JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Provides access to current and retrospective citations and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. Weekly updates.
Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?
Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.
Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.
Subject headings to explore:
• Art--History--Maps.
• Fine arts.
• Art
• Art--Technique.
• Art, Greek--History.
• Iroquois art--History.
The Dictionary of Art by 
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by 
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by 
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Ways of Seeing by 
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Canadian Art by 
Art History by 
The Visual Arts in Canada by 
The Handbook of Visual Culture by 
A General Theory of Visual Culture by Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.
While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Provides access to current and retrospective citations and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. Weekly updates.
How art works : a psychological exploration by 
Creative research : the theory and practice of research for the creative industries by 
Shifting Grounds: landscape in contemporary Native American art by 
Towards an African Canadian art history : art, memory, and resistance by Some really great resources to consult are:
