Contains more than 2 million references to psychological literature from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Updated monthly.
Current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Introduction to psychology by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
APA dictionary of psychology by Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?
Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.
Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.
Subject headings to explore:
• Psychology
• Psychiatry
• Cognitive science
• American Psychological Association
• Psychological tests
• Mental disorders
Here are some books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.
APA dictionary of psychology by 
A dictionary of psychology by 
Elsevier's dictionary of psychological theories [electronic resource] by Dictionary of Psychology and Allied Sciences by 
The dictionary of psychology by 
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods by Here are some books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.
Corsini encyclopedia of psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by 
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Here are some books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.
Handbook of Psychology by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Handbook of intellectual and developmental disabilities by 
Handbook of Research Methods in Personality Psychology by 
Psychologists' Desk Reference by 
Social Psychology by 
The Handbook of Forensic Psychology by 
Handbook of Research Ethics in Psychological Science by Here are some books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty
Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment (CHOPA) by Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
The Fourteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook by 
An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by 
Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.
While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.
Contains more than 2 million references to psychological literature from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Updated monthly.
Current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
Indexes more than 4,800 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and all areas of the biomedical field. Updates: Unknown
Consists of both the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from more than 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Updated quarterly
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.
International
Some really great resources to consult are:
Depth Psychology and Climate Change by 
Digital Media and Child and Adolescent Mental Health by 
Effective Writing in Psychology by Handbook of Research Ethics in Psychological Science by 
Happiness Through Goal Setting by An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by 
Key Cases in Forensic and Criminological Psychology by 
Personality and Individual Differences by 
The Psychology of Belonging by 
The Psychology of Dreaming by 
The Psychology of Exercise by 
The Psychology of Happiness by 
The Psychology of Prejudice by 
The Psychology of Social Media by 
The Psychology of Video Games by 
The Psychology Student's Career Survival Guide by 
Reporting Qualitative Research in Psychology by 
The Student Survival Guide for Research Methods in Psychology by 
Success As a Psychology Major by 
Surviving Lockdown : Human Nature in Social Isolation by 
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology by 
Addiction and Change, Second Edition by 
Adult Transgender Care by 
APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent by 
Being Unequal by 
Challenging oppression and confronting privilege : a critical approach to anti-oppressive and anti-privilege theory and practice by 
