Research Guides: Newspapers: Home

Live Help

Which stories get indexed?

Not every single article in a newspaper gets listed in a Newspaper Index.

The following stories are included in the database, Canadian Newsstand

Full-Text Articles Included:

All articles written by journalists
All editorials and all editors standpoints
All articles issued by press agencies
All letters to the editor
All columns, series, supplements
All news in brief
All illustration tags (textual content)

The following stories are NOT included in the database, Canadian Newsstand

Excluded Articles/Material:

Cartoons / Caricatures
Photos and other illustrations
Graphs and statistical tables
Classified ads
Advertisements
Nominations
Stock market reports

Home

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 17,000 business, legal and news sources
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.

New York Times
The New York Times provides the backfile of The New York Times. Only the following select years are available to view for free:1851 to 1922, 1987 to the present
The British Colonist 1858-1980
Digitized copies of articles published in the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) newspaper between December 11, 1858 and December 1980.
British Columbia Historical Newspapers

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection This link opens in a new window
1 million newspaper pages
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers
Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages. Selected by experts in the field. Full runs when possible of national and regional newspapers
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
More than 100 years of this major UK national newspaper can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Searches a wide scope of historical newspapers from the 17th - 20th century
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
The full facsimile run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2008 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive provides access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
As an online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Sunday Times (London), The Sunday Times Digital Archive is an essential resource for teachers, students and researchers interested in history, politics, social and cultural history, law, genealogy and criminology
Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the Associated Press.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

Newspapers on Microfilm or Print

Newspapers at TRU Library

Archival newspapers are kept on rolls of microfilm.

Victoria Times Colonist	1858-1982
Kamloops Daily News	1880-1996 (paper copies from 1997 - Present)
Globe and Mail	1978-Present
Vancouver Sun	1912-Present
National Post	6 months worth, then available on Canadian Newsstand

Newspapers

Live Help

Which stories get indexed?

Home

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers on Microfilm or Print

Newspapers at TRU Library

Alternative News Sources

Alternative News Portals

Canadian Alternative News Sources

Ask a Question

How to Ask for Help