdisciplinary showcase of the ways IRMs can enhance scholarship in fields including education, Indigenous studies, settler colonial studies, social work, qualitative methodologies, and beyond.