Research Guides: Physical Geography: Research Strategies

Live Help

Shane Neifer, MLIS, MA

Shane Neifer

Email Me

Subjects: English Language Learning & Teaching (ELLT)

Home

Search the Library

Key Resources

Science Citation Index

Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.

The Dictionary of Physical Geography
This dictionary covers the whole field of physical geography: geomorphology, climatology, biogeography, zoogeography, hydrology, pedology, GIS, remote sensing, and human impact.
GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides geospatial data including raster data, vector data, and a database of ground control points.

Books to Get You Started

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Making Sense : a student's guide to research and writing : geography & environmental sciences by Margot Northey, David B. Knight.
Call Number: G 74 .N67 2007

ISBN: 0195425898
Physical Geography : the key concepts by Richard Huggett
Call Number: GB 54.5 .H84 2010
Encyclopedia of Geomorphology by edited by A.S. Goudie.
Call Number: GB 400.3 .E53 2004 v.1-2

ISBN: 041527298X

Nearly 700 entries, this 2 volume guide investigates the geomorphological processes that created them. References are included.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science, 2nd ed. by edited by Rattan Lal
Call Number: S 592 .E53 2006 V.1-2

ISBN: 0849338301

This 2 volume encyclopedia sets showcases the latest research and practices in the chemistry, physics, biology, and analysis of soils, soil quality, agricultural and sustainable development, environmental quality, natural resource management, and ecology.
The Water Encyclopedia : hydrologic data and Internet resources by edited by Pedro Fierro, Jr., Evan K. Nyer
Call Number: TC 403 .W38 2007

This comprehensive encyclopedia contains entries, tables, data and figures related to weather, surface water, groundwater, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution and water resource management.

Atlases

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Landforms and surface materials of Canada : a stereoscopic airphoto atlas and glossary, 3rd ed. by J.D. Mollard
Call Number: TR 810 .M65 1972

This unique atlas contains air photos of regions throughout Canada.

Article Databases

Best Bets

ScienceDirect

Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
Science Citation Index

Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
SpringerLINK

Provides online access to electronic journals and covers the sciences, technology, life sciences, and engineering. Update frequency: N/A
Wiley Online Library

Provides full online content (complete full text of articles) from over 1500 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and books. Weekly updates.
Academic Search Complete

Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Websites

Atlas of Canada
Provides topographical, reference, as well as Census maps, Toporama topographical maps, and a wide range of maps on socio-economic, industry, and environmental topics.
BC Soil Information Finder Tool
City of Kamloops: GIS & Maps
City of Kamloops Geographical Information Systems departmental webpage. Find Kamloops base maps using ARCGIS.com, static PDF maps, open data downloads (development, drainage, parks, hydrography, etc.), and more.
Climate Change: NASA's Eyes on the Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth
FrontCounter BC Discovery Tool
Tool that allows you identify current land usage within B.C. Find out whether land is privately held, designated as a Provincial or National Park, a First Nations Reserve, privately owned, etc.
GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides geospatial data including raster data, vector data, and a database of ground control points.
Geological Survey of Canada
GIS Dictionary
Provides definitions for GIS terms such as analysis, cartography, Esri software, and GIS modeling and web-based GIS.
Historical Maps on the Internet | ActiveHistory.ca
Historical National Topographic System (NTS): 1:50,000 Scale Maps, Data, & GIS
Open access geospatial data collection of over 6,000 Canadian maps from 1948 to today
International Energy Agency (IEA)
Kamloops Sustainable Community Atlas
A project of the Kamloops-South Thompson Mapping and Capacity Partnership, the atlas is part of the Community Mapping Network. Sub-atlases include the community food security atlas, the species and habitat atlas, the socio-economic atlas, the community asset atlas, the geology atlas and others.
Ministry of Environment - Water Stewardship Division -
Historical Climate Data
Access historical weather, climate data, and related information for numerous locations across Canada.
Natural Resources Canada - Earth Sciences
Physical geography.net fundamentals online textbook, by Michael Pidwirny
Province of British Columbia - Maps
River Forecast Centre, Real Time Snow data
TNRD Mapping Services & GIS
Static PDF maps and an interactive mapping application available.
TRU Geography Department

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management, its benefits, and information about getting started with citation management software.

Quick Links

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Forms
Find the right form to request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), book a group study room, suggest a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.