Research Guides: Nursing: Home

Librarian

Michael Purcell

Subjects: Nursing, Respiratory Therapy, Using the TRU Library

Live Help

Librarian

Elizabeth Rennie

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Social Work, Using the TRU Library

Search the Library

Searching Tips

Search phrases where possible for more accurate results. Put quotation marks around words to make it a phrase. IE "emergency room" instead of emergency room. This is very good for searching personal names.

Use wildcards to search for variations of a word. IE nurs* will show results for nursing, nurse, nursery etc.

Use OR to search for similar concepts. IE "young adult" OR teenager OR juvenile OR minor

Nursing resources to start with

TRU's Nursing Databases
This is a list of databases you will find helpful.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Research articles on nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine and allied health disciplines.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 4,800 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and all areas of the biomedical field. Updates: Unknown
RxFiles This link opens in a new window
RxFiles is a Canadian drug information resource. Their website is built to help answer your drug therapy questions through objective comparisons. We pursue a balanced, independent approach. We do NOT receive funding from the pharmaceutical industry.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
To help medical professionals make appropriate care decisions and drive better outcomes, UpToDate delivers evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights.

PubMed
PubMed contains biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2 million references to psychological literature from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Updated monthly.
ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Consists of both the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from more than 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Updated quarterly

Medline Plus
This site from the US National Library of Medicine provides good consumer level resources.