Secwepemctsín (Secwepemc language)

A searchable list, also organized by word or phrase of commons words in Secwepemctsin. Each word gives the English translation, part of the speech is identified, see how it is used in a sentence, and you can listen to how the word sounds.

Le7 re stskitsc-emp! I am glad you have arrived at this short online Secwepemctsín course. This course will prepare you for respectfully introducing yourself within Secwepemcúl̓ucw (the Secwépemc territory).

Here, you will learn the basics of Secwépemc sounds, introductions and greetings. If you are interested in extending your Secwépemc language studies beyond these four lessons, consider the FNLG languages classes offered on campus in Kamloops and Williams Lake.

Cuy’ e Secwépemctsnem-kt! Now let’s learn the Secwépemc language!

A searchable list, also organized by word or phrase of commons words in Secwepemctsin (Eastern Dialect). Each word gives the English translation, part of the speech is identified, see how it is used in a sentence, and you can listen to how the word sounds.

Designed for young learners, this page links to words, phrases, colouring pages and more

A series of words with accompanying audio recordings.

This portal was developed by School District no. 73 and has information regarding the language, audio files and more

"The Secwepemc language app is a media-rich bilingual dictionary and phrase collection comprised of words and phrases archived at the online Aboriginal language database FirstVoices.com. Word and phrase definitions are illustrated with audio recordings, and images. Users can generate their own thematically organized flashcards and bookmark words or sentences to create their own lists."

"The Secwepemc language app is a media-rich bilingual dictionary and phrase collection comprised of words and phrases archived at the online Aboriginal language database FirstVoices.com. Word and phrase definitions are illustrated with audio recordings, and images. Users can generate their own thematically organized flashcards and bookmark words or sentences to create their own lists."

This YouTube channel features videos of elders teaching and talking in Secwepemctsín

This collection includes digitized materials looking at language, history and customs.

Secwepemctsín for babies and toddlers

Videos